Vroomtattat 2nd Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 (edited) Hi brudders and sistas, I committed a very foolish act tonight when I was practising my reverse parking at my carpark. I drove around for 200 - 300 metres with the hand brake engaged Could anyone pleaase tell me the consequences of this? Other then being a goondu Edited October 29, 2007 by Vroomtattat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 how long did it took for u to realise u driving with handbrake engaged? If 200-300m i think a short while doesnt matter la, if ur car break down just like that lol I think u can go bang table liao and consider a new car :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clubace Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 but seriously, its ok. nothing more than abit of the pad wear off only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 No consequences, at most tighten your handbrake again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncleo 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I did before with my dad's camry 2.0 which is footbrake type. Drove less than 100m. My dad lagi worse, drove to KL don't know how long then realise he didn't release the footbrake. Now the footbrake won't eat when car on slope, but I think your case only 200-300m should be no problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zigen_79 Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 no worri bro its ok, but how then later did u realised ? issit bcos u feel the acceration difference? or u saw the hand brake light on ? in either case for case 1 jus abit wear on the handbrake and loosening of handbrake wire , as for case 2 its jus the sensor to tell u that u didnt let go the handbrake fully notting much .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiao_qiang 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 (edited) Bro I did it with a MID b4 Till I see white smoke all around my car... But still can drive and brake effectively.. Took the car after my detail to own mechanic in the Army workshop, he just tell me dun do it again.. Edited October 29, 2007 by Xiao_qiang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio79 Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 maybe just some wear & tear.. if u r really worried, ask ur AD to check again during ur servicing.. it's part & parcel of learning. dun fret dude. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 nothing will happen...did that for the first time from pasir ris to bedok probably 10 odd yrs ago...the most recent is only weeks ago...just some wear on the pad and burn rubber smell... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Hi brudders and sistas, I committed a very foolish act tonight when I was practising my reverse parking at my carpark. I drove around for 200 - 300 metres with the hand brake engaged Could anyone pleaase tell me the consequences of this? Other then being a goondu Dont worry bro. I think just need to tighten the handbrake cable. Let me relate what I had gone through when I was a novice. Gf's father encouraged me to use his car, a Fiat 1.8cc in 1982 which was powerful at that time as I was carless. (I turned out to be also careless). So went out with gf for dinner with another couple. After sent the couple home, went joy ride and park with gf . Near midnite, returned car and parked car in the compound which was sloping down. When I wanted to pull up the handbrake, it was already up! So no choice I engaged 1st gear and off engine. Came out of the car and I could smell rubber. Off course, I acted blur without telling gf what I did. When I reached home, asked my dad what will happen to the car. He said that though gear engaged the car could still inch down the slope but very very slowly. Other than that, no serious damage to the car. I couldnt sleep well that nite as I imagine that the car will roll down the slope and smash the gate before morning. So next morning, I called my gf to ask whether the car was alright (meaning to ask her whether it is still there and not at the end of the slope!) Phew what a relieve that the car still there. Off course, my gf's ahmad would know what happened when he take over the car the next morning. But I acted blur. After that incident, never use the car again, although gf's father still keep offering the car for use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Hi brudders and sistas, I committed a very foolish act tonight when I was practising my reverse parking at my carpark. I drove around for 200 - 300 metres with the hand brake engaged Could anyone pleaase tell me the consequences of this? Other then being a goondu wat speed? check for warped disc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnieseah 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 if TP caught you driving with handbrake up, fine $2000, and ban from driving for 2yr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I did before with my dad's camry 2.0 which is footbrake type. Drove less than 100m. My dad lagi worse, drove to KL don't know how long then realise he didn't release the footbrake. Now the footbrake won't eat when car on slope, but I think your case only 200-300m should be no problems. ur dad got check the brakes bo?? better check lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear October 29, 2007 Author Share October 29, 2007 Thank you, brudders and sistas! Appreciate all your concerns and advices given . . really "sim tiah" I heard a "Krong krong krong" sound and tot it was kind of weird as my car is only "3 days old". Thanks for everything brudders and sistas of MCF. Will be more careful from now on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 When i just got license, want to learn parking without pole and my uncle offered his car to teach me. After a few round of parkings practice, suddenly engine keep stalling. Was thinking to myself, I can't be that bad at getting the bitting point. Then i rammed the engine at half clutch. Car move with weird sound. Then my uncle very calmly told me the hand brake is engaged. Few months later, he changed to a new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Bah...bro...200-300 its ok............when i was 17......i drove from CCK to PIE satalite dish wif the handbrake engaged.... Oh...I was without license....and was fine 2000 and 15 months off the wheel........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 ~ poor uncle... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I did before with my dad's camry 2.0 which is footbrake type. Drove less than 100m. My dad lagi worse, drove to KL don't know how long then realise he didn't release the footbrake. Now the footbrake won't eat when car on slope, but I think your case only 200-300m should be no problems. SHould be loosen handbrake....tighen it will do....my old car last time also....slope won't eat....my mech suggest to tighten then now its alright liao.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...