Do you know of any trust fund covering West Asia/Middle East

Yeobh

As above subject, investment gurus , you feedbacks will be very much appreciated.

Edited by Yeobh

I advise against investing now. The climate is not good. I invest 3 weeks ago and now looking at losses every day, there seem no stop to the negativity.

I know the investors here will say there is no timing the market, you have to take a long term view etc but since the signs are all there, why not just wait out the storm ?

Once the fighting in Middel East is over and the US+ others forces start leaving, infra structure re-construction will begin - overseas moneies and aids will pour in. So I reckon the time to start looking at such fund should start now.

Looks like Africe will the next emerging market once China start to slow down by oil , higher labour cost and enviromental problems.

Generally most fund mgrs are closing their books, as they have made record profits on their portfolio this year n not buying any more.

Most of the time funds are perfectly positive correlated, their returns vary in the same direction.

Get a portfolio that is well diversified, not just funds equities, others too.

And try to get some that are negative correlated.

Well, you must have invested long time ago ?

I just invested recently which explains the poor performance.

Obviously, diversification was used but in such poor investment climate, none is spared.

The only fund that make money for me is commodities.

I do understand that fund manager will take profit towards end of year etc but many of my funds hasn't announced dividends yet and they are already in negative territory.

Anyway, I ain't an investment guru, else wouldn't be caught in such a situation now. I just feel that now is not the time to go into the market. I have lived through a few down turn and there's a sense of deja vu or maybe I am just a pessimist [:p]

Fwah sibeh cheem... Don't understand what positive and negative correlated.

I only know to invest when people are not buying and sell when people are buying. Too simple maybe [:/]

no lar as what the other forumer mentioned, he made some $$ in commodities.

When someone invest, do not use all n placed it all in a single bet.

Positive correlated is when market is up, generally all markets are up

Negative correlated is when even market is up, markets are up but some other assets are down could be say commodities to sort of balance things out.

All else being equal, when mkt is facing problems like now, commodities remain strong

"Obviously, diversification was used but in such poor investment climate, none is spared.

The only fund that make money for me is commodities. "

Because commodites is high currently so u did good n recommend u hold it on to it first.

Minerals such as Oil,aluminium,coal, Oil palm, etc are in great demand and the US$ is weak makes market more jittery n weak as these will impact some of the co earnings

just look at recent results by the shipping sector, over hedge the USD positions and ended up with massive forex losses....its not even related to their biz but yet affected by it.

Not too long, for funds, I usually 'refresh' roughly every year... or every peak period before it comes crashing down. Otherwise, when you calculate the annual increase, its not as good as some where you just go in 1-2 months ago when the funds are hot.

I understand how you feel, but sometimes a bit of luck is involved... when i first started investing in funds, i didn't do much research, anyhow throw in money and i took more than 60% losses in a single fund. [sweatdrop] but years later, it rebounded (luckily) and i calculated about 30-40% / year profit now. So I'm just keeping this fund as a constant reminder of my mistake. [laugh]

Most sinkies uncles and aunties treat share market like a big casino during the mid 70's right up to the early 90'. All got burnt very seriously.The scence is now being repeated in China, India and Middles East.