Road hog?

Ordix

Just came back via CTE towards north.

When came out of the tunnel, there was this champagne MPV with carplate SG*-1100 in front of me on the extreme left lane driving at 50km/h.

as i was following behind him, he was moving at that speed for almost 100metres and the best thing is in front of his car was a clear lane of maybe 200metres!

2nd n 3rd lane was full of cars but behind me was clear.

so i was kinda stuck behind that MPV...

i bet everyone saw the slow mpv moving far behind n all switched to 2nd lane or 3rd lane.

2nd n 3rd lane was very packed with cars so i also LL cant anyhow change lane mah...

then i saw a chance, i decided to change to 2nd lane after a red suzuki swift.

i signal right and accelerated but i overstimated the suzuki swift speed, his speed was slower than expected, i accelerated bit too much so i brake bit.

then i kena horn by the ride behind or side (i oso dunno who)

anyway sorry to the bro that was behind that suzuki swift or next lane behind me.

i think i didnt turn off my signal in time n u might thought that i want to change to the 1st lane. paiseh...

anyway i still piss off with the mpv that was driving at 50 during such busy hour.

is that consider road hogging?

i remember a lady friend once told me she had her license for a long time but didnt drive. then comes a day when her husband bought her a car. guess what? she was driving on highway at 40km/h left lane. alot of trucks/buses horn her but she have to focus and concentrate on getting to the destination. i believe the right thing to do is to have a refresher course in her situation. However, if there is any slow vehicles in the extreme left lane, they are not considered as road hogging because remember the road sign " slow moving vehicle please keep left " so technically, they are not wrong if they travel very slowly on the left.

nothing wrong what. give u eg.. if your car got engine or tire prob, cannot drive above 40km/hr, will you choose to drive or leave it by the road side and wait for tow truck?

i see i see.

k k i try avoid extreme left next time if possible... recently alot of vans n trucks moving 60 at centre lane... sigh..

That's not roadhogging - left lane's for slow traffic.

If you're on the RIGHT-most lane, even if travelling at 100kph and you don't give way to faster traffic, then you're roadhogging.

i remember a lady friend once told me she had her license for a long time but didnt drive. then comes a day when her husband bought her a car. guess what? she was driving on highway at 40km/h left lane. alot of trucks/buses horn her but she have to focus and concentrate on getting to the destination. i believe the right thing to do is to have a refresher course in her situation. However, if there is any slow vehicles in the extreme left lane, they are not considered as road hogging because remember the road sign " slow moving vehicle please keep left " so technically, they are not wrong if they travel very slowly on the left.

That's ok if the slow moving vehicle is heavy due to safety reason. but too many cars forming a convoy on left lane will block the left filter lane exit, other cars trying to exit will not be able to exit. So if this car travel slow on left lane without good reason, and cause a tail back, its very inconsiderate.

that's a whole lot of BS. if there's a "whole convoy" of slow moving vehicles on the left late, they will probably have enough room between each vehicle to filter in/out of the highway.

there's no such thing as a "good reason" to drive slow. remember it's a speed limit and not a speed requirement. as long as the driver is not hogging the other (faster) lanes, it's ok.

Just came back via CTE towards north.

When came out of the tunnel, there was this champagne MPV with carplate SG*-1100 in front of me on the extreme left lane driving at 50km/h.

as i was following behind him, he was moving at that speed for almost 100metres and the best thing is in front of his car was a clear lane of maybe 200metres!

2nd n 3rd lane was full of cars but behind me was clear.

so i was kinda stuck behind that MPV...

i bet everyone saw the slow mpv moving far behind n all switched to 2nd lane or 3rd lane.

2nd n 3rd lane was very packed with cars so i also LL cant anyhow change lane mah...

then i saw a chance, i decided to change to 2nd lane after a red suzuki swift.

i signal right and accelerated but i overstimated the suzuki swift speed, his speed was slower than expected, i accelerated bit too much so i brake bit.

then i kena horn by the ride behind or side (i oso dunno who)

anyway sorry to the bro that was behind that suzuki swift or next lane behind me.

i think i didnt turn off my signal in time n u might thought that i want to change to the 1st lane. paiseh...

anyway i still piss off with the mpv that was driving at 50 during such busy hour.

is that consider road hogging?

If no vehicles in front of that mPV, yes, its outright hogging!

come on, how many times have you seen even on the left lane vehicles are tail gating? can you filter into the left lane when some of those lorries and trucks and buses that just leave little spave in between and even when you signal and wave, they just close the gap and you either have to speed up or slow down behind them to hope someone gives way?

just don't understand their mentality

I remember the advance theory stated that vehicle travelling slower than 40km/h is not allowed to travel in expressway. So the vehicle travelling on the left lane at 50Km/h is not consider road hogging.

Anyway, how about SAF vehicles with 50Km/h limit (SWD) on the left lane of Eway? Road hogging also? Think not, or else SAF vehicles are not allowed in Eway long ago.

Edited by Galileo

road hogging was never a problem back then...or maybe there wasn't such thing as a forum for people to voice their views...are we getting overcooked in this little pressure cooker ??? [;)][hur]

never had a problem in my 10 years of driving. i'm sure many bros with more driving time will share the same experience.

if you are afraid that you might miss a busy filter-out, why not change lanes earlier? u probably lose about 1 minute to reach your destination.

it's all about the driver's own mentality.

i wouldn't consider it road hogging. 50km/h on the left lane is perfectly fine. it's just the mentality of many drivers who think that the speed limits are speed requirements.

same with threadstarter. why the rush? if the vehicle on the extreme left lane is too slow, just signal right, make sure nobody is behind, check blind spot and overtake. i think he should be complaining about the drivers behind who tried to overtake him while he was overtaking!

yes i do keep left early, but during peak hour, you can see for yourself along CTE.

i have experience many type of inconsiderate drivers. very typical in sg.

i give way when i can and when it is safe to do so. if you never had a problem in 10 years, you must be damn lucky

What about going 0-50km/h in 20 seconds?

Is that considered road hog?

Just now there's this Alfa 159 doing something similar to that on a relatively empty road along Victoria Street.