Road hog?

Ordix

it's not about luck. as i said, it's about driver mentality. if you take it cool, nothing will bother you [thumbsup] think there's a chinese saying, "heart quiet naturally cool" (xing1 jing4 zhi4 ran2 liang2)

Yes, keep it cool and dun get annoyed and spoil our day with that. Just change lane, overtake safely and carry on with our ride and it will be a bright day.

What if a car travels at 20km/h on a normal road regardless of traffic conditions ahead?

Not much right? At most only 30-40km/h below the speed limit of the road, just like 50km/h is only 30-40km/h below the speed limit of an expressway.

Considered road hogging?

If you come across such a car, will you horn or flash the driver?

Extreme left lane of multiple lanes road like highway is for slow vehicle. So it was not hogging.

Some people drive slowly becoz'

- they cannot see well ( old people have poor vision )

- talking thru handphone or passengers

- new drivers or never drive for sometimes

I believe where ever u go to and drive such ppl exist. I also believe such ppl already exist back when sg have roads. [laugh]

For me I just overtake or siam and forget about it. No point debating and ranting on the issue cos it'll not go away. It's a waste of breath and time, I have got much more important things to do than to talk about such drivers. [sleeping]

Think that is not road hogging. Best to follow current road speed to move vehicle along.

Driver may be on medication (well on medication should not drive) but when initial was okay only when medication 'kicks-in' then slow down to adjust.

I was also recently very annoyed with a similar case when driver was using handphone and somemore trying to sms [rifle]

Bro, just speaking as another fellow road user.

I would not remember this incident as soon as got out of the situation.

Hope u got over it.

KNN, I HATE ROG HOGGERS!!!

These are the ppl who INDIRECTLY cause accidents everyday, thinking they are very good citizens of the road.

Because:

1. They cause others to overtake from the left

2. They cause others to increase petrol consumption to brake for them and them acclerate to overtake from the left

3. They others look reckless when driving (because of weaving overtaking).

4. They cause others to be late (Especially when ppl rushing to a life and death situation)

5. They hold up traffic during peak hours and cause others to pay/pay more ERP charges.

(I usu pass the ERP gantry at 0720hrs... One road hogger allow more than 20 cars to cut infront of him, and cause me to contribute $0.50 to garment at 0730hrs!!! Walau!!!!

There's nothing wrong if the driver choose to drive at 50kph on extreme left lane. SAF vehicle can only travel at certain speed limit and still below ya expected travelling speed. Do u consider them as road hoggers if they travel on extreme left lane?

How about trailers, trucks and buses with speed limit of 50kph? Are they road hoggers if they travel on extreme left lane? No matter busy or not, u can just overtake and move in again. No harm done.

Wat should be complain are those slow moving vehicles hogging the center lane or even the extreme right lane. They are forcing the fast moving vehicles to overtake on their left.

i see i see.

k k i try avoid extreme left next time if possible... recently alot of vans n trucks moving 60 at centre lane... sigh..

=====================

Now since those vans & trucks had their speed limit increased to 70km/h, u can see those inconsiderate idiots driving at 80km/h on the extreme right lane even. [furious]

I guess they think that since they can now go a little faster, they have the right to hold up all other traffic by travelling at their "extremely fast" speed of 70-80km/h. [shakehead]

Even if they "speed" a little over their allowed speed & travel at 80km/h, they sud stay in the left or lane 3 on the e'ways or 3 lane roads. Instead they now feel free to crawl at 80km/h on the right & center lanes of 3 lane roads & the e'ways. [drivingcar]

Worse is those gundoo drivers who travel at 60-70km/h on the extreme right lane of some 3 lane roads. [bigcry]

I just hope TP starts to take action against them soon as they r a road hazard & a blardy nuisance to other road users. [furious][furious][furious]

em...

so is it hogging or not?

i took my theory more than half a decade ago...

=======================

Road hogging simply means that if u r travelling & see a vehicle coming up behind you at a faster speed, u have to move to the left to let him pass. If your left lane is blocked by much slower traffic & the right lane is clear, u can let him pass on your right.

Lane 1 on the e'ways or right lane r meant for overtaking or faster moving vehicles. If u r going slower then them, move to the left. [nod]

Usually extreme road-hogging is the one that causes other road users to see RED. If u r travelling at the same speed as all the other cars on lane 1, then no point to give way unless u r feeling very generous or it has a flashing red/blue light & a siren.

come on, how many times have you seen even on the left lane vehicles are tail gating? can you filter into the left lane when some of those lorries and trucks and buses that just leave little spave in between and even when you signal and wave, they just close the gap and you either have to speed up or slow down behind them to hope someone gives way?

just don't understand their mentality

=======================

U r right & what I do is to look for a bigger space between these close knit vehicles & head for it while using my left indicator to alert those drivers that I intend to make a left to filter off the e'way.

Sometimes u need to slow down to find the gap but I mostly prefer to speed up to look for that gap & please try to keep left early & not just b4 u reach the exit lane. [nod]

IMHO one of problems of more road hoggers on Lane 1 is caused by the increasing the speed limit of the vans and trucks.

Now you often see vans travelling at lanes 2 @ 70km/h - 80km/h. Drivers who use to travel at that same speed (and use to stay in lane 2) often find themselves behind the vans. They hence choose to change to Lane 1 becoz either they are slightly faster and/or they feel unsafe driving behind these vechicles.

Hence lane 1 - the overtaking lane, is now only good for overtaking the vans on lane 2.. This is especially apparant on AYE going to Jurong during peek lorry hours :D

yes i do keep left early, but during peak hour, you can see for yourself along CTE.

i have experience many type of inconsiderate drivers. very typical in sg.

i give way when i can and when it is safe to do so. if you never had a problem in 10 years, you must be damn lucky

====================

After many years of driving here, we learn when to slow down to filter left or when to speed up to get into that gap. [sly] And always with the left indicator ON to alert some kind driver that we want to move left & also to warn vehicles coming up fast behind to slow down as we intend to filter left.

Driving is a skill/art which usually improves with practice. [flowerface] Unfortunately 1 group of drivers seem to spend many hours on the road every day but their driving skills only get worse. TAXIS. [lipsrsealed]

What about going 0-50km/h in 20 seconds?

Is that considered road hog?

Just now there's this Alfa 159 doing something similar to that on a relatively empty road along Victoria Street.

===================

If he drive too fast he afraid pple cannot see his face in his sporty car leh. [sly]

What if a car travels at 20km/h on a normal road regardless of traffic conditions ahead?

Not much right? At most only 30-40km/h below the speed limit of the road, just like 50km/h is only 30-40km/h below the speed limit of an expressway.

Considered road hogging?

If you come across such a car, will you horn or flash the driver?

==============================

If there r several turn-offs, he may b looking for a certain road or some shop along the road. But if the road is clear & straight & everybody is moving at a steady 50km/h except this guy, then he deserves to "get the finger" unless he has his hazard lights on which means he is having some kind of problem.

Extreme left lane of multiple lanes road like highway is for slow vehicle. So it was not hogging.

Some people drive slowly becoz'

- they cannot see well ( old people have poor vision )

- talking thru handphone or passengers

- new drivers or never drive for sometimes

================

If his eyesight is so bad, he sud not b driving in the 1st place.

If toking on HP or passengers & he cannot keep with the flow, he is allowing himself to b so distracted from the road which he sud stop somewhere safe till he finish his conversation.

New drivers/never drive for a long time sud keep to quiet roads without heavy traffic till they r confident enough to handle those more demanding roads. Maybe drive only during off-peak times at 1st.