Oil prices to go up again?

Verve

i tot you very happy with your cever cervice pay check [sly] , based on market rate more than what a lot of people getting at your age (excluding banks and high performers lah) anyway you should be happy that you can slack and still earn so much mah, i wan also dun have [laugh][laugh][laugh]

maybe i'm ignorant but can someone explain how Pakistan's turmoil has an effect on crude prices ?

Or is it just an excuse for the speculators to jack up the price and take profit immediately as evident in the article ..... rifle.gif

although in the long term fundamentals play a part, the reality is that market prices in the short run are always driven by perception especially by fear

oil is no different and has a few unique factors that worsen this

limited supply

supply controlled to a greater part by opec

inelasticity in price due to lack of good substitutes in the short run: sure there are substitutes but these substitutes either cost more or require more $$$ to develop into a viable alternative (no thanks to the oil companies working discreetly behind the scenes to impede the development eg inventor of car that runs on water murdered, death of the electric car and etc)

and so there you have it, maybe its time to switch to cng

And trust that PM can tell the world that Sillypore is doing so well this year...growth rate 7+ % and employment rate high...how come never tell about the all time high cost of living now? KNN....really can't tahan staying in this sillypore liao...

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20071231/tts-...ce-c1b2fc3.html

this sounds like really bad news.

looks like its gonna cost a lot more to own my dream turbo ride liao [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

Think everybody immune to it liao. Up also nobody bothers but to accept the increase LL. It'll prob be this way till it hits the "ridiculous" point (prob $3-4 per litre) then ppl will slowly give up driving and take "BMW" liao.

Didnt we say that when petrol prices hit $2/litre. Well its all about price inelasticity. No matter what the cost we still need fuel. The thing is how much more can we pay? Where do we draw the line and say its too much.

Nah, for me $2 is still ok. All along it hovers around 1.50-1.60 ++ so the increase is still acceptable. But if you're talking about $3-$4, its a totally different ball game altogether. Thats like double. A 50 litre tank will cost $150-200 as compared to $100 currently. Now thats where I personally draw the line. [laugh]

I think the immediate step singaporean would take is to drive less or stagger between using their cars and taking BMW, since... they cannot just sell off their car like that.... if not they will spend less on other things and channel their money for petrol. Financially sound ppl will do this. Those unsound will start to do credit card cash advance and chalk up the credit card bills.... sweatdrop.gif

BMW price will rise too, cos govt will say money no enough due to high oil prices, but then again at most $50 more a month. $50 here......$50 there .........adds up to a good few hundred a month.