Vicz Neutral Newbie January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 KM and C&C are damn strict with mods.. even simple thing like air filter sorrie i should not be gloating over ur friend's misforture.. he should have known it better... bring the ride to Riverview for a 2nd opinion... BM is even worse leh... i know somebody who only upgraded his rims also kena void warranty man. Anyway, out of other issues, i ever consulted case before and somebody there told me that warranty is actually "goodwill". If they don't honour, u can't do anything. just learn lesson lor. that is why i would never touch most of the things in the car within warranty period. On the contrary, so far my experience with KM & VCS: I upgraded my rims, KM is ok I changed my stereo, VCS is ok. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 (edited) who tell him backside itchy go and mod.... C&C cannot mod one just like KM Who say KM cannot mod? My car modded, even though my aftermarket exhaust muffler box give way, they also help me to weld back. Air-con compressor spolit also changed without question asked though I used an underdrive pulley. If I'm that Lancer fellow and knowing C&C is very strict on mod, should just get his own ws to tow back and lupe back the original air filter then call C&C. Less worries that way. Regards, Edited January 27, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 my trusty mechanic has always told me that just a small mod such as a change in filter can disrupt alot of things that will snow-ball n cause serious damage. one will nv be sure if the damage did come from the change in filter. but it is definately a possibility that the filter might had caused the damage. the stock car has been developed over years of research, testing and has been tuned for optimal performance. change in filter will definately change the air / fuel ratio. And this change in ratio cannot be handled by the engine which is not designed for. even if u re-configure the ECU (software), it will still not be the same as the hardware has been unchanged. e.g. one can implant the entire WRX internals into an Impreza, it is still not the same, as the WRX has alot more weld points in the chasis that an Impreza. to fellow forumers who thought of installing aftermarket filters, fuel saving magnets / gadgets, please ponder on the following statement - if such gadgets that cost a mere few hundred dollars can improve your car's performance, then why didn't the car manufacturer have them built-in in the very first place? why would they had invested millions of dollars into researching and building more efficient engines? my 2 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched January 27, 2008 Author Share January 27, 2008 Timing belt is toothed connected to the cam pulley.. so a slip should be a sudden thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched January 27, 2008 Author Share January 27, 2008 ya lor.. sway. but what if it was a genuine fault from mitsu? means somewhere out there there's another lemon CS3? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched January 27, 2008 Author Share January 27, 2008 hmm.. mi also heard this b4. Some of the oil used on the filter element gets deposited on the MAF sensor thus making dirt stick onto it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched January 27, 2008 Author Share January 27, 2008 wah.. after service so good. Or is it they didn't notice the underdrive pulley/can't tell the difference? could be the way the claim is made too? if u are confident on the cause, maybe they will be more direct instead of beating around the bush.. lup everything original b4 towing... gd idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched January 27, 2008 Author Share January 27, 2008 Yup i agree that the air filter is one of the connections from the inside to the outside of an engine, so it's important. But an engine is much more tougher than that. There are cars with branded aftermarket filters which are really bad filters (more airflow = more dirt/bigger particles getting in), with wire meshes/dishwasher sponge, and even bare open (no filter), and are still going fine. SG's air quality is also generally quite decent and not really dusty. Normal saloon cars out from the factory are de-tuned or set up to run safer/more conservatively so as to protect the engine from careless drivers (those whose right leg is an on-off switch), neglected maintenance and cheap fuel. Not to mention saving costs for warrenty.. Also to save costs during production. (paper filters are cheaper than meshed cotton ones, rubber hoses instead of silicon ones, cast internals.. etc) Though i do not support some snake oil mods esp fuel saving ones that promise more power, but that is really because they have no real technical benefit or advantage to a car's performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 wah.. after service so good. Or is it they didn't notice the underdrive pulley/can't tell the difference? could be the way the claim is made too? if u are confident on the cause, maybe they will be more direct instead of beating around the bush.. lup everything original b4 towing... gd idea. 1. So far, their services are pretty good and I don't always stick to a particular service centre. But I always stick to the service intervals and often go there for pre-trip inspection before a holidays on wheels to MY. 2. Underdrive pulley or aftermarket sure can tell by the sound. So far second car with them too so I know the supervisors after these years. They know I don't anyhow mod and I don't anyhow claim warranty. If I'm at fault, I will pay and I'm not sticky on small repair items. I guess it is a matter of Trust. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched January 27, 2008 Share January 27, 2008 that the sad part. Some cars tend to be tougher than others of the same make. but there are other factors to consider too. like driving conditions, maintenance issues.. oh, and the engine itself. though 2 engines might be identical, the material used for constructing the engine might contain impurities that might make one engine less durable that the other. You know, the different CREEP and FATIGUE resistance of the material itself. Anyway, my mechanic is quite a well know chap in lancer forum. IF your friend is interested, I can pm you his contact p.s. I'm not promoting his workshop. Just frequent his workshop when I used to drive lancer. Now change car stil go back to him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keen 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 let's say your engine KO... and ur AD workshop blame it on you cos you bring your own engine oil for servicing... what to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 this is unheard of. but i heard tat if u bring yr oil filter and in the event engine oil leak causing engine to overheat, they may blamed it on your oil filter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JCCRA Neutral Newbie January 16, 2012 Share January 16, 2012 Hihi, Newbie here... need help I heard TWM is down.. Can i check with you all if there's anymore workshops or companies selling extended warrenty? Anyone can share? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...