Bluecollar 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 Hi All Need some feed back on both cars as I am looking either one of the used car. There seems not much details with fc as I seen some on Harrier that fluctuates between 5km/ltr to 9.5km/ltrs. So far Mark-X owners have given a figure between 9.9 to 9.5km/ltrs constantly from the forum I have gather so far. To Mark-X and Harrier owners please advice your fc. Both cars have their pros and cons, some Harrier owners commented that pick up for their car is sluggish, of course with the weight. Mark-X is definitely a plus in this area. On the other hand Harrier wide space is what I like but power and handling on a Mark-X is what I am also looking for. Erhh....I know ppl will with me, but 3ltrs option is not what I am looking for... How I wish can take the Mark-X engine and put into a Harrier... > Please let me know which will you guys go for. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 If you are particular about FC, you should not even be looking at a 2.5 liter car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finclk 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 harrier feels very high. Very good. Same feeling of driving n RX300, other then smaller engine size. No need to pay 40k more to drive something with a 1L larger engine. Doesn't make sense. The comfort and luxury of harrier is also very good. That's why it's sooo popular. 2.4L is sufficient for driving and pushing the car. MarkX is also quite refined n more responsive. More driving car since it has a 2.5L V6 engine. Same platform as IS250. but much more cheaper. So why not? Get the MarkX if u dun have a large family.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Author Share February 2, 2008 Brother SF, even if I tell you oso cannot believe.... Am driving a 1.7 Edix, fc constantly at 10.5km/ltr, sluggish at pick up and sluggish in overtaking . Sometimes vomit blood like Hell....especially when want to filter another lane but no confident because the car behind will speed up (I sure you know what I mean). Even if I force my way across, I step gas oso cannot speed up so fast and hog the car behind so I feel bad lahh.... The logic is this, if I am paying 10km for a 1.7 car, why cannot pay 9.5km for a 2.5 car???? I don't know if I am thinking right????? Of course, all road taxes, ERP taken into considerations. I only hate unknown and unpreditable stuff, something I don't know or like some Harrier forumer said their fc go up and down, hopefully not like the stock market. Thanks for your prompt reply bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 You're right ... if your FC is already 10km/liter might as well get a more powerful car. But! Don't forget you are paying higher road tax + higher car price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 (edited) Between RX300 and Mark X (I have driven both cars before), I like Mark X better. But that's just me. Edited February 2, 2008 by Sfhuang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Author Share February 2, 2008 Yes, price for the car already considered. Thanks. You mentioned driving both RX 300 and Mark X. Any idea about the Harrier???? Is Harrier sluggish at pick up like some said and unpreditable fc???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 Get the Harrier, re sale value is Esp. in Malaysia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 I'll choose the Mark X over the Harrier. But thats becos i dont prefer SUVs. MArk X and Harrier very difficult to compare leh, diff cat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 Hi All Need some feed back on both cars as I am looking either one of the used car. There seems not much details with fc as I seen some on Harrier that fluctuates between 5km/ltr to 9.5km/ltrs. So far Mark-X owners have given a figure between 9.9 to 9.5km/ltrs constantly from the forum I have gather so far. To Mark-X and Harrier owners please advice your fc. Both cars have their pros and cons, some Harrier owners commented that pick up for their car is sluggish, of course with the weight. Mark-X is definitely a plus in this area. On the other hand Harrier wide space is what I like but power and handling on a Mark-X is what I am also looking for. Erhh....I know ppl will with me, but 3ltrs option is not what I am looking for... How I wish can take the Mark-X engine and put into a Harrier... > Please let me know which will you guys go for. Thanks harrier is 2.4L Mark X is 2.5L what i can tell you is, i believe those FC given or quoted is when they are very light footed.... I would ask you to expect about 8-8.5km/l instead. Why don't you go for a test drive and see which you prefer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Author Share February 2, 2008 Ya, Ya....in MY black market.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Author Share February 2, 2008 Yes, I know is diff cat, that is why I uses fc as a bench mark for 1st consideration, then driveablility as the 2nd considerations. Going for a Sedan requires some scarifices but will enjoy the ride; on the other hand going for a SUV will have ample space but driveablility will suffer. Maybe you can help if you can benchmark a let's say CRV or RAV4 to Harrier in terms of driveability and fc. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Author Share February 2, 2008 Sorry Galant, when you mentioned 8.5km/l do you mean both cars or just harrier? Frankly, my heart tells me to go with a X but mind tells me to be logical . If you have driven a harrier before, would like to ask how's the driveability as compared to your current one. Of course unless you are driving a Posh then different story lahh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 eh... i mean roughly for both but i think harrier FC will be abit worse off..... dun worry i no drive posh...... i heard that the rear wheel drive of the mark x will take some getting used too while the harrier i have to wish to get a king kong at the moment... no matter what any of us say, the best is for you to test drive both.... only then you will know what you like... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 (edited) Why not look at the harrier zagato edition http://www.nihoncar.com/en/news-313-TAG+06...atto,+HDTV.html Edited February 2, 2008 by Phochem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 based on the nature of your complaint, it has to be mark x cos you can expect harrier to be under-poewered due to the smaller engine. suv as a design concept can never be very fuel efficient because a) Big tyres / Rims b) Heavy Weight add to that poorer handling due to high cg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 (edited) both are good car i would say, before you find out more details about the FC, performance and other details of both cars, i think you should ask yourself what do you prefer? Harrier is a SUV where Mark X is a Saloon. Its totally 2 diff catagory of car and i dont undetand why are you comparing both... in terms of FC, SUV cosumption confirm will be lousier compare to saloon (same CC, same brand, same generation, eg sonata 2.0 vs Tucson), even if harrier which have is slightly smaller in CC ( depends which harrier model are u gg after. in terms of safety, SUV will have more advange due to the size and height of the car. when comes to performance, Saloon will have the advantage of weight, aerodynamic and etc. Maintainance wise, both are consider medium class car and maintainance cost is around the same. So, wat r u looking at? Edited February 2, 2008 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 Bro, to be frank. Both Mark X and Harrier I also got consider for my next car. And most likely I will get a 2nd hand model also. Friend also told me, just think wan saloon take mark X and SUV take Harrier lor! Slowly, I dropped off the idea to get Mark X.. Indeed its a nice, sporty and powerful car. However, the rear seats are very cramp and not comfortable to seat 3 adults.. Harrier is very comfortable, stylish and posh! I also worry the FC is very bad. Petrol getting more and more costly.. Have you consider BM Camry 2.4L? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...