Megaweb Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 (edited) depends on case by case la... large aperture can reduce noise might appear in high iso... Large aperture is useful for taking candid or street photography. For still life like night city photography, any camera with long exposure also can take good quality with lowest ISO. To me, camera is just a tool. Expensive camera may not produce good photos. Edited February 24, 2008 by Megaweb ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Ultimately it's the (high) ISO that contributes to noise in the pictures. Not the large/small aperture. The advantage of large aperture is the luxury of using a faster shutter speed, to avoid handshake or subject blur. But having said that, let's not forget that DOF control is also very important! High ISO ? you sure ? TS is refering to still life night photography and not human photography in low lighting. Why need to use large aperture ? depends on case by case la... large aperture can reduce noise might appear in high iso... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Are you the same Megaweb from CS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Can share which country did you get the 17-55 from? The 24-85 F/3.5-4.5 is a underrated lens, pretty sharp! The 18-200VR so far is the most versatile lens, only shortcoming is the sharpness and smaller aperture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Photography is an expensive hobby the cost really depends on your point of view. if you ask me to spend a few $ks on a bicycle, I would really really think about it. But if you ask a bike enthusiast (sp?) the same question, he probably wouldn't hesitate to say 'why not?' but of course, I've thought about getting the 17-55 for a long long while before deciding to go for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 ah yes, DOF. forgot abt that. especially important if you're talking about taking portraits. you'd want your background to be as out of focus as possible. some pple call it bokeh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 depends on case by case la... large aperture can reduce noise might appear in high iso... Large aperture is useful for taking candid or street photography. For still life like night city photography, any camera with long exposure also can take good quality with lowest ISO. To me, camera is just a tool. Expensive camera may not produce good photos. it really depends on what you want out of your camera. if you require your camera to give you both jpeg and raw, then you'd probably need a more expensive camera. also, if you require GPS input, no. of frames per second, etc. have you seen the photos taken by the D3 or D300 ? the photos taken at hi ISO (1600 and above) settings are simply unbelievable. Almost like taken at ISO 400. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 i got mine from the US. waited for a long time before successfully bidding for it. the 24-85 is truly under-rated, but no point for me to keep it. but focusing, not as fast as my 17-55 of course, the 17-55 has got silent wave motor. the 18-200 wins hats down on convenience. good for travelling. with VR2, the small aperture is not really a problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Are you the same Megaweb from CS? Yes, is there any other Megaweb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 it really depends on what you want out of your camera. if you require your camera to give you both jpeg and raw, then you'd probably need a more expensive camera. also, if you require GPS input, no. of frames per second, etc. have you seen the photos taken by the D3 or D300 ? the photos taken at hi ISO (1600 and above) settings are simply unbelievable. Almost like taken at ISO 400. I only believe pro cam good for sport photography. Whether shots are nice or not is still depend on photographer. I am not interested in D3 or D300. Are you the user of the nikon group? Why not show us you nice photos instead of the expensive tool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 for me, what is important is the composition. what do you want your photos to show/tell. my dream was to become a photojournalist. like those taking war photos in WWII. hahah. dream only lah. really respect those photogs that risk there lives to bring us the real picture. nowadays, technology is impt, if you want to bring your news fast (using wireless) to the millions of pple who are hungry for news (internet or print). so those pros may have to invest in expensive cameras. of course, not me lah. I mentioned D3 / D300 is to show that technology has really advanced to such an extend that noise is now irrelavant (comparatively). user of nikon group? i frequently browse CS's forums but don't usually contribute in terms of postings. I look at how those good photogs compose their photos and learn from them. nice photos? no lah. me still learning. share share comments can lah. photo-genius.blogspot.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 http://forums.photographer.sg/ this one good too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 depends on case by case la... large aperture can reduce noise might appear in high iso... Large aperture is useful for taking candid or street photography. For still life like night city photography, any camera with long exposure also can take good quality with lowest ISO. To me, camera is just a tool. Expensive camera may not produce good photos. seriously what's a still life night city photography?? still life or just night landscape? could u define for me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched February 25, 2008 Share February 25, 2008 still life is something that dun move like buildings and landscape. Why use high ISO to take building shots ? Proper technique used should be using a tripod and shutter release cable or timer mode to prevent any movement while taking still life shots. Of course use small aperture for wider DOF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 25, 2008 Share February 25, 2008 If you want a PnS camera with the best low-light performance, then you shld look at this offering from FujiFilm. It's arguably the best PnS camera for low-light photography currently. can take porn shots for me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear February 25, 2008 Share February 25, 2008 are you chio bu? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear February 25, 2008 Share February 25, 2008 fully agree mega!!! it's about how the photographer uses whatever tools he had at the time to capture the way he wanted the photo to be. so what an ISO1600 shot looks like taken with ISO400?? instead of talking about what the camera can do, why not talk about how to take photos? it really depends on what you want out of your camera. if you require your camera to give you both jpeg and raw, then you'd probably need a more expensive camera. also, if you require GPS input, no. of frames per second, etc. have you seen the photos taken by the D3 or D300 ? the photos taken at hi ISO (1600 and above) settings are simply unbelievable. Almost like taken at ISO 400. I only believe pro cam good for sport photography. Whether shots are nice or not is still depend on photographer. I am not interested in D3 or D300. Are you the user of the nikon group? Why not show us you nice photos instead of the expensive tool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear February 25, 2008 Share February 25, 2008 It can take night photography. Any cameras can. Only the final results. For pana, its known to have high noise level for night shots at higher ISO. I've seen some previews. quite bad actually. Even though photoshop can help correct this. But still, I think a lot of work needs to be done. Rgds ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...