Jetta 1.4TSi

Vicz

Not too sure about the A-class but this car does look like good value, good build I believe, low rd tax, 0-100 8+sec, reasonable FC. [nod]

then again the maintenance cost of it's supercharger and turbo charger is a concern too ?

I wonder whether can it sustain the long distance high rev drive for hours ?

I don't think long distance high rev drive will be a problem for TSI engine. Don't forget that speed at Germany Autobann is much higher NSHW.

I drove there afew times, traveling at 160 - 180km/h is consider slow at Autobann.

Actually, the German Autobann is fast...but i dun think the 1.4TSI engine is targeted in Europe...if you go to europe now, you realise that everyone is driving a Diesel car. Especially in France, almost 80% - 90% cars are running on diesel....

dono? i guess a lot of people always like iconic cars, if its the GTi, i think 10 pages liao...... [laugh]

anyway, i think this is a car worth considering if u want a balance between sports, family, image, lower road tax, lower consumption (as compared to cars of its class -"sports" characteristics), a conti with good build quality and reasonable comfortability...etc etc.

i think most would think that paying 95k would be 5354 bcos if u up a bit, u get a GT, up a bit more, u get passat, a bit some more u get a GTi bla bla bla. Perhaps if the pricing is say 90k range would be a hot cake then. [;)] may attract a lot of those who were originaly thinking of some japs like Euro CTR since its only 1.4 packed with such a fantastic performance. afterall, i think it could be a LOVE issue lah, people tends to love those that supposedly to be loved ones and once u love something different, u r not in line. i guess... ha ha.. [laugh]

Today VW sales man sms me, told me got new rims, lower price, plus 1yr foc road tax.

Anyone know what is the price now??

yup. Too bad VW over-price this car.

If only price is in 80-85K range, perhaps can consider.

But ignoring price factor, I'd say Jetta TSi is great car.

It is very torquey which makes it so easy to pull away from any speed.

I feel this car can give turbo taxis a run for their money! [sly]

I also think that it is a good car. But not sure the TSI engine can last or not and the matainance fee for this car will be high or not. Conti tend to be more problematic also , I quite worried about it.

One more thing is the insurance is going to be high.

Bro if buy can keep me posted about the FC

Frankly speaking if the car is from 80 to 85k, than i will definate get it for my next car even it exceed my budget. Like the TSI engine very much

well, the fact that they price their golf GT at 98K (previously 100+), they can't price the Jetta any lower right? margin has to be high being quite niche right?

u might want to take the running costs of the car into account.

likey hood is that you need to send the car back to VW for servicing, as no other workshop or mechanic will know much about TFSI engines. [sly]

Talking about that, VW called me yesterday for a survey on the service quality their workshop gave the last time i visited... i actually made a lot of noise to them on some of their problems.... actually they are not bad lah but i m just trying to make known to them that many of us, current VW owners are unhappy with their change from 2 years to 3 years warranty, honestly feel kinda short changed....

Btw, bro, don't worry about yout bomb for repair lah, i guess they know people are worried bcos TSi is new, so all jetta comes with 3yrs 100,000km warranty.... no diff from any average toyota or nissan lah, why should u repair outside? they also give 2-yrs warranty for repairs lah.

Edited by Vicz

does it mean all repairs are covered under warranty and free of charge?

i am not familiar with conti cars. my belief is that it is far more easy to service a fully mechanical car rather than one that is controlled by multiple onboard CPUs.

Bro, I guess u r still in those Toyota Starlet or Daihatsu Charade days.... [laugh] give me a call if u still can find a new fully mechanical car nowadays. [laugh] of cos its easier to maintain a fully mechanical car bro.... look for a car without ECU nowadays and u have a prize from me [laugh] ! but not bicycles that i'm saying.

To-date, i have not paid a single cent on my repairs (since 2 years). pick any jap cars, no less electronics than any contis [laugh][laugh] !

Lots of people were being told by lots of workshop mechanics who couldn't diagnose or repair (let alone repair) cars with electronics or ECUs (during the early to mid 90s) that cars with electronics will give a lot of problems, thats because they are not equiped to do it! if u buy, no business for him! rite? [laugh]

I don't deny that electronics can be temperamental at times but we do advance, if not stick to bicycles, or number 11, that'll solve ur headache! [:)][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Yup. The TSI engine is a fantastic piece of engineering! [thumbsup]

Pay rd tax of 1400cc, decent FC but power of a 2500cc car!

1 thing I like abt jetta is it can be a sleeper car. [sly]

I think that turbo taxi no fight lei. They will have turbo lag

Is it? I not sure cause I never drive turbo taxi before. [laugh]

But I sat in them before. Their pickup is effortless, very responsive engine.

From standstill, most tend to pickup fast, even faster than 2400cc NA cars.

Edited by Redboy