Pisces69 6th Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 I saw those trips up north. I found their prices quite high as we have to pay for our own transport costs. They only provide hotel as the buffet is usually free with the hotel room. We go ourselves seem much better. Get about 5 cars like last time & we also can go "own time, own target". Can consider a KT trip any time as monsoon is over & if got no holidays, there sud b no extra charge for hotel & also no jams. For the phone, I was considering the Nokia 6110 & now see Samsung got a GPS model i550w. See if u got some good lobang & maybe some advice on the pros & cons of these models. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 OK but I not those "techie" so don't need all those special functions. I just need a good reliable phone with GPS function cos I get lost quite a lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 I think you will need to pay to install the additional navigation functions on Nokia phones to make it fully functional, otherwise the basic package is just a street directory that can only point out you present location. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 No leh. I see the ads on the 6110 shows that it actually directs u where to turn etc. This is useful on dark & unfamiliar roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Solve your headache..... just get a dedicated GPS lah...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlkl Clutched April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Ya i understand that it'll direct you to your desired destination. However to get voice navigation like "Turn left or right" which is the Agps, then its chargable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 But then how I going to carry it along with me when I leave the car????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 U mean "voice navigation" is not standard in the phone???? I tot it's already built-in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 So the N95 is a better GPS? I don't need all those other functions so I don't want to have to pay for them. All I need is a phone to make/receive calls & SMS'. It sud have good reception & battery can last long. Now wud like a GPS too which I can use in the car & carry in my pocket. All the other stuff I never use. Well,N95 use to have a problem of fixing sat...but the new f/w got agps which aids sat. lock. AGPS need to pay for gprs charges No comment for N95 or N95 8gb since i dont like slider and dont use them.I'm using N82 w/o agps and the sat lock is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 I wud prefer the phone to come with all the necessary software. Installing additional software might void the warranty or worse, affect the other functions. So the 1550w does not have a camera? That is a very useful function. Soory my prev statement might confused u,but samseng i550w got a camera,loose to N82 cos samseng is 3 megapixel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlkl Clutched April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Yes its built-in but usage is chargable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Hi do you need to install other gps softwares for N82 or is the original nokia maps good enough? Need your advice as i've been thinking of getting this N82 but the colour, button's shape and reliability of the gps are keeping my purchase on hold. Thanks. Ya,if u can wait long long,wait for N82 black...very chio Buttons are not tat bad...looks small but functional...you must try. Nokia maps are ok,only tat you must pay after 3 months for the navigation and voice. The renewal is quite expensive thus,some migrate to other gps soft like mapking or GMXT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlkl Clutched April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Me waited very long for the black edition and got a bit buay tahan recently. Got the urge to grab the sliver one as i need a fone cum a good camera for my Bangkok trip this weekend. Do i have to pay for downloading mapking or GMXT and is it difficult to download? Paisey me quite a goondu about computer and high tech stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Going bangkok this weekend? With the good camera + gps its small and handy to carry. Get the map loader version 1.3 and download the map for bangkok...enjoy ur holiday first,use the navi for 3 months,come back can search for how to install mapking/gmxt its easy if u know how. Bankok map Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlkl Clutched April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Thanks for your kind advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 N82 rocks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 cheers!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlkl Clutched April 1, 2008 Share April 1, 2008 Ya but the black N82 double rock. Waited for this for more than 2 months and even gave up on the Sin*t*l promotion for the silver ones. Got a feeling that sin*t*l's promotion which ended yesterday was to clear space for the black ones. Hope the blackie will be here soon. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...