Beanoyip Turbocharged June 8, 2003 Share June 8, 2003 After almost 3 yrs of owning the car. Things start to go downhill all the way for the car. Doubt its built meant to last. Hell with it, nothing is built meant to last nowadays anyway. BTW, my air con compressor just died on me. Now no cold air for me. Probably going to change tomorrow. Servo charging 800 on the air con compressor unit. Price acceptable? My signal unit also intermittent, cannot flicker. Full of crap now. Then going to have annual inspection in july. No airbag somemore. Worst of worst case. Think i'm the only fella in SG driving with a hole in my steering and without a horn. Totally sucks. Servo promised to get the airbag stuff for me, but after 7mths, still waiting. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 hey beano!! u 're still around? hehehe me and veron was talking abt u yesterday at the meetup, was wondering if u have already sold off ur octavia... btw, we are also starting to get/encounter some wierd problems recently (also coming to 3rd yr)... - signal light cannot work!!! started happening on saturday... flicker a while just stop... now having problem driving carefully, coz when wanna turn/filter, cannot tell others my intention... pple think i anyhow cut into their lane - wiper water seems to be leaking, but is a on off problem it seems (discovered abt 2 weeks back), sometimes will leak, sometimes won't leak... also dunno why... - auto gear also feels abit wierd, so now driving very gently... planning to send in for check (and also july scheduled maintainence), today gonna call servo see if they can fit me in tomorrow, otherwise, will go back to CA... no choice, no signal drive hor, very jialat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C708 Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 (edited) Perry, Signal switch is the culprit with regards to your signalling problem. Water leak could reservoir or hosing connection to the reservoir. Why the intermittent problem ?? Could be becos it doesnt leak when there's no water left in the reservoir !! Ever considered that ?? Auto gear weird could be becos of not enuf ATF fluid in gearbox.........go to Servo quick let them have a look !! U need an intro or if not just say Pete ( Black Fabia ) sent you, look for Dennis. PS. Suggest you go in first thing in the morning, 9am !! U get better attention then. later when the cars start piling in.......u'll have to wait yr turn ....... Edited June 9, 2003 by C708 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 signal switch - funny leh, switch only got 3 yr lifespan ar? wonder if skodaman will encounter this.... *touch wood* water resevoir - hahaha, weird thing is hor we got topup. reach home after work, top-up full. next day morning saw water pool at front right tyre area. repeat again next day, same problem. left it alone.... last week wash car over weekends also just top-up (as per routine), then checked on saturday suddenly find water full full!??! but this morning again saw a small puddle of water at front right tyre again.... already called dennis up this morning and fixed an appointment with him at 9am tomorrow... hope he can help me resolve everything btw, i gonna do my 45k servicing at same time also. wat should normally be done at this servicing? 0 to 30k servcing all done at JTA->CA, never really bother to find out / keep track of what they do... now abit regret... so wanna start learning more so that i can monitor better myself. thinking of treating servo as a new start point all over again. so should i ask them to flush everything? change battery? etc ?(heard u guys mentioning abt coolant, atf etc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonnytay Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 Oh-Oh.... If I'd known that such problems are going to surfaced in the 3rd year (I'm into my 2nd year), I wouldn't have installed my leather seat. If I ever scrap my car in the 3rd year, I'm gonna make sure I dismantle the seats and put them at home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C708 Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 (edited) btw, i gonna do my 45k servicing at same time also. wat should normally be done at this servicing? 0 to 30k servcing all done at JTA->CA, never really bother to find out / keep track of what they do... now abit regret... so wanna start learning more so that i can monitor better myself. thinking of treating servo as a new start point all over again. so should i ask them to flush everything? change battery? etc ?(heard u guys mentioning abt coolant, atf etc) Perry, Flushing coolant & brake fluid will be a good start. U could always ask Servo to check on battery health. If current still ok, then leave it.......Dennis will know what to do. Just tell him to check it for u. The rest , standard service......change oil-synthetic, ( they use Castrol, though they have no concerns if u bring your own ) oil filter, air filter, sparks - last two not mandatory. Have them take a look on yr brake pads. If worn suggest that you change to Mintex Red Box....better than OEM's...a little more...abt $ 65 to 75 per pair. Much better braking power than OEM VAG pads. Hope that helps........ Edited June 9, 2003 by C708 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 Ya, signalling now is a problem. Sometimes i just manually signal. eg. lift the lever up and down. Asked servo for stock but they say don't have. Can help me check if CA have the stock and how much it cost? I jus changed my air con compressor also. 850 bucks. No choice, air con not cold and making hell lot of noise from the outside. Seems like the car falling apart. I really wondering if i scrap my car end of this yr, how much can i take back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 oops, i'll be going to servo tomorrow instead of ca. but my signal problem doesn't seem to match what u describe, for me, even if i manually lift up and down, the signal still doesn't come on. there is simply no signal click or light.... then sometimes, it flickers and ticks for 2 to 3 times before stopping. wierder thing is it started happening since saturday morning, but just now when going home, it was back to normal!? dunno what i gonna show servo tomorrow... sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 9, 2003 Author Share June 9, 2003 I tell you what.. you ask them to try the signal unit for audi one. And see if the problem is still there, but that one won't fit your car, at least you'd know where the problem is. What else would you be doing at servo tomorrow? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie June 9, 2003 Share June 9, 2003 dun curse my car hor..... haha mine signal switch will be working well even after 3 years i am sure.. cause i seldom use it... haha As for your auto gear, try changing the ATF. or flush it. BVO at Sin Ming have the proper autogear box flushing machine, bu tbe warn it is not cheap hor. Fill up with VW long life ATF after the flush, it last longer then other ATF. Beano, read your message too late. a brand new compressor cost about 780 exclude labour, and i mean COST price. so 850 for the change not too bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 12, 2003 Share June 12, 2003 hi beano, i did my 45k servicing at servo liao, noraml stuffs plus abit extras (recommended by fella skodians). dennis told me the signal switch will only be coming in abt 2 weeks time but i emailed sammo (CA) yesterday and he says they have the parts, can send in for replacement anytime. i just replied him asking him the price (part and labor)... will keep u informed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volk74 Neutral Newbie June 12, 2003 Share June 12, 2003 Hi didnt know that sammo has email. Can pm his email to me? I have some enquiries to ask him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 12, 2003 Share June 12, 2003 [email protected] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volk74 Neutral Newbie June 12, 2003 Share June 12, 2003 Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 12, 2003 Author Share June 12, 2003 Ok. Actually replacement very simple. Can DIY. So just wondering how much it cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 13, 2003 Share June 13, 2003 here is sammo's reply.... had originally wanted to get it done tomorrow (sat), but ca is fully booked... so now i think i might just wait for servo lar... coz sammo never tell me labour cost and we already know ca charge sky-high for labour... hehehe "I am not very sure on what is the fault causing the signal light not working as there can be a few item causing the same problem. I think it a bit hard for me to give you a "how much" here, as I really have a chance to to do test or check on your car, but if you are talking about the signal relay I believe the cost is about $70.00/-. As per I have mentioned in my last E-mail, I think it will be better if you can sent in your vehicle for our workshop for a check. I hope you will find my input useful" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 13, 2003 Author Share June 13, 2003 Actually, like i said. The signal unit is DIY-able. But can check with servo also how much is it. Doubt they will charge for labour cost. It just takes a minute to replace the signal unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 17, 2003 Author Share June 17, 2003 hey bro, what's your solution to your signal problem? Or its solved already? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...