Diffrences between sports and nomal clutch

Zigen_79

hi guys....... tis qns might be ask a thosand time here , but still gonna find out pls enlighten me , i do noe wats the function of the sports clutch , nut had never driven 1 bfore so can some one , beros ut ther explaint to me , is the bitting point more difficult to catch or mush ram high to move off , pls advise i did saw a for racing only wats the difference ? tk u

Sport clutch compared to a normal clutch works on the same working principles ie. as a contact medium. Sport clutch I think is installed to be able to cope with more power/torque and abuse. Grip from the clutch plate is better dan those normal clutch to prevent slipping.

Can't explain to you in technical terms...

But normal clutch has softer springs that enable you to slip the clutch so much that for crawling traffic, you are able to just use the clutch to inch forward.

For a sports clutch (depending one how heavy duty it is) there is very min transmission loss...you can't slip the clutch and it behaves more like a on/off switch. For high power engines, if you clutch is not up to scratch, you will get transmission slip (loss of power) when you apply power.

Even if its a normal car (un-mod) using a sports clutch will improve the responds from the engine as there is lesser transmission loss....but off course begin a sports clutch, its gonna be heavy and very uncomfortable to use if you dun master the technique as your car will hop like a rabbit if you dun release the clutch properly....and can develop your left calf muscles...and traffic jam...U will cry !!

For better street drivability and clutch control, it's better to use twin-plate sport clutch. It's easier to slip the clutch or our term as biting point like the normal clutch.

It comes at a price though. [:/]

Doesn't sound like you use one before.

Anyway, the difference between sports and normal... the material of the clutch used... Some use ceramic, some use carbon and some use metal mix with ceramic.

Normal clutch doesn't BITE as as well as sport clutch.

1st thing you notice is the weight.. sports clutch are heavier.

2ndly If your engine is not powerful enough, you'll keep stalling at idle... cos the mass of the clutch is too great. So to counter this problem, you'll need pretty good clutching techniques.

3rdly twin plate clutch are useless unless your car is making 500+ HP basically it last longer than heavy duty single clutch. Dues to its weight and mass... driving in a jam without skill is no joke.....

for 2nd and 3rd -----> Notice cars using this, they will REV high just to move an inch...

Hope it helps...

But some twin plate clutches comes with a lighter/thinner flywheel and a spring hub and engagement springs that are placed between two pressure plates and the center plate--- They force the clutch plates to engage one at a time. Doing so makes it easier to slip the clutch, improving street drivability and clutch control. For carbon material I think it's lighter and not so heavy as ceramic types. New design of twin-plate clutch is much lighter dan those old type.

Of course Sport clutch is design for high performance cars and normal clutch for normal cars.

Flywheel has always been light...wink.gif

but what's the point of having a light twin plate clutch when you're car doesn't produce the power... a HD single plate is more than efficient.... If your car produces too much power.. your disc will keep slipping. I believe there are light weight twin plate clutch around... but is pointless.

When i say the clutch is heavy.. is not neccessary that the entire clutch is heavy.. the springs are much HARDER.. to press the clutch disk on to the flywheel.

Edited by Sw20

To add on to Sw20's comments,

Sports clutch got diff in terms of shape. Take for instance, the trd street clutch for the celica. It has better grip than stock clutches, but still full circle in shape. A 3 puck clutch has much better grip, but the car vibrates a lot when you are doing half clutch. Its not very comfy, if you are not used to it. A friend is using an exedy 3 puck. Grip is incredible, but excessive vehicle vibration is something that you have to live with.

I'm driving with a trd street clutch. As to the difficulty in catching the biting point, it depends on the clutch lines and how heavy the clutch is. If you are on one of those heavy duty clutches, naturally its difficult to catch the biting point.

My clutch has very little free play. Its hard to catch the biting point. But, best to just rev a bit and move, cos' some clutches biting point quite impossible to catch unless you have to using them for a while.

I make a point to switch to neutral gear and lift my foot off the clutch. Like what the other guy said, if you don't know how to lift your foot off the clutch, your calf muscle can become very developed. [laugh] You can get a pretty bad cramp too, if you clutch down for too long.

What car are you driving? What mods have you done?

sorry didnt intro yet , most of all will like to say a BIG tk u ,for u bro's to in a way that , had taken some of ur time to share ur's wit me .

bout my ride jus change to a old 1992 esi , bout the mod , i didnt really do anything yet but think previous owner took good care wit the present D16Z BUT!!!wat really impressed me the most is that i can actually get to clock bout 580KM to 620km per tank , not boosting!!! how the hell he manage to do it .I Really DONT KNOW ??? cos my previous ride a 2004 sohc civic, can only do 500km plus, wat i only know is externally in the engine bay there,s quite abit of liao(performance part) , as for internally in the engine i dont noe , y i ask bout clutch is bcos m expecting swap to B-series ,thats y i chose esi as a plaform to start wit cos by saving about 7k if i get a eg9.

i see it as a fair choice cos wit a simple swap to start wit maybe a B18C R and bore till 2.0L , wit simple tgs like flywheel , cam pully ,hope to get 1 wit forge piston will be best skip off the cylinder head for higher compression and get a bigger oil cooler, upgrade semi slick and 16" rim n rubber shld be able to play wit wrx rite ? (dun ever try high cam ,my first ride is a starlet EP80, witout reving it till 3500rpm u cant move,cos intiatlly i swap to a 1.5L carb enging instead of the 1.3 turbo injection so dun have ecu to control it ,even at traffic light i cannot on aircon and still having to keep reving it if not engine die off)

wth tis configaration ,althoungh confident enoungh to get it to ard maybe 220 to 250 bhp , but will be useless cos i dont have a sport clutch to transmit it to the wheel, thats why m asking, cos i had never driven 1 wit sport's clutch

1) how's the feel?

2) how much more diffrence in power transmission as compare?

3) hows much comfy do i have to sacrifices

4) any one disencourage me ? (pls do not reply wit may as well get a wrx , evo, 2000sx,sir,eg6/9,ek 4 , cos i oso know bout that )

thank you pls advice

From a good friend, "I really salute those Singaporeans who can afford a sports car and spend even more to modify, yet still drive like gentlemen on the road."

really have to salute to wat u say, driving 70/80km per hour hogging on to the extreme lane wit a nissan beast, FAIR LADY may as well get a bicycle those wit pertrol engine ,no erp, no rd tax, no insurance and mayby even outrun it

my friend b18 fully done up with toda stuffs. his car can move off easily with his high cam. his car dyno around 210 on wheel. i think b18 only can bore till 1.9+. I know a few of them, all 1.9 only. a nicely done up 1.6 is enough to eat stock rex.

sport clutch got no comfort lah, u release it, the car vibrate for sure.

u use esi and throw a b series inside, if tp stop u & open bonnet, u die immediatly. with eg6/9 or ek4, u from b16 change to b18 or b20, tp dun no how to see. even at inspection centre, they wan to confirm, they must open up ur block.

i noe but heard that they are shops who are able to make the top look like sohc , buts wats the penalty turbo higher or twin cam higher? care to share?

how can the dohc top look like sohc top. no way man. dohc top is so much bigger leh. 1 look u know the diff liao.

tc charge only $550. 500 for xos 50 for turbo ha. i saw 1 tc esi pushing out near 300 hp. not bad leh.

engine swop is serious offence. cheating roadtax.

Edited by Kalaplus

do agreed that t/c will oso do but witout changing cam , piston and con rod ,can meh? and the pricing abit under estimate leh u sure $550 will do? if can i no money oso borrow to go do. serious?