Boycott  

71 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes
    • No
    • Maybe

no offense bro, but

1) Petrol company can take hits for months, without feeling the pinch.... if we all go up north to pump the blood sucking garment will stipulate full tank to enter...

2) ERP, for LTA, if extreme cases, they will implement GPS charging... or other vicious blood sucking revenue in which theres not escape....

3) Parking and others, even if u stop using their facility, they may react only weeks later, but eventually volume/traffic WILL return as normal, and u will see that the prices will go up again...

Those ppl that need the car to work, work as in like cab drivers, delivery vans, sales persons will have no choice as this mode of transport is their bread and butter...

the rich will not boycott as this charges are nothing to them...

the middle income will whine and suffer, but theres not much they can do cept to change the voting ratio for the coming GE and pray for the best.

the poor, i hope will never get to hop onto this pirate ship

after seeing all the replies, i can say that Simon Lee is good.

i remembered someone was discussing about whether Singaporeans can be civic minded, as compared to like in Japan or Korea. Sadly i doubt that will ever happen. Our education system train us to be self-centred in a way. Everyone is kiasi and so u see the same governing party since the beginning of independence. How can a self-centred and kiasi person be civic minded when these are conflicting characteristics?

I know this has been posted and polled before but using a different method.

I was wondering how many of us here will be willing to STOP driving for 1 month and only take public transport. The impact will be,

1) Petrol company taking will get hit badly

2) ERP takings will drop significantly

3) Parking takings will drop significantly

We have no way to stop petrol company from raising price, we have no way to stop LTA erecting more ERP gantries. But we can voice our unhappiness by our actions.

So who will do it?

Singapore leh.. you boycott lor... the fact is govt doesnt depends on ERP or parking for survival. Infact, MRT, buses and taxis will gain. (lagi best if your taxi passes thru ERP lor.. still pay right) Here is not France, where their govt afraid of their ppl. Nothing will change.

Unless whole SG walk... Even so, they will just announce it as another world record for most people walking in a day.

Edited by Chrispie

Can't do it coz gahment put a 10yrs COE Stopwatch on the car even if I don't use the clock will still tickle and $$ will still [angel]

I know this has been posted and polled before but using a different method.

I was wondering how many of us here will be willing to STOP driving for 1 month and only take public transport. The impact will be,

1) Petrol company taking will get hit badly

2) ERP takings will drop significantly

3) Parking takings will drop significantly

We have no way to stop petrol company from raising price, we have no way to stop LTA erecting more ERP gantries. But we can voice our unhappiness by our actions.

So who will do it?

Will you do it?

i wont.

[thumbsup]

I find threads like this quite amusing.

In the old days, when the govt discouraged car ownership by having high coe, high parf and high road tax, and 30% downpayment requirements, pple wld comprain that cars are so expensive, and asked the govt to lower the prices.

now the prices are much lower (anyone remembers the days when a hyudai accent cost $80K + ?)

if the govt were to lower the car prices, make financing easier by allwing 100% 10 yr loans, and keep the running costs the same, we would have such massive jams allover the island, it would be impossible to get anywhere

of course something has to give. you cant have cheap car prices and cheap running costs at the same time

at least with the erp system, one now has a choice to buy a car for a relatively cheap price, and keep it for weekend and leisure use

in the Uk the are a large number of pple who work in the city of London ( a lot of them sucessful bankers, accountants, lawyers etc) who take the train and tube to work, and drive their luxury cars on the weekend only.

[nod]

Current situation:

1) LTA got your money the moment you pay for COE - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 1 , You: 0

2) You still have to pay road tax and insurance - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 2, You: 0, 3rd Party: 1

3) You bring car for regular servicing - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 2, You: 0, 3rd Party: 2

4) You bring car to drink petrol - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 2, You: 0, 3rd Party: 3

5) You pay for parking in HDB/URA - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 3, You: 0, 3rd Party: 3

6) You go shopping, pay parking - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 3, You: 0, 3rd Party: 4

7) You pay loan for your car - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 3, You: 0, 3rd Party: 5

8) You pay ERP, CBD charges - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 4, You: 0, 3rd Party: 5

9) You pay parking fines and traffic fines - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 5, You: 0, 3rd Party: 5

Lets say you boycott, don't drive

1) LTA got your money the moment you pay for COE - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 1 , You: 0

2) You still have to pay road tax and insurance - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 2, You: 0, 3rd Party: 1

3) You bring car for regular servicing - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 2, You: 0, 3rd Party: 2

4) You pay for parking in HDB/URA - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 3, You: 0, 3rd Party: 2

5) You pay loan for your car - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 3, You: 0, 3rd Party: 3

6) You pay for public transport BUS/MRT - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 4, You: 0, 3rd Party: 3

7) You pay for taxi (for some reason) - LTA/HDB/Garmen: 4, You: 0, 3rd Party: 4

So who's the eventual winner? [laugh]

It is said that the young ones is a good reflection of how the elder ones have cultivated them, take a good look at stomp and sometimes MCF. All know how to 'txt spk' and whine and whine about things, but when faced with a real life challenge, how many will actually stand up to the 'big guys' and do an actual boycott? Just give them a choice, join PAYM or something similar of the opposition, how many will choose the latter? Most just "NATO". In the end, give lame excuses like "bo bian" , no choice... really CMI

That said, I stopped driving and about to sell my car, life is not just about owning a car when you can't enjoy quality of life. Perhaps the winner of a rat race is not to get pulled into one. [;)]

Edited by Slowmo

[thumbsup][thumbsup]

everywhere in the world people are protesting when the olyumpic torch passes though making the security personnel so busy. rest assured, those security guys will be very happy when the torch comes by SG. its will be R n R time [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think it is a stupid idea to boycott like that...

It is useless and the gov will be more happy if you take public transport [laugh]

Petrol raise is a worldwide issue... aside from those subsidy nations, every other nations also raise like mad...

"That said, I stopped driving and about to sell my car, life is not just about owning a car when you can't enjoy quality of life. Perhaps the winner of a rat race is not to get pulled into one. wink.gif"

u are rite about not getting pulled into this. I pity those middle-income sales person that require this to survive with little benefit from poor/stingy/just start-up employers that require them to travel.

No need to laugh as this is not even an idea. its a test to see the response of the general public; in this case the carforum. now we know why the governing party is always winning the GE [lipsrsealed]

My point is if u wanna do any boycotts and such u should learn to be a hippie of the 70's with no job, no car & house ownership, live in a trailer, your electricity is from a gas generator and your water comes from a well. U know... nothing much the gov can get out of u.

U take a look at what u own and tell me whether if the gov owns your ass for good as long as u'r in sg.

If u wanna boycott, can, no problem, sell all the assets u own, rent and live in a shabby place in Pulau Ubin lor. [rolleyes]

Kong Qiao Way.

My point is if u wanna do any boycotts and such u should learn to be a hippie of the 70's with no job, no car & house ownership, live in a trailer, your electricity is from a gas generator and your water comes from a well. U know... nothing much the gov can get out of u.

U take a look at what u own and tell me whether if the gov owns your ass for good as long as u'r in sg.

If u wanna boycott, can, no problem, sell all the assets u own, rent and live in a shabby place in Pulau Ubin lor.

Kong Qiao Way.

LOL... guess you didnt understand my reply to you. asking in forum to check general feedback = wanna do the boycott?? [hur]

I disagree. I feel it is because we have people who think like you that is why they lost the elections. [rolleyes]

Anyway, I feel this is going to be another gahment bashing session. If you are so unhappy with owning a car in spore, then just shove it.