Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 My car is only over 1 year old. (Hyundai Accent) Cold scale from 1 to 10(coldest) Stock (Cold 8) added Super fuelmax. (cold 8) (day 1) Then COOL grounded my car, more powerful and the aircon colder. (cold 9)(day 2) added K & N filter (cold 9) (day5) change original Champion plugs to NGK (cold 9) (day 10) added STP Complete fuel system cleaner, the silver color one on a half tank of shell 98 and top-up full (cold 9) (day 15) day 18 - cold 7 - got some wet, moist smell now improvement mileage and still got half tank with STP. I park in sheltered car park all the time. Any experts care to diagnose what is causing this downgrade of the aircon? Is it permanet? What can I do to improve it? Thanks a million. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 time to top up gas liao lah.....and maybe service the aircon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 Only 15 months old and 11K on the road. Do you really think, its the gas? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 Anyway to "see" the gas level for my car? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 I don't see why the super fuelmax, K&N filter, NGK plugs and fuel cleaned have any direct effect to the aircon. It's best to have the aircon checked and maybe serviced. 15mth new car doesn't mean the aircon cannot give problem. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 Yup... Check your gas.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 there is a round clear cover connector to the aircon.....you should not see bubbles....if got bubbles mean no gas liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duadua2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 u mention about the wet mois smell.i think there's a leak somewhere.i have this prob b4 too.go n check with air-con specialist.the leak is not big but will reduce ur gas eventually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 OK. Thanks. I'll try to find that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 "Anyway to "see" the gas level" Hi! there, Jimmyl, There's no way to see the level of the a/c gas. Usually, the a/c techs will take a look at the inspection glass window. This will show the flow of the a/c gas through the system. If it looks like clouds passing by, caused by air bubbles, at high rpm, then it's time to top-up the gas. If there's no cloud passing, there's a leak somewhere, and your a/c is not cold. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 "..Anyway to "see" the gas level for my car?.." Yes,there is. There's a little round window on the the condensor (or is it evaporator, correct me if i'm wrong...). It shld be white when the a/c is on. If u see bubbles, it means gas is low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 Like that charm liao. How much did you spend to fix that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 I hear my engine/fan sound go up and then cloud flies over for a while then less sound and it was clear. Then got some bubbles . Still got clouds also. What do ya think? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 I could see bubbles and sometimes white clouds. Do you think there is a leak? Aircon is still consider cold leh. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 sounds like gas is low. do the easy remedy and get it topped up first. if bubbles appear again soon after, definitely got leak then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 "Still got clouds also." Hi! there, Jimmyl, Like Soya says, go and top-up the a/c gas. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duadua2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 go n ask the specialist to check for any leakage.they will know wat to do.they will check thoroughly including the air-con condenser n piping. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...