Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 Scratch hog? Did U manage to see the bottle label? Yes. The service assistant showed me the container and the white powder -- as well as the applicator. I found the picture and the product on the internet, but still haven't figure out how to buy it. (attach picture on the bottle) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 Scratch hog? Did U manage to see the bottle label? Another thing u can try is to wipe down the windscreen with WD40. Do not spray WD40 directly .. spray it on a cloth and wipe the windscreen .. and before the WD40 dries, wipe OFF the WD40 with a wet cloth first, then use a chemical wipe which does not leave residue e.g. Autoglym Fast Glass. KAH Motor service guy told me that this works if the wipers are juddering due to road oil film or tar .. but will not work if it is silicon deposits. Basically he had the same problem on his own car, and also tried everything .. and the only thing that worked was that Scratch Hog thing. No wonder 'cos it removes a few molecular layers off the original glass surface! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 Scratch hog? Did U manage to see the bottle label? forgot to say .. he told me that the way to identify whether it is silicon deposit is to see whether there are white marks left where the wiper judders. This can be seen from inside the car. If there are while marks then confirm silicon. You can also see it if u wipe the windscreen with a wet cloth in a bright day and see the reflection off the windscreen. He said silicon deposits will leave spots of white marks where the wiper will exactly skip over. No reason for him to bluff me .. so I guess it is correct .. he fixed my problem and didn't charge me a dime. Also no reason for marketing hype 'cos he can't even tell me where to buy the darn thing! I have a STTTTTRRRRRONG feeling that my juddering problem is caused by those so-called car grooming places. I never went back to any of them after KAH polished the windscreen. Now I Zaino the car myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Author Share April 24, 2002 My windscreen is definitely stained with silicon deposits as the wiper judders leave a white film every sweep. Now, where to find scratch hog??? Seeing it on the net, it's kinda like an industrial product which is not sold at online shops Perhaps can find a similar glass abrasive locally, time to start hunting! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 Trick is to find some abrasive that will not scratch the windscreen. If full of scratches .. worse! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 Wah Pahciao, you nick is damn cool man! You oso damn expert in wiper shuddering.... WD40 can remove the problem? Very refreshing! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 Eeer... nick came from Quak'ing. Always miss. I not expert.. I just repeat wat KAH Motor guy tell me. The WD40 I guess is just an organic solvent to dissolve tar. Any organic solvent that doesn't react with the glass would work I guess. But he told me silicon bonds with glass and nothing will get it off. Don't ask me the chemistry .. maybe a phd chemist in the forum can explain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 24, 2002 Share April 24, 2002 My windscreen is definitely stained with silicon deposits as the wiper judders leave a white film every sweep. Now, where to find scratch hog??? Seeing it on the net, it's kinda like an industrial product which is not sold at online shops Perhaps can find a similar glass abrasive locally, time to start hunting! Read somewhere (I tink the Rain-X thread) got a place that polish car windscreen to remove scratches. I guess it works on a similar principle to removing a thin layer of glass. Maybe if u try everyone's cookbook and still get juddering can try getting them to polish your windscreen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 25, 2002 Author Share April 25, 2002 Now wondering who in Singapore does glass polishing?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pahciao Neutral Newbie April 26, 2002 Share April 26, 2002 Called the service assistant at KAH to find out where they buy the Scratch Hog. Here it is: DJS Auto Hardware 10 Ang Mo Kio Ind Pk 2A #05-07 Singapore 568047 Tel: 97307550 (Derrick) He said ask for "Windscreen polishing powder". Hope it helps. Good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 26, 2002 Share April 26, 2002 TB just saw in a car accessories shop that Autoglym sells a glass polish which actually polishes the glass of all the oil. Seems pretty good and it costs about $12. NAturally its called Autoglym Glass polish! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie April 26, 2002 Share April 26, 2002 Why you need to polish it for? I have a little bit of Alcohol for cleaning. If you want to use it to clean you window do let me know. But limited qty as it is given to me by someone. Now wondering who in Singapore does glass polishing?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 26, 2002 Author Share April 26, 2002 Thank PC, I'll contact Derrick about the powder. If it works then time to have a MCF windscreen polishing session! Hopefully this will be the lifesaver! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 26, 2002 Author Share April 26, 2002 I have the autoglym glass polish, cannot make it leh...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 26, 2002 Share April 26, 2002 Oh no good ah? Lucky never buy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 26, 2002 Author Share April 26, 2002 Whatever windscreen polishing liquid or chemical I tried, if U need some just come to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 26, 2002 Share April 26, 2002 Ok thanks for the offer Apparently it doesnt work huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 26, 2002 Author Share April 26, 2002 I'll get some of the Scratch Hog powder recommended by PC, will try with the orbital buffer and see how's the results.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...