Guarantor Advise Needed.

Mr_pee

ya gd point..

yeap oredi tell her to standby 3 mth installment if owner play punk.... [thumbsup]

he had left us with no other choice but to go to his hs to talk with his parents...

hope they are not the kind that will say " u anihow agree to my son demand then u solve ur own prob" die ah like dat....

need to tell the parent to find other gurantor...

my fren is willing to give him at least 2mth to find replacement...

Yeap.. we got a spare key...

wanted to take the car away from him if he skip payment...

maybe let other ppl continue instalment or just rent it out....

but oso later got other prob... so i think betta remove the gurantor name betta...

can. offer to pay half of the o/s amount lor and withdraw her name. the bank should allow.

stupid idea but possible.

Can it actually be done, since I thought being a guarantor means being accountable for the whole sum. So unless the whole sum is settled, would the bank let the guarantor off by just paying half of the outstanding amount?

possible. on compassionate grounds. and also if she had paid half the sum. the value of the car + body should cover the rest.

What if go to the bank and declare that you lost your job??? Will they ask the car owner for another guarantor???

they will ask for another guarantor but will still not take out the old guarantor. in the case of loans, the more guarantors the better.... [laugh]

My suggestion is for your friend to notify the guy's parents and see how it goes. Consult a lawyer if it is not working out, but check out the lawyer's fee before committing to anything. Bottomline is get the Swift out from the guy's hand once he failed to pay up.

I was a guarantor for a shipping company and sxxt happened when the owner failed to pay up one of the trucks. Imagine that my intention was to help my friend in the business, not only do I not get any benefits from his business, I was rewarded to pay for his truck when he went bankrupt.

Please do not be a guarantor in any way. Ask her to pull her guarantor status out as soon as possible.

a true friend will not ask you to be a guarantor for anything. He would not want to put such a burden on you.

I was asked once by a friend to be a guarantor for a renovation loan. My excuse: cannot, wife don't allow me to be guarantor for anybody. Wifey uses the same excuse- that I won't allow - if asked too.

Is she the owner of the car, if yes then write a AR resgistered letter to the guy to release the car back to her on a certain date...if he did not return on the date line, report to the police....IMO

Guest Julio369

a very good excuse. [thumbsup]

but the ppl who asked must be cursing & swearing... mia chio kong mia chio, mia kong LC wuai.

Initially what made your friend agree to pen in to be his guarantor????? Assuming she is above 21 and is old enuff to weigh the importance of situations and how hard tat person need help????? Buying a car to me definitely not a life and death situation and lookin at the situation right now. Perhaps tat guy isnt so much as a slacker like U claimed but to look for another person to switch as a guarantor , almost mission impossible????

Im not discouraging people to sign on as another guarantor but before doing so gotto to be fair to urelf as well as the other person who is taking the loan. A guarantor is the one who will burden the payment is loaner gone mia . On the other hand, if loaner is really in need of help urgently , rather cruel to reject help also ????? :o :o

To TS,

Live within your mean, help within your ability, dont "Mud buddha cross the river" cant help but drag urself and you next-of-kins down...

On the other hand, if loaner is really in need of help urgently , rather cruel to reject help also ????? :o :o

But who help you ?