Singaporean jailed for nothing while entering the States

Cthulhu

Wah! Chickenfarm also Hak nyin ah!

Teow ngia sea-food!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

[flowerface]

anyone out there who knows what's "teow ngia see-food"?

chk list:

1. chickenfarm

2. cthulhu

3. mazdaowner?

4. scoots?

Edited by Cthulhu

My great grand father was from Mei Yen, so I gather you amd me not very far away. I pronounce rice the same way as you do.

Now have to drama a bit....BROTHER!!!!!!bigcry.gifbigcry.gif

laugh.giflaugh.gif

Dun noe wat hak am I but definitely not Tai Pu hak cos pronunciation different. For us, Rice is pronounced as "fun" and not "fon" and chicken is pronounced as "kai" as opposed to "kei".

Heard from my paternal granny that we came from a place known as "ka lat chiew" which is near to Mei Xian if I'm not mistaken flowerface.gif

I only have this to say: Soot ti bo but ti ar? laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Since we are OT, I join in;

My pa is hainanese, ma is cantonese. We were staying with our maternal gm who is also cantonese, so naturally we all spoke cantonese. I always tell people I am cantonese, even my ic stated cantonese.

After many a gf(win3.1, win95, wim98, winME, win98SE), I finally decided to settle with winXP. Guess what? She is a pure hainanese. I believed in retribution thus - my long passed-away father must have punished me for ignoring my roots.

If all the hakka bros in MCF go for one Hakka meetup, I tell you, they will have to get the red van to come after all of us, for using all those "special" terms we use to describe people we "like" laugh.giflaugh.gif All the sea food la, hap lon la, chu pai hoi far. lipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

Wah! Chickenfarm also Hak nyin ah!

Teow ngia sea-food!! laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

flowerface.gif

ngia sea-food lah...

hahaha! i have not heard that in ages!!!!

sigh... seriously, all these hakka phrases bring back memories of my beloved grandma who spoke the dialect to me... bigcry.gif ...now i laugh & cry at the same time... sigh... Posted Image

Laughing out Loud sarcastically.

You guys with the "Lee's" and "Tan's" and "Wong's" are so paranoid about entering the US when even before the 9/11 people like me with the "Muhammad's", "Abdul's" and "Al-Attas" have always been targets for customs immigration to make a fool out of us.

Don't make me laugh.

I no go meetup la, gym everyday one. ifnot, wait wife tou my see-food. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

when's next meetup that u all r attending? i wanna meet u guys!!! wave.gif

I only noe this phrase [laugh]

Heard alot of these in Taiwan (Hukou plateau) when i was there for Exercise Starlight [nod] Down there is like a mini hakka province cos hakkas aplenty [thumbsup] But I being a lousy hakka spoke only bits and pieces with mandarin chum chum [laugh]

Tashi? Thatfelow lousy la, onlyknow hwo to eat sea-food, donno what is sea food. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

bigcry.gifbigcry.gifbigcry.gifwave.gif

500 yrs ago...you, bro Tashi and I were it ka ngin laugh.gifflowerface.gif

I was in Starlight as well. Taiwan got lots of Hakkas, miaoli and chungli got. forgot to add, my Taiwanese gf also hakka.

But damn possessive one. Go where, have to tell her, everynight have to call her. knn, sian, worse then report RP.