VPOST

Davidklt

Yeah... I ended up paying ~$300 shipping for an item from the US due to the volumetric weight ... too bad, bo pian as the retailer does not ship outside of the US. [:/]

They will always take either one, whichever have the higher charges.. thus must calculate weight and volumetric and see which one they charge.

a lot of people didn't know and kena expensive lessons..

I try to avoid using VPost these days, they charge courier rates (or even higher) but end up only get air mail speed and service. Have used Vpost a few times and have stopped using them after the following experiences :

- slow turnaround; matching invoice and physical goods already takes 1 - 2 days in the US.

- shipment time; again very slow, like air mail speed only, and tracking service only available after goods reaches SG.

- delivery; if missed delivery, needs 2 working days to reschedule another delivery, so I collected from Paya Lebar personally instead.

- reliability; delivered wrong item to my place once, another time, sent letter via SingPost to inform me of missed delivery, 3 days wasted ...

In summary, for the price they are charging, they are not backing it up with matching level of service, so I just avoid using them.

does registering an account for borderlink have any monthly or annual fees? or only pay when you ship something ?

its free. its a tie-up with Citibank so all charges must be made with their credit card.

depends.. another alternative is comgateway where I used them to ship rims and my ipod controller.. Fast and cheap.. They took 1 week to fly in the rims while Vpost will take 4weeks to ship in. Price are comparable to Vpost

but I also know one brother here that uses them and have a lot of headache..

just curious, how much it cost to ship rims to singapore?

Forget Vpost.....

Sometimes send them invoice, but they could not match with the item and ask again.

Then after telling them which to match, they take days to come back.

I have an item arrived at Vpost since last week, and until today, they still haven't give me the shipping charges yet.

Very slow in processing an item after the item had arrived in Vpost USA.

Yeah, they got me by the balls ones, I shipped my stuff by accident to them, took them back and forth to match

the stupid invoices which I kept sending to them, and they not receiving. Called the call center in Singapore and

fired them up, they gave me 25% discount on the shipping, but shipment was already late by 2 weeks.

Borderlinx never, ever, had any problems, every month 5-6 shipments on time and far cheaper then Vpost.

depends.. another alternative is comgateway where I used them to ship rims and my ipod controller.. Fast and cheap.. They took 1 week to fly in the rims while Vpost will take 4weeks to ship in. Price are comparable to Vpost

but I also know one brother here that uses them and have a lot of headache..

I agree that Comgateway is definitely faster than Vpost, and furthermore being able to track your package at any time lets you estimate quite accurately when it will be delivered. Vpost on the other hand is hopeless and slow, the tracking doesn't show any info at all even tho their customer service tells me it is on its way to Singapore. [thumbsdown]

However I did experience Comgateway arbitrarily charging me GST on a heavier shipment even though the actual CIF value was below $400. Instead of taking the actual freight charge paid they just used an arbitrary formula of $9++ per kg, pushing the total over $400. Complain to them also they not interested to hear. [shakehead]

just curious, how much it cost to ship rims to singapore?

Can't really recall with looking at my invoice but I think it's about $600+ for 4 pcs

Yeah, they got me by the balls ones, I shipped my stuff by accident to them, took them back and forth to match

the stupid invoices which I kept sending to them, and they not receiving. Called the call center in Singapore and

fired them up, they gave me 25% discount on the shipping, but shipment was already late by 2 weeks.

Borderlinx never, ever, had any problems, every month 5-6 shipments on time and far cheaper then Vpost.

actually hor, to be fair, most courier company can be a butt hole when things goes wrong.. otherwise, it can be a pleasant affair. I still got friends that swear by Vpost coz it have not failed them..

I agree that Comgateway is definitely faster than Vpost, and furthermore being able to track your package at any time lets you estimate quite accurately when it will be delivered. Vpost on the other hand is hopeless and slow, the tracking doesn't show any info at all even tho their customer service tells me it is on its way to Singapore. [thumbsdown]

However I did experience Comgateway arbitrarily charging me GST on a heavier shipment even though the actual CIF value was below $400. Instead of taking the actual freight charge paid they just used an arbitrary formula of $9++ per kg, pushing the total over $400. Complain to them also they not interested to hear. [shakehead]

Must read their T&C properly lor.. all these must be settled before shipment come in.

They also want to levy GST on my stuff but in the end, their customer svc look thru my order forms and adjust it downwards..

They also do conceiage-style shopping on behalf coz certain website in US only accept US credit cards.. so far, I have been happy with them

actually hor, to be fair, most courier company can be a butt hole when things goes wrong.. otherwise, it can be a pleasant affair. I still got friends that swear by Vpost coz it have not failed them..

But I'am being fair, I swear AT Vpost. not by only what. [laugh]

Must read their T&C properly lor.. all these must be settled before shipment come in.

They also want to levy GST on my stuff but in the end, their customer svc look thru my order forms and adjust it downwards..

They also do conceiage-style shopping on behalf coz certain website in US only accept US credit cards.. so far, I have been happy with them

Thats my point their T&Cs never stated that the Freight in the CIF calculation was not the actual freight cost I paid, but some figure they pulled out of the air with a formula not stated anywhere. Anyway, I've gotten over the unhappiness (have to, since they ignored my complaints about this). [lipsrsealed]

That aside, agree that they are certainly miles better than Vpost, which I've tried recently again after a long long time, and am swearing never to use again... [laugh]

Thats my point their T&Cs never stated that the Freight in the CIF calculation was not the actual freight cost I paid, but some figure they pulled out of the air with a formula not stated anywhere. Anyway, I've gotten over the unhappiness (have to, since they ignored my complaints about this). [lipsrsealed]

That aside, agree that they are certainly miles better than Vpost, which I've tried recently again after a long long time, and am swearing never to use again... [laugh]

I notice that their FAQ is not as comprehensive as before that got all the formula and calculator.. :(

My exp with Vpost okie ... ordered item in US, delivered to Vpost USA within 2 days, sent to SIN within 5 days (over X'mas/New Year period) and delivered to my place within 2 days after making payment.

UOB card has 20% discount for shipping charges above $40.

I guess it depends on luck .. the invoice needs to be matched with the item and it shd be hassle free.

The online calculator I used was accurate and paid as per my calculations ... although hoped that the rates can be a little cheaper :)

Vpost is reliable but pls double confirm and check before you place an order for bulky items. The shipping charges can get insane and often cost more than the item you purchase for.. esp when you buy using Credit Card.

have used VPost twice in the last 3 months. first time was quite smooth, once goods arrived SG, its delivered within the next working day.

second round was frustration, when I checked status, goods arrived SG on 1 July, but earliest they can deliver was 6 July ... [shakehead]. when I called VPost they just said as per the T&C they have up to 8 working days to deliver from date of payment. sigh ....

a bit disappointed, pay courier charges but get normal post office standard.

I go with Borderlinx....the best by far/..you can track your shipments and from USA to doorstep 3 days max