Rickster 5th Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 I agree, generally alot of SGreans are not happy with the current generation of P*P leadership. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 He had also predict the downfall is coming.Didn't we see it on the news...Hahahaha.But i think less than 5yrs,the future look bleak...... More poor pple in spore now but not offically define by our govt and Govt so need more GST and ERP revenue to help the poor. But wait all the increase hit the poor more ever with every basic essential stuffs rising......back to square 1 or even worse for the poor......sign Can't depend on Govt to help us aiyah, LKY cannot predict sh1t lar.. he think what? 2 is enuff? fine pple and the stop Farking? just use protection liao. now ERP fine road user, will they stop driving? like the former case, unless you chop off their co-ck, pple won't stop farking. but lately his doom prediction getting chun. he predict the elite getting complacent, and home team straight away fulfil his prophecy. now he predict 5 yrs to ruin sgp, i think he means this current term of 5 yrs of pap rule. by the next GE, sgp already down the rut. even if vote oppo also no use, both side also cannot save dead horse. hahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 sometimes i really wonder are we living in a democratic country?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derricklim87 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 but lately his doom prediction getting chun. he predict the elite getting complacent, and home team straight away fulfil his prophecy. now he predict 5 yrs to ruin sgp, i think he means this current term of 5 yrs of pap rule. by the next GE, sgp already down the rut. even if vote oppo also no use, both side also cannot save dead horse. hahahah This is a GOOD way to provide the best excuse shld the fearful result materialise in 4 yrs time...he knows that we are on (no!..should say the WHOLE WORLD except maybe CHINA and INDIA) in on the down down slope...so if the alternative government is FORM, there is also no way that they can save us (or the WORLD)...so at that time, they can say..LOOK...it's becoz you chosen them to lead... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 (edited) He had also predict the downfall is coming.Didn't we see it on the news...Hahahaha.But i think less than 5yrs,the future look bleak...... Can't depend on Govt to help us He mentioned 5 years is all it takes to destroy Singapore... My questions are 1) Are we idiot ? 2) Yes..we are idiot that we have been spending tonnes of $$ to employ these HIGH calibre pple to build / manage our homeland to build something that would only last at most 5 yrs if it falls in the wrong hand......so sad isn't it. 3) Or this is the 1st warning sign that GE would now be at an interval of >>> 5 years in order to protect our home ? Edited June 28, 2008 by Ah_dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 erp can never be effective if car population is allowed to continue to grow. it also just pushed the drivers to other roads, thus jamming up those roads. the most effective way to improve traffic is 1. improve public transport dramatically, 2. reduce the car population instead of allowing it to grow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 My suggestion to improve road congestion is to curb car ownership.. 1) slap a 30% downpayment on all new car purchase 2) For COE renewal - 50% downpayment of the PQP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Last time min is 30% downpayment. It can filter off some buyers that are not really ready ($$) to own a car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 Too bad spore will not use back their old policy as this will sia sway the minister tat change the policy. Maybe change to 10% down payment and 8 yrs max loan. Can filter off a bit . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 I guess u echo the sentiments of many SGreans. Pay to get stuck, instead of pay to travel non-congested roads. Pride and ego at work They r still experimenting the price sensitivity of sporean driver. Confirm will up ERP pricing again looking at the current jam. ERP will only effective if the price is so ex tat ppl dun dare to drive their car or think twice or thrice before driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 roads are for rich people to use in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 Making owning a car less accessible to the less well-off is not the long term solution. Short-term it will be effective. But not for long, cos such a policy('only-the-rich-can-afford') will not go down well with the general public. How would you react (assuming you don't fall within the top 5-% of the population) if only the top 20% of the population can afford to drive to work, only the top 50% can afford a car, etc.... I still feel that shifting to a more usage-bias policy from a ownership-bias one is a good idea. But such policy have to be a holistic one. For example:- - a good, affordable and comprehensive public transport system has to be in place, - ERP charges for usage of car should not be applicable to all area. It should be restricted to expressway leading to the CBD and major roads which fall within a given radius of the CBD, - there must be other major roads/expressway that allow motorists to get across the island without having to use the expressways that lead to the CBD. eg a ring road around the CBD. I feel LTA's latest moves are just timed badly eg. absence of a good and improved public transport, high inflation, bad economy outlook, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 also very bad land planning. i also think LTA's move is not just timed badly, they are also badly thought out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 (edited) I am an idiot... i did not see this thread... and its related... anyway i sent of an email to the ST forum a few mins back and copied and pasted the content of the letter here. This is my thread on it http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/ERP%2C_Con...432717/#2432717 Edited June 29, 2008 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 ... I feel the authority should set the record straight on the purpose of the ERP. So far, with limited and a clear idea of what ERP is for, for people on the street, it looks like the authority are shifting their goal post over the years. They did. It's supposed to even out the traffic flow across all the possible routes and options. Just that someone either someone at LTA has no vision or is just plain lazy and thats why localised congestion (I know, I know, a lot of localities ) and vehicle usage are lumped together and a single policy of ERP is used to try and control both when they're actually two separate issues and should be addressed as such. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear June 29, 2008 Share June 29, 2008 Won't doom 1 la... 110% comfirm chop our govt will save us, because they have good salary + good brains We just pay taxes and $$$ then go sleep liao... let them do all the worrying ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...