Another complain Queen on MRT!

Leepee

But there are some genuine sleeping cases.

There was once when i fell asleep on the train. When i woke up, i found a pregnant lady standing right in front of me. I immediately gave her my seat and she gave me the disgusted face as if i was pretending to be sleeping. [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

Ya man. I had quite a similiar experience, many yrs back i offered my seat to a pregnant lady however she gave me a disbelief looks and thinking "sure nor not? so nice" even without saying a simple "Thank You" [:|]

I hope you are not discouraged by that. Just do what is right on your part.

There can be possibly many "not-so-happy" scenarios that may turn out from your kind offer.

- "Hey, I am not pregnant, just fat. Curse you for insulting me"

- seat taken up but only to find she alight next stop and someone else takes over.

However, all these reasons should not be stopping us from offering our kind and gracious gesture and caring thoughts.

no lah... people giving up seats are isolated incidents.

When my wife was pregnant, she had the same gripe. That's why now I am the family taxi driver as much as possible. Social grace is not one of the strong points in Singapore.

Isnt it the same as, for every speeding car we take it they are on an emergency?

Innocent till proven guilty. And in this case, the lady and you have branded them guilty but not without reasonable doubt.

So can i say, if all guy frens i know like to 2 time, i can also take it as you also a 2-timer?

PS: i also not accusing you or anyone of anything [;)]

You are right, we should do what's right AND not let little blunders or bad experiences put us down! [nod] Let's continue to care and be kind.

i think social grace starts from home and not start by having fines or campaigns...it shld b in u naturally...

I also got the same fate as u...cos my wife 7 mths preggy but still cant see she is pregnant...only thing is she gained weight.. [sweatdrop][lipsrsealed]

Yes, everyone of us pay for the train fare. But I believe that fact does not mean we cannot make a little sacrifice for those who need a little more help like pregnant women.

Let's treat every old lady like our mother and every pregnant woman like our sister or wife. In that stage of their life, standing in a moving train is really much more demanding.

Pregnant women are not only heavier, their bodies are undergoing a lot of hormonal changes. It would be very sad if someone loses her unborn child because of a fall in the train.

What goes around, comes around. Your kind deeds will find their way back into your life.

[:)]

really feel sad on how some Sporeans turn ugly or shld i sae low class man...

For me i always give up seats for the needy...

I believe in lighting the lives of pple who r in the dark when u r in the brightest stage in life...

If u attend to extinguish my light i make sure u dun exist.... [lipsrsealed]

Just to side track abit on this matter.

Just last week, I decided to take a MRT ride to city area in view of rising fuel charges, enormous carpark charges and ERP charges to run some errand.

To my surprise, upon reaching every station, the incoming passengers quickly rushed into the cabin without giving the outgoing passengers the chance to alight first.

I last took the trains way back in 1998, 10 years down the road.. this ugly behavior hasnt changed much. [hur]

I travelled a lot, not to mentioned faraway places, even our neighboring countries like Bangkok and KL, the people over there execute far better manners when travelling on their public transport. It's really a pleasure to travel on their public rather than ours!

come to think of it, partly because of the door closing time... if they could do something abt it, i m sure pple behaviour will change...

whenever i send my car for polishing n take train to town, i will juz bang thru those kiasu pple...i will know turn my body to the side to pass, i juz bang thru straight on n step on legs...

You seem to be stressing on legality and law.

In the eyes of law, no one is wrong in this incident. I am talking about being gracious and caring. An individual with less care and thoughts for needy folks is not guilty, is he?

I am interested to know your answer for the following and I hope that you could answer them.

1. I asked if my assumption is fair. Is it a fair assumption?

2. You wrote "if all guy frens i know like to 2 time, i can also take it as you also a 2-timer?". Is it a fair assumption?

Nah... not quoting law. Just IMHO the stand on 'innocent till proven guilty' should stand when looking at things.

1. I will say no. Because i believe in giving people the benefit of the doubt.

2. It is confirm not a fair assumption. It is just to state a similar example to your assumption.

Everyone also pay for the Fare

Got seat I sit First

Wan to sit Must Wait [rolleyes]

Wow! [thumbsup] Keep up this amazing mentality!

GOT SEAT I SIT FIRST BECAUSE I ALSO PAY MAH!

Such ugly side of humanity that you and your kind exhibit! [thumbsup] Simply amazing!

Bo Pian , Is like that [rolleyes]

When I was in Australia doing my degree many many years ago.

One day I was having so many things with me due to project/study needs and when the moment I got up the bus, a young man offered his seat to me immediately, saying that it would be safer for me to sit down since my hands were full.

Back in Sillpore.....wait long long.

he is worried about his safety, in the event that stuff drops on him huh.. laugh.gif

Nah... not quoting law. Just IMHO the stand on 'innocent till proven guilty' should stand when looking at things.

1. I will say no. Because i believe in giving people the benefit of the doubt.

2. It is confirm not a fair assumption. It is just to state a similar example to your assumption.

I also believe in giving people the benefit of doubt. It's just that I don't believe in the probability that 100% of those seated down there are more needy compared to this pregnant lady.

For this belief of probability, I think it is fair/reasonable to assume that NOT ALL of those seated in the MRT cabin have greater or equal needs than the pregnant lady.

However, you think otherwise and it is clear that you have a different viewpoint from mine.

I am sure we can agree to disagree on that.

What's with these pregnant women? They think they are carrying some heir to the Lee throne? They pay the same amount of fare as other passengers leh.

If want to seat all the way to your destination, the correct transport to take is call the Taxi.

I would like to thank every ungracious, selfish, low-class commuters that plague our buses and MRTs. They are a source of motivation for me to do well in my career and now I can afford a car.

So now I can ferry my wife and kids around in comfort. Yes, the cost of car usage is high, but for the comfort and better quality of live, it's well worth it. Most of all I can afford it.

While most of the ungracious, selfish, and low-class commuters will probably be relying on our world-class public transport to bring them from point to point for a very very long time.