Estrangable 5th Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Hi all, just bought the samsung omnia HP...got to admit i really catch no ball on how to use it, esp the GPS function. GPS is free or need to pay?? GPS is something new to me Any one is using this phone? The GPS is using navifone and it was supposed to be free. The question is if i connect to it, do i need to pay charges?? Sorry, I'm really a tech idiot! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 (edited) I think the GPS you have to pay GPRS rates . . . not cheap hor. That's what my colleague told me when he tried the GPS on his N95. Correct me if I'm wrong Use Your Illusion I & II? Edited August 6, 2008 by Vroomtattat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 I think Omnia is GPS not AGPS. only AGPS need to pay cos it is utilising GPRS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 6, 2008 Author Share August 6, 2008 damn difficult to use, this omnia phone...iphone and nokia are so much more intuitive!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syshi Neutral Newbie August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 GPS utilized the Satellite signal, hence FOC... no need to pay as long as able to receive the signal... A-GPS only pay if need to update the satellite status through internet server, which is where the GPRS charges come from. Another option with Omnia, supposed to be able to access the A-GPS server through the Wi-Fi... so, this way will be FOC also... A-GPS will be faster lock in as the satellite location already mapped accordingly... compare to normal GPS which will need to capture the signal manually... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 What phone were you using previously? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 6, 2008 Author Share August 6, 2008 nokia 6000 series. So easy..this one with windows mobile is absolutely killing me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 orrhh? new technology? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Hi, Personally ... I am very used to Windows Mobile. In fact, I can't use other OS liao. Must be Windows Mobile .... not even iPhone for now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 How's the touch screen sensitivity?? Good? Was looking at this phone last weekend. Quite tempted to get it coz it's using Windows CE and the pricing is only 50% of the 3G iPhone.... Plus the styling is very close to the iPhone.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 6, 2008 Author Share August 6, 2008 senstive but i just dun know hoe to set the GPS!!! So frustrating! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Hi all, just bought the samsung omnia HP...got to admit i really catch no ball on how to use it, esp the GPS function. GPS is free or need to pay?? GPS is something new to me Any one is using this phone? The GPS is using navifone and it was supposed to be free. The question is if i connect to it, do i need to pay charges?? Sorry, I'm really a tech idiot! GPS is free, but extended GPS will be charged according to GPRS rates. However, I understand that the extended GPS data downloaded is very small and doesn't cost much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 How's the touch screen sensitivity?? Good? Was looking at this phone last weekend. Quite tempted to get it coz it's using Windows CE and the pricing is only 50% of the 3G iPhone.... Plus the styling is very close to the iPhone.... The touch sensitivity is nowhere close to the iPhone, but I would say it is better than most other WM-based touch phones. There's vibration feedback when you touch the screen, which makes it more intuitive to use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 senstive but i just dun know hoe to set the GPS!!! So frustrating! Bro, if you're using normal GPS, it takes a while for the GPS to fix the location. Sometimes as long as 10 minutes. If you enable extended GPS, it will be faster to fix (about 1 minute). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 I think Omnia is GPS not AGPS. only AGPS need to pay cos it is utilising GPRS. Omnia has both GPS and AGPS ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syshi Neutral Newbie August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 Cold start should not take very long time... Anyway, must make sure that no blockage and at the open area. If any blockage, or inside building, you won't get the GPS to work... More info, you can find at the www.ppcsg.org PPCSG (Pocket PC Singapore). In there, will have section for GPS which you can read more details. Otherwise, you can also refer to www.malsingmaps.com] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear August 6, 2008 Share August 6, 2008 (edited) I bought the Omnia last Saturday, this is my 4th WM phone and since my first, I refuse to go back to symbian.... GPS, it is free, signals are free to air, but for the first initialisation, it may take quite some time. Therefore, best is to use AGPS for the first time. That will incur data download charges. AGPS mean your phone will use GSM signals to interpolate where your current position s and then depending on time of day, will then know which satelittes are in the sky for the phone to pick up the signal to obtain a position fix. For the Omnia, you are porvided with AGIS maps for navigation. AGIS is good in that you could do search by postal code. But the map coverage is only for singapore and Malaysia. For samsung phone, you could download Garmin Mobile XT, which then there are tons of maps for you to use. But these maps may not be free. You could download Singapore, Malaysia maps on malsingmap.com, but the free map is not complete. Further, Garmin Mobie Xt is not completely free, once download and installed, trail period is 2 weeks, afterwhich you will have to purchase the software. But there are resources available on line to go around that, which I will not divulge for fear of being call a sw pirate. Omnia is a wonderful phone, I have no problems with using it at all, in fact it is very finger friendly, no need to use the stylus at all. My previous phone is a Samsung i780 whih I had use for 4 months before purchasing Omnia. The screen is large and on landscape mode is fantastic for GPs usage. Have fun using the phone, get use to it, you may want to register and access ppcsg.com to learn more of the phone. Edited August 6, 2008 by KapitanE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 6, 2008 Author Share August 6, 2008 hi, do u have to go to the website to download the latest maps from the agis website? Cos mine is prompting me to go to download as the maps are obselete. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...