Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 9, 2008 Share September 9, 2008 bro, save ur time n dun need to explain so much to him lah... but careful when u flick ur cig butt to his car... his paper merc can burn by ur cig butt. later he come n look for u at nite den u know. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Germs7 Neutral Newbie September 9, 2008 Share September 9, 2008 http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/s...ry_238573t.html The gist of the article, "While the law doesn't ban other activities, police say multi-tasking motorists can be charged if they drive without due care", and "Motorists who are caught driving without due care and attention can be fined up to $1,000 or jailed up to six months or both". I assume its not only smoking, so even eating, drinking etc can be an offence should anything happen. If this is the case, does that mean that someone who smokes/drinks/eats/etc and happens to get into an accident will get a higher sentence as compared to someone who is only driving? By the way, as a bike rider, I've gotten cigarette burns on my legs, feet, as well as my arms, due to cars in front of me throwing their (ciggie) butts out. Trust me, its not fun. I understand its convenient just to flick it out.. but is it possible to have a quick glance to see whats behind before throwing it out? No offence meant to anyone, just expressing thoughts since this topic came out.. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vamp Neutral Newbie April 21, 2009 Share April 21, 2009 A few times. There was once i remembered clearly it was a white Subaru Legancy beautifully mod with twin exhaust. He threw out his butt when driving and i am pretty sure it bounced back up to my ride's bumper. I wasnt tail gating but his speed of acceleration i think gave his butt enough energy to reach my bumper. Still complain... be grateful the front car driver did not spit and u get greenish/yellowish stuff on ur car..... And yes, u need to revise ur physics.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohler Neutral Newbie April 21, 2009 Share April 21, 2009 (edited) I always see people driving and smoking at the same time. And i think this is inconsideration. While smoking then throw the ash out of the window. After smoking then throw the butt out of the window. Then poor fellow following behind get his front bumper burnt by the butt. Is smoking while driving allowed? Hm..... just wondering. Front bumper, bonnet or any part of the car won't get burnt lah, unless the bugger smoking a sparkler sometimes when i at a traffic light junction and i saw a driver threw out the cig butt out . Somehow i have the thought of walking forward to pick up their cig butt and threw it back at the car. Edited April 21, 2009 by Kohler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 21, 2009 Share April 21, 2009 Yes, it's possible. I'm not a regular smoker, but just occasionally I feel the need to take a puff. I never used to smoke in my car while driving, until the govt banned smoking in carparks. You see ah, I used to take a puff while waiting for the engine to warm up. Multi-tasking. Now that smoking is banned in carparks, I take my puff on the move. But believe it or not, I do look to see what's behind before I flick my butt. I want to make sure there's no biker behind who may kena the butt (and also no mata ). Cars heck care, coz they're not made of paper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whattafarck 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 i only smoke...if i feel an urge to...when riding my bike... looks kinda kool actually...leather jacket..cigarette on lips & slippers on the bike...! hehehe... dun smoke in the car... can't bear the lingering smell afterwards & the risk of the cigarette ambers flying back into the car & burn a hole or two on my back seats! (kena before..on my frens Galant) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Yes, it's possible. I'm not a regular smoker, but just occasionally I feel the need to take a puff. I never used to smoke in my car while driving, until the govt banned smoking in carparks. You see ah, I used to take a puff while waiting for the engine to warm up. Multi-tasking. Now that smoking is banned in carparks, I take my puff on the move. But believe it or not, I do look to see what's behind before I flick my butt. I want to make sure there's no biker behind who may kena the butt (and also no mata ). Cars heck care, coz they're not made of paper. that i agree.. to save time in the morning, i lit up in the car too.. but flick it downwards instead of upwards.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 A few times. There was once i remembered clearly it was a white Subaru Legancy beautifully mod with twin exhaust. He threw out his butt when driving and i am pretty sure it bounced back up to my ride's bumper. I wasnt tail gating but his speed of acceleration i think gave his butt enough energy to reach my bumper. Legacy GT or R comes standard with twin exhaust leh :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 i only smoke...if i feel an urge to...when riding my bike... looks kinda kool actually...leather jacket..cigarette on lips & slippers on the bike...! hehehe... dun smoke in the car... can't bear the lingering smell afterwards & the risk of the cigarette ambers flying back into the car & burn a hole or two on my back seats! (kena before..on my frens Galant) Don't open the rear windows, won't fly back in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 that i agree.. to save time in the morning, i lit up in the car too.. but flick it downwards instead of upwards.. Do ppl actually flick their butts upwards? I flick down but sometimes due to the draft it doesn't just go straight to the ground. If govt never banned smoking in carparks, I would never be puffing on the road. I believe there are others like me too, so sorry la non-smokers, you asked for the ban, now don't complain about the 'side-effects'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Do ppl actually flick their butts upwards? I flick down but sometimes due to the draft it doesn't just go straight to the ground. If govt never banned smoking in carparks, I would never be puffing on the road. I believe there are others like me too, so sorry la non-smokers, you asked for the ban, now don't complain about the 'side-effects'. Ya true. Dun understand the logic of banning MSC smoking. I believe the car exhuast is more toxic compare to our smoke. Might as well ban car start engine unless going up the MSC. Want to come down must push yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Don't open the rear windows, won't fly back in. yea. normally i open my side, partial front passenger and partial rear left passenger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Ya true. Dun understand the logic of banning MSC smoking. I believe the car exhuast is more toxic compare to our smoke. Might as well ban car start engine unless going up the MSC. Want to come down must push yourself. Non-Smokers won't care about that, because they are driving too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accentrix Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 It's allowed. U mean it's allowed to litter. Suggest U do that while driving next to a TP or just throw the butt at any police car next to U while driving on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 U mean it's allowed to litter. Suggest U do that while driving next to a TP or just throw the butt at any police car next to U while driving on the road. I think he meant it is allowed to smoke while driving not it is allowed to litter......... afterall most or all cars actually have ash tray.. usually beside the ciggie lighter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcusiu Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Actually why is talking on the phone is wrong, but smoking while driving is not? Smoking uses one hand, and it also "distract" while enjoying the smoke and feeling the "high". What do you think they're smoking?? Ganja??? Smoking is VERY different from engaging in a phone conversation regardless of holding the handset or on Bluetooth. Depending on the conversation, people can sometimes get agitated + distracted (not paying attention to the road) and worst shocked.....thus causing an accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcusiu Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 1) not sacastic, jut pity u for making urself so stress over such small issue. >>> sorry i was just saying my opinions and not trying to get sympathy here. 2) i know that this is a complain folder but there is a better use of this folder. rather than just complaining others smoking... >>> so complaining others smoking is not a complain topic in your opinion 3) i did not question u, just trying advise u to live at a better place cos i believe SG is not so suitable for u. >>> live in a better place if you remember you indicate for me to live in heaven >>> you mean base on what i written in this thread you are able to advise SG is not suitable for me. Wah liao.....To_be_advised sounds like a Saam Paat Char Bo.....with bad grammer. Oops...did I think Out Loud? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcusiu Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/s...ry_238573t.html The gist of the article, "While the law doesn't ban other activities, police say multi-tasking motorists can be charged if they drive without due care", and "Motorists who are caught driving without due care and attention can be fined up to $1,000 or jailed up to six months or both". I assume its not only smoking, so even eating, drinking etc can be an offence should anything happen. If this is the case, does that mean that someone who smokes/drinks/eats/etc and happens to get into an accident will get a higher sentence as compared to someone who is only driving? By the way, as a bike rider, I've gotten cigarette burns on my legs, feet, as well as my arms, due to cars in front of me throwing their (ciggie) butts out. Trust me, its not fun. I understand its convenient just to flick it out.. but is it possible to have a quick glance to see whats behind before throwing it out? No offence meant to anyone, just expressing thoughts since this topic came out.. cheers So sorry to hear that you got cigarette burns on your legs, feet and arms too is it? May I ask....how did the ciggies burn your feet? Were you riding your bike wearing only slippers or maybe bare feet? As for your legs and arms....it seems to me you mostly ride your bike in shorts and tank top? Pardon me but I'm just curious.... Word of advise, don't ride so close to the side of Cars.....the line you see on the roads are not meant for Motorcycles to follow but as a divider. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...