Boyboy 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 Will two identical horns be much louder (say at least 50% louder) than one set? i ask this because i vaguely remember that for sound volume, it's not as simple as 1+1=2. I'm thinking of installing twin hella supertones or twin stebel nautilus . but wonder whether it will 'cancel out' somehow and not be much louder. sorry if my qn is dumb but i'm not an engineer and i didn't take physics 'S' paper either ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 (edited) only by 3 dB of the highest value not noticeable dun ask me why... my kachang puteh frenz say one Edited September 16, 2008 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Author Share September 16, 2008 they also said it's not noticeable ah? 3db sounds believable. cos decibel is not linear. some logarithmic scale like ph 3 dB may not seem like much on paper, but can help me ask ur "kacang puteh fren" whether got diff or not in real life? if really insignificant then i can just save $$ liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 want so loud for what... get those taxi one lah. loud and irritating.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Author Share September 16, 2008 want so loud to blast at taxi lor.. and errant pedestrians, drivers, etc. but usually i try not to horn at all. horn is for dangerous situations to alert the other party. those who say "be kind to pedetrians" therefore dun horn are simply encouraging them to continue to be complacent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowbell Neutral Newbie September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 If I'm the pedestrain crossing the road and I hear a car horn nearby i will get a shock first. Scary to hear the super loud horn it may not be a good idea to be too loud as people who are stunned may just stone there, hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 (edited) decibels -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decibel what it means is 3dB more is 10x10x10 or 1000 times the power of the initial power. the 3dB equates to 2 times the power ratio. i think its correct lar.. stoopid maths most dual horns, i think it is sold in pairs, one high note and one lower note to reinforce without disruptive wave. anyway see what the horn gurus say. Edited September 16, 2008 by Nolicense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 my kachang puteh frenz say 3dB at 2m distance, if further will b deteriorate more. exactly wat is 3 dB? normal he say is ard 40+ = 50dB so 3dB is like 1/2%.. not noticeable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 Go to KTM at keppel & ask if they got spare horn used on their trains. Sure that wil b more than enough to blast those "deaf, dumb & blind" taxi drivers. If still not enough, try any shipyards for a tug-boat horn. Horn in SG, JB also can hear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 exactly wat is 3 dB? normal he say is ard 40+ = 50dB so 3dB is like 1/2%.. not noticeable. ===================== 3db is about same as a naggy wife of 20 years plus at Dont say "not noticable" cos I assure u it can b damm irritating when u r watching your favourite TV show. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Palmer 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 A 3db gain is roughly double the power already... just like -3db is half the power. it is a logarithmic scale. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 Get those container truck air horn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 agreed. i changed my ody horm to hella ones. the effect is different. u defintiely need 2 horns. the lower one works when u just "toot" your horn...but when u need maximum impact, the 2nd horn kicks in. take note some cars only have one horn when there should be 2. save cost maybe? my old renault scenic was the case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Author Share September 16, 2008 wow.. ok i think i have decided that one set is enough. yeah i want the pedestrians to get a shock . of course i wun anyhow use. in carparks, during slow speed encounters, i usually flash my lights or rev my engine (clutch out) to inform them of my presence. horn blast is for those who dash out without looking, it happens too often for comfort these days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 16, 2008 Author Share September 16, 2008 i was wondering abt two sets. yeah i know one set has two. i suspect my current set of stebel is half dead. i.e. only one 'trumpet' is working Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ep80_dekit Neutral Newbie September 16, 2008 Share September 16, 2008 guess it's also for audio effect. single horn may sound too whimpy? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...