EPL: The Reds Million Pound Flops ...................

Maxus-MIFA9

despite all the rave reviews about ronaldo, he is far from my list of all-time greats of football for the simple reason that he cannot deliver it when the stakes are high. he's good at bullying the smaller teams and my estimate, overwhelming majority of his 42 goals are plundered against smaller teams.

when he plays arsenal and chelsea, his contribution is so-so because he is usually well patrolled by the likes of clichy and cole. in most of the key matches against top team or key tournaments, his contribution is actually quite meagre. the euro 2008 is quite a good example of how he fails to deliver when it matters most.

look at the likes of zidane, maradona etc.....when the stakes are high, their performance turns up several notches.

u fail to address my point. taking a small sample and making conclusion out of a small sample is statistically not significant and incorrect. if you want to argue that NO english player has ever played well under him, think of Ashley Cole. But of course, this is not the point of argument really. Unless, wenger has a higher number of english players under his tutelage before then will your statement hold water.

Well AW is good in polishing raw players and turn them into gems...... [sweatdrop]

He has another batch currently playing in Carling Cup... [sly]

As reported in ESPN Soccernet : Wenger hails 'best ever' Young Gunners

Arsene Wenger has hailed his latest crop of young Gunners as the best he has ever had at the club and backed his charges to reach Wembley after they turned in a scintillating performance on Tuesday night to beat Sheffield United 6-0 in the Carling Cup.

The Arsenal manager named a side with an average age of just 19 and in which the oldest player, keeper Lukasz Fabianski, was a mere 23.

Wenger's faith in youth was repaid as Mexican striker Carlos Vela, 19, grabbed a hat-trick while Nicklas Bendtner, 20, hit a first-half double and 16-year-old Jack Wilshere weighed in with his first senior goal as the Gunners ran out comprehensive winners.

There were also impressive displays from Wales Under-21 midfielder Aaron Ramsey and aspiring full-back Kieran Gibbs, which all left the Arsenal manager confident the club's future is in safe hands.

He had some raw diamonds in his hands which is Mexican striker Carlos Vela, 19, Nicklas Bendtner, 20, Jack Wilshere, 16 and Wales Under-21 midfielder Aaron Ramsey .......

Look like AW is well prepared for showdown with the rest of the top EPL Clubs...... [smash][smash][smash]

wah u really don't give face to him haha...

i think he's not bad player, but hardly worthy of being the best player on planet that he shamefully claims himself to be

See his fark face sibei TL liao. Give face...... TKK lor He nothing special leh except he is a damn good actor n a crybaby

Edited by Kingcopa

he does not seen interested in buying english. so where to get the higher number from?

base on his english purchase or youth player with him, only cole is good. base on the small group, almost all fail. and you can't guarantee that with a bigger group, more will succeed under him. if many more will, what is stopping wenger from going all out to purchasing them?

they did what Kenny Daglish did to Liverpool....

mayb could have stayed for another 2 more years...

suddenly just say go...

but later appear at some other clubs...

Loyal players rare liao...

i admit cantona left abruptly but not to go to another club, he left to pursue stuff only he will understand.

the great dane's departure was sort of expected, his form was not so good. but i think he go man city because of kasper.

u only need to look at the performance of the English team in the last 8 years...who u pick if u are AW?

Even SAF forced to look elsewhere.

Now with the influx of foreign $$ demanding instant success, more FT will be brought into EPL.

The young ones may be have migrate to play in other clubs like OH played for BM before he caught SAF's eye.

Well AW is good in polishing raw players and turn them into gems...... [sweatdrop]

He has another batch currently playing in Carling Cup... [sly]

As reported in ESPN Soccernet : Wenger hails 'best ever' Young Gunners

Arsene Wenger has hailed his latest crop of young Gunners as the best he has ever had at the club and backed his charges to reach Wembley after they turned in a scintillating performance on Tuesday night to beat Sheffield United 6-0 in the Carling Cup.

The Arsenal manager named a side with an average age of just 19 and in which the oldest player, keeper Lukasz Fabianski, was a mere 23.

Wenger's faith in youth was repaid as Mexican striker Carlos Vela, 19, grabbed a hat-trick while Nicklas Bendtner, 20, hit a first-half double and 16-year-old Jack Wilshere weighed in with his first senior goal as the Gunners ran out comprehensive winners.

There were also impressive displays from Wales Under-21 midfielder Aaron Ramsey and aspiring full-back Kieran Gibbs, which all left the Arsenal manager confident the club's future is in safe hands.

He had some raw diamonds in his hands which is Mexican striker Carlos Vela, 19, Nicklas Bendtner, 20, Jack Wilshere, 16 and Wales Under-21 midfielder Aaron Ramsey .......

Look like AW is well prepared for showdown with the rest of the top EPL Clubs...... [smash][smash][smash]

haa...i have the same mindset as wenger...

when i play football manager, i also go around collect all the wonderkids and promising young players...

then will sell them when they reach 26yr old [sly][sly][sly]

anyway it happens in any leagues lah...

in EPL, if one english player is to cross over to another club, his transfer price is sure to be jacked up one...

if inter is to buy barry, i think an offer of 12 million pounds is enough liao...

anyway i read that liverpool and everton are preparing to raid miserable newcastle for michael owen! only 4 million pounds but i dun understand why liverpool wants him back [:|][:|][:|]

he's already over the hill despite only 29...

ya. the english team is crap. [laugh] and for the price to buy a english, that can get a world class player elsewhere.. look at david bentley & darren bent price [hur]

OH is over-rated. i think carrick is better than him and that carrick is one of the most unrated player in the big 4.