Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 it's has been awhile since this track has been opened after it was moved from Premas Jaya, Johore Bahru. Ok, 1st thing 1st, how to get to the new Plentong kart track please look at this: http://obracing.sg/KARTING_tracks_Plentong.html very well done by some bro! next is the final 4.5km leading you into the track. it is a very rocky, ditches and potholes dirt track. see my pic. and as the 4-5 Swifts who try to go in while i was heading out last sunday... some are wonderfully lowered! and better still, ask one guy, who drove his S2000 with semi slick tyres thru the 4.5km. yes, he was preparing for a private track day on Monday at Sepang. very likely he has to change brand new tyresAGAIN just in case the tyres are damaged by the rocks. thus choose your choice of car wisely while going in. a Toyota Hilux will be one wise ride. upon reaching the track, the configuration of it is the 1.1km layout while the rest of the 300m is set to complete next month. see pic for track layout. take note of turn 4, which is the hairpin where many karters got caught out. it is because the straight before it is downhill from the Highest point of the track. speed is very fast so braking has to be either early or very precise. choose the former option to be safe. one karter was very very seriously hurt when he was hit by his fren. gushes at the elbow area are so deep that bone can be seen. both were in fun karts. see pic for the slope and the hairpin. all in all, this track is very exciting because as u will see from the track layout there are 3 straights one after another. u can almost continue full throttle for a long distance. then there is the 3/4 circle. finding the best line there is tricky. and neck is strained to the max at this stretch. well hope to see some bros, and sis there! cheers PS. according to the boss, he MAY get a space somewhere near the track so that in the future those who do not want to drive in can park the vehicle and he will have a van to get u guys in. well, let's wait lor ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 Bro, the red squares in the track circuit shows the fun kart route? Looks more fun than the old circuit. Must give it a try some time. From the road directions given in the website, it looks like we are supposed to head past the old Permas circuit and continue further in? Not sure if cab drivers can find the way, especially with the dirt track. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 24, 2008 Author Share September 24, 2008 hey the path indicated by the read spots are the route everyone is using at the moment. it's fun, as it's very fast. but if you kart alone, it can be boring as the track is wide with the long straights you can be bored. but if u can kart with others, or frens, just take it easy high speed accidents / incidents is no joke there. if u drive, u will past the old Premas track, and then turn left on the junction before Jusco Premas. all the way straight, traffic light turn right. then i think there's a sign to turn left into the Plentong kumpong liao. shortly after, it's WRC time! yes, i have heard that taxi drivers are now willing to bring people all the way into the track. so that shld not be a prob too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Track looks like in the middle of plantation, looks very ulu leh. Definitely not for the fainted hearted and inexperienced, he should put up marker boards and proper run offs to make the track safer Accidents are no joking matter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Author Share September 28, 2008 it IS very ulu but be very surprised that their biz is actually very good just goes to show if the product and services is right people is willing to go anywhere for it if one "fainted hearted and inexperienced" just go slow lor and the grass patch is already the run off areas no need for Huge run off as we are talking abt small tiny little karts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 (edited) hi bro any idea how much the karters pay for the damages? my friend once told few yrs back when they visited the former permas track they were greeted with a very grumpy auntie who quoted them exhorbitant rates and told them in a bery threatening manner, if u damage this, you will pay how much, if u damage that u will pay how much. and when she finish, even b4 they could answer, the auntie jus ask, how ? u want we do it now if not thank you. its ok if shes just reading the T&C. but the tone as they told is not, its more like threatening them with the ai mai attitude. from then on, no one from my side actually wants to go there but furthur up like melaka or batam Edited September 28, 2008 by Ah_tee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 bro, where to get the kart? they rent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Author Share September 28, 2008 i did not ask how much the karters had to pay leh will not be surprised the boss will just bear the repair himself as the injury to the guy is really serious give and take lah, i think. but then again, i dunno hmmm the problem with fun karters are that they sometimes are too gungho in their driving. and during the 10mins of driving they bang into one another or something. upon returning to the track, they just say something like already No Brake leh, Cannot Turn leh, It was already like that le.... etc to me, all these may be true. and if it is true, why dun they return to the pits immediately after one lap and get a better kart? better kart is not a perfect kart. get one that one is comfortable with, rite? maybe that day, some silly arguments occur hence the bad attitude. i'm not siding with them, but i have seen some really unreasonable customers previously. therefore, in a nutshell, as a paying customer do hop into something that u feel ok with. if it's beyond drivability, return and get a another one. or just wait out for the next session. dun be like some cheapo who really damage the kart and try to argue it out. u pay, u enjoy. if u crash & damage, u pay somemore. it goes both ways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Author Share September 28, 2008 yes bro, they have rental karts. check out their site. it's still udner the old name though http://www.permasgokart.com/main.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 is this the track where a woman was killed while karting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Author Share September 28, 2008 CHOY !!!!! err, this is a brand new track lah and the lady died last year in a track somewhere in KL. happened to be my fren's fren Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B0ss Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 The track is more challenging than the old Premas track. There are more undulating terrains with steep downslope ending in a hairpin turn. But some familiarisation drives, you will be able to grasp the racing lines and braking points quite easily. I seriously doubt any cab drivers will drive you all the way into the new Plentong track. At most, they will drop you at the school just before the dirt track. I have resorted to borrowing my fren's 4WD jeep and car pool with my other kakis in... (The route leading to the Plentong track is too painful for my car's suspension...!!!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B0ss Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Yea... the charges for the 80cc fun karts and 390cc karts are still the same as before... I seriously agree with you - some people too gungho in their driving and cause potential danger to other karters on the track... (I was almost forced into the concrete wall near the entrance of the pit when an idiot rammed into me). Have requested Louis to form tyre walls at that spot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 hi bro any idea how much the karters pay for the damages? my friend once told few yrs back when they visited the former permas track they were greeted with a very grumpy auntie who quoted them exhorbitant rates and told them in a bery threatening manner, if u damage this, you will pay how much, if u damage that u will pay how much. and when she finish, even b4 they could answer, the auntie jus ask, how ? u want we do it now if not thank you. its ok if shes just reading the T&C. but the tone as they told is not, its more like threatening them with the ai mai attitude. from then on, no one from my side actually wants to go there but furthur up like melaka or batam guess you are not the only ones, have heard similar stories. a friend had it worst, had to pay quite a fair bit for minor damage to a poorly maintained kart and the chassis was already bent. The boss can say management decision; guess what, the whole group boycott the place from then on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 29, 2008 Author Share September 29, 2008 dun repeat hearsay lah i heard yesterday also that Nelson Piquet crashed purposely so that Alnoso can win.... crazy but who knows??? it's a bloody hearsay. if u experienced it yourself, come share with us all. i am / we are more than happy to hear YOUR stories. the rental kart will not be in tip top condition like a personal kart because there will be a flow of beginners who thinks they are their F1 heros impersonators on a smaller vehicles, and what happen after? lo and behold... at corners, they started to scream and goes WTF.... and crashed. then blamed the karts. every now and then there will be people come on their Big bikes and sports car who says " i know lah, i drive / ride..... leh i know how to control.." when the boss or mech tried to give advices then crashed & crashed again u may think i'm kidding but i'm not. it's different. they do not understand how they can 'control' a beast engine of XXXX bhp but can't even turn a kart of XX bhp around a corner. EGO wounded... have to blame someone or something lor... hence, be responsible for your own actions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B0ss Neutral Newbie September 29, 2008 Share September 29, 2008 Bro, I totally agree with you... However, the rental karts can be in quite poor condition. Too bad, I have no $$ to own a personal kart. P/s: Sometimes, it's not the kart... it's the person behind the wheel... (Power is Nothing Without Control)! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie September 30, 2008 Share September 30, 2008 kart condition is little to be desired, not hearsay. I HAVE experienced myself and they breakdown in such frequency I have not experienced in any other part of the world for rental kart. Chassis twisted, disc rotor have bits broken off, engine to engine power varies so much, etc etc. Those who have been there and stop going there know what I'm talking, they have given up. Not forgetting the arrogant boss and rude workers using hokkien vulgarities on customers You can stand up for them but reality of the poor maint and poor condition cannot be ignored, add the poor behaviour. You make your choice, others have theirs; so do not force yourself onto others cheerio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie September 30, 2008 Share September 30, 2008 "the rental karts can be in quite poor condition." I agree, it's worst than poor, it's pathetic condition ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...