What needs to be done to solve the Credit Crisis ??

Cheekg98

insert new token and try again, use different character, here comes a new challenger!

Aka New world order~ haha

the americans totally lost confidence liao.

when the lose confidence, the whole world lost it as well..

When no bailout plan came out, also DJia also never dropped so steeply.

My view: don't do anything, let the market fix itself.

Natural medicine works better ... [:p]

scared only scared this will lead to another great depression + another great war.

or maybe we go back to stone age.

Anyone watch fight club? haha.

hmm........let's see, if I solved it do I get to the job of Paulson? or annual income of $33M...... don't tell u! unless get paid........just kidding! [thumbsup]

Bro,if we know,we wont be here liao lor... [laugh]

haha .. probably someone can direct this thread to the world financial gurus out there trying to save the global financial markets to have a look here! maybe they can get a solution here.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Save the cheerleader, save the world!

many measures implemented :

- $700bn bailout plans

- Central banks feeding $$$ to boost liquidity

- Banks nationalisation

- Central banks coordinated effort to cut rates

But NONE seems to work sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

what do you think should be done ? flowerface.gif

many measures implemented :

- $700bn bailout plans

- Central banks feeding $$$ to boost liquidity

- Banks nationalisation

- Central banks coordinated effort to cut rates

But NONE seems to work sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

what do you think should be done ? flowerface.gif

hmm..i not too sure.. but with the imminent US presidential elections nearing.. i believe that the NEW president will surely do every possible means to save the economy of US and its ppl.. this may not be a good time for him as this crisis is so near the elections.. but i believe that more 'tricks' are coming up! just MHO...

SWFs viewed as source of stability in spiralling financial crisis

By Channel NewsAsia's US Correspondent Malcolm Brown | Posted: 11 October 2008 0023 hrs phpN2Zl00.jpg Photos 1 of 1 dotline_240.gif

Robert Zoellick Related Videos shim.gifSWFs viewed as source of stability in spiralling financial crisis shim.gif

WASHINGTON: The raging financial crisis is presenting both challenges and opportunities for sovereign wealth funds, which manage an estimated US$2 to US$3 trillion for various national governments around the world.

Participants in this weekend's International Monetary Fund (IMF) meetings in Washington are expected to sign off on a set of guidelines for the funds, designed to address concerns about their role and growing importance.

Singapore has been at the forefront of the effort to promote greater transparency and discourage politically motivated investment.

The role of sovereign wealth funds was already on the agenda for these annual meetings of the World Bank and IMF, but

Seriously, the whole issue is due to banks not willing to lend. Banks get $ from the interbank system, and lend to consumers/biz. Earn from the spread.

Central bank own the bank shares also no use, unless take managemant control and let the credit dept go nuts.

Central bank offer $ to bank, but if bank also dun dare to lend also no effect.

Home mortgage is quite straight forward, but events like Ferrochina case.. bank pull credit line.. company got no facilities to get materials through LC.. no 30 day credit terms.. then biz also no resources to produce.

In today's biz environment, the world needs credit terms to do biz. Right now.. bank are recalling such credit facilities now.

next president will be v helpless cos' no more funds for him to use .... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

maybe he can become a motivator ... to calm americans nerves thru' his soothing speeches rolleyes.gif

now just have to wait for the very cash rich people to start investing in the market again ... Central banks need not do anything ...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Why are markets reacting so negatively to a near trillion-dollar bailout? The short answer is that the Federal Reserve and the Treasury Department have been focusing on the wrong issues," he said.

"They have been treating falling asset prices -- houses, stocks, bonds -- as well as the lack of confidence between banks, as the actual issue. This is the wrong approach. Falling asset prices and a lack of confidence are a result of the underlying problem. You don't cure alcoholism by getting rid of a hangover. You cannot resolve confidence issues by merely cutting rates."

talking abt cash-rich ppl -- i think Warren Buffett is on a shopping spree as if it's the 'SALE' worth waiting for! [laugh]

The siutation needs more HEROES and good citizens to salvage the situation tongue.giftongue.giftongue.gif

Can forsee many banks will be owned by US and British governments .... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

The problem started cos people were greedy. The consumer was greedy to buy homes they cant afford and CEO's was greedy for higher salary so they took risk they shdnt have. Shareholders expected to see higher and higher profits every quarter. So people borrowed & leveraged like no tomorrow. Guess what? Tomorrow came!

I think nothing much needs to be done. Just do a lot of show and tell, and let the financial turmoil sort itself out in about 1 - 1.5 years (provided nothing bad like 9-11 or SARS happens).

yah, the current crisis is due to buble in propoerty and when it burst, the bank burst. Economy was too hot for the past few years, plp spend their money from the future to support the economy growth. The only medicine is time, nothing will cure the current crisis, but the economy will cure itself when time goes...