Shull Turbocharged October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 (edited) Thanks. Seriously considering Lasik now. i am also considering lasik.. wanna go to commercial pilot school after graduation from uni.. but i heard alot of horor story abt lasik leh.. about how much it cost ah? need to start savings now..no lasik, totally no chance to be pilot..go for lasik..have chance.. Edited October 28, 2008 by Shull ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 uhoh, then how now?! Now ah ..... same lor ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 you should go for lasik ASAP before the pilot school best, cause once become cadet pilot cannot lasik liao, if lasik will have to stop working for 3 months, but now i believe they accept trainees with glasses right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 they accept with glasses.. but if i am competing against 10 other person for say, 5 openings..priority will go to those without glasses right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyramid_sg Clutched October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 Hi Rochelle, good that you've decided to go for Lasik. Agree with you that its very important to find a good opthalmologist to perform this procedure. Lasik its not for everyone. You will need to go through a pre eye screening test to determine the thickness of your cornea. They will also test you for your myopia and astigmatism. Finally the opthalmologist will decide if you are a good candidate for surgery and if so they will schedule you for surgery. I did my Lasik surgery under Dr Peter Tseng at the SNEC in 2005. He's a senior consultant who specialises in this field of Opthalmology. Basically the procedure is quite simple and fast. On the day of Lasik surgery they will instill some anaesthetic eye drops and wait for it to take effect. Then you will lie down on this machine where the Opthalmologist will use the Lasik machine to do the surgery. The Lasik machine is calibrated to correct your myopia, astigmatism etc. If you have a high degree of myopia they will do a wavefront in addition to the Lasik for you. The procedure is over in about 15 minutes for both eyes. Most patients won't experience any pain or at most a minor discomfort to the eye. Post op you will notice a marked blurring of vision and won't be able to see for a day or 2. You will be tearing quite lot during these 2 days. Your vision will gradually start to return after that. Sometimes complications may occur post op like glares or halos (bright rings). Some may develop a eagle eye vision. Not all Lasik surgery is perfect but most ends in success. One drawback for all Lasik patients is that at night, the vision is not as good as before. During day time its very good. You will also need to frequently lubricate you eyes with normal saline eye drops. When it gets too dry, you may notice some minor blurring of vision. Hope this helps. PM me if you need more information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 that depends, skills is more important, as eyesight can be corrected but not lousy skills if they have to train the pilot for 2 more years, which is not cost effective, they will still give priority to those with better skills and a more reflexed mind. agree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 but how they judge skills before training even started? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 There is a lot of TCSS(by me??) in http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...2559496#2559496 on lasik.. Even have a nice video link on the actual procedure on lasik.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 ya, saw the thread earlier, dint know about your thread,hehs. i saw the procedure on utube, doesnt really scare except the cutting of the cornea and the chancing of it tearing off when in any kind of incidents! haha. but still i can take it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 that depends on the face to face interview, how you convince confuse and concuss them. haha, and how powderful is your resume. you can do it shull! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 no, implant a 3 tone grey-green-blue eye lens, so i look like ang mo. no la unker, wanna go do lasik, so i can party better, dont have to worry that my contact lens will be dry and move around in my eye. Party better means can see the guys clearer, so u will be spot on if he is really humsum.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 thanks for the encouragement? mind doing it again 2 yrs later? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 If you want to party better with lasik eye, then you must be prepared to accept the fact that your eyesight may not be as good in dim area or at night as before lasik.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 sure, of cause! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 maybe not be as good as it was before lasik, durng or even after it has healed properly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rochelle Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 hehs, not just to see if he is really humsup, alot of different things to see too, hehe. love, rochelle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 Even after healed properly.. night vision will be around 90% of what is before lasik.. But should not have problem driving or seeing yandao.. just that your eye may not be able to adjust as quickly as before.. so by the time your eye adjust, the yandao may turn out to be This is for the "cutting of flap" type of lasik.. Not sure about those PRK lasik, Epi-lasik and lasek.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear October 29, 2008 Share October 29, 2008 (edited) From my understanding, all good doctor will not stay long there. They will eventually open their own eyes clinic. I have been there for eye consultant and whose know, the consultant there didnt help to resolve my problem. Instead, the consultant ask me to perform a major operation (to signoff life, death document on the spot for her operation). Heard from someone, doctor earn ~50% of commission from such operation. I went for 2nd opinion below which is open by our MP. The doctor there manage to cure my sickness without any operation done. The price they charge is cheaper somemore. http://eagleeyecentre.com.sg/specialists/ Take note that Dr Theng was one of only two surgeons in Singapore who was involved in the region's first breakthrough "sight restoring tooth-in-eye" surgery that restored the sight of a blind teenager in February 2004. Edited October 29, 2008 by Axela72 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...