Bigrockshow Neutral Newbie May 6, 2009 Share May 6, 2009 there is a buffet style steamboat chinese restaurant at Vivocity also sucks..quality of food and quantity is not up to par ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fenderbender Neutral Newbie May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 When I used to come out of Maju after IPPT in the evenings, can always smell the cooking. Must admit, it is very tempting after running 2.4 and the timing being just before dinner. (Now MR liao, so no more going there.) Eaten there maybe half a dozen times in my life, the last being nearly 10 years ago. Even then, we were already noticing the chicken bits getting small. Even the bony bit, the chopped off lower part of a drumstick can pass off as a portion. Sometimes half a section of wing. After eating, just a huge pile of oily paper and bones. The smell is nice, but taste wise is ok only and it's very very greasy. I can't remember the other dishes as being anything special. Now, neither do I crave this sort of food or even consider going back. It's just not worth the money, regardless of 'nostalgia'. Not that I care that much for it anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arikevin Clutched May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 shd go JB and eat big feasts, more satisfactions. in sg, jz eat normal 1-meal food will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 The worst Murtabak I had eaten in my life!!! I had fetched my wife from her workplace and decided to go to Mustafa Shopping Centre to buy some groceries, and decided to have our dinner at an Indian restaurant near the shopping mall. The restaurant name is Shafina Cuisine Restaurant. (See picture). We had ordered 1 plate of bee hoon goreng and 1 mutton murtabak. We had been going to the same restaurant for the past 3 years and usually their food is acceptable and their quantity is quite big. But last night we have eaten the worst murtabak in our lives. First of all, the chef did not understand that we had ordered a mutton murtabak with rendang mutton (mutton chunks) despite repeating myself, and after pointing to the curry mutton, he nodded his head. Assuming he understtod my orders, I went back to my seat. We were ecstatic when the food arrived about 10mins later as we were hungry, but when I tear open the murtabak, it still shows minced mutton meat inside (see picture). I made a remark to 1 Indian food waiter and he went over to speak to the chef, although I mentioned to him that I am ok with the minced meat. Voila! He went back to get a small bowl of mutton curry for me!! :angry: (didnt even listen to instructions...sigh) Thereafter, me and my wife proceed to consume our food. The murtabak crust was tasty with buttery taste, but when I had tasted the part with the minced meat and onion portion, I experienced a rancid and sour aftertaste, which means the mutton and the onion had gone bad. I checked with my wife and she too agreed that it tasted funny ( and also slimy ...imagine it!!!) I asked another waiter to come over to taste the mutton and demanded why they had served spoilt food to customers, and demanded him to taste the mutton, but even he himself would not want to taste the food. My wife thereafter mentioned that we just finish the bee hoon goreng and the drinks and leave as the area are all Indian community and no point arguing with them. The waiter went back to check with his colleagues and didnt even give us a discount for the food ($6 for the murtabak , $3.50 for the bee hoon goreng). I swear I will never go back to the same stall again and hope that NEA go down to check on the quality of their food. Luckily me and my wife did not experience any diarrhoea or else I will definitely make a complaint to the relevant authorities. (The restaurant had a "B" rating although we did not take a picture of it). I had alos juted posted the complaint on STOMP and awaits them to publish it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 (edited) Prawn was only 6 pieces. The only decent size is the veg. Faint...how much is vege in market? + sauce +gas...nb Was very very angry...like in black shop and nothin I can do about it!! The address I dun know...but its beside SIM... That old ulu place... Even if you add in rental and salary, you are paying a damn big premium for ordinary food... I had always wanted to try that place but good thing I never got around to it...hahah Edited July 16, 2009 by Xtrocious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coder Clutched July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 was there b4, no 2nd time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gylgyl Neutral Newbie July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 oh i been there before too... i will also never go back to that place again... i find the paper wrap chicken so oily... soak in oil ... s--t quality ... sad to say ... never ver go there anymore after that ... tat was 3years before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Key_word07 Neutral Newbie August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I ever went to eat before with my hubby! Deeply ETCHED in my brain man!!!!!!!!!!!!! my worst every tasted paper wrapped chicken! i remember i dun even taste meat lei...all the chicken i unwarpped all bones parts and so oily!!!! although it really smell nice........but i am paying for food..not for smell wor~~ i remember the fried beancurd too......alamak!! couldn't believe our eyes!!! Tat is the last time we step into that resturant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 Hello, its a restaurant?? I thought indian kopi thiam?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 more like dragon gate inn lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaNibOy Clutched August 26, 2009 Share August 26, 2009 Worst eating place for me? Al Ameen be it at woodlands or bukit timah. Food sucks. Even tried giving them a few chances by going there. End up disappointed everytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear August 27, 2009 Share August 27, 2009 al ameen has been crossed off my list way way long ago..dunno why all those mat bikers like it so much.and so proud even to list in their menu that mat biker groups love their food and place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear August 27, 2009 Share August 27, 2009 al ameen has been crossed off my list way way long ago..dunno why all those mat bikers like it so much.and so proud even to list in their menu that mat biker groups love their food and place. i used to hang out at the al-ameen and al-azhar bukit timah stretch from when i was doing my ns in the early 2000's. back then the stretch was 'dead' compared to today, usually visited only by ppl like me no choice queue up to play pool at beauty world so sit down drink kopi eat prata while waiting for the call on our handphone to say got pool table available. At that time, Al-Ameen served GREAT food and was crowded with people who loved their food. Al-azhar on the hand, served ok-ok food but the ambience was so laid back and quiet it was perfect for sitting down to chat over kopi late night. I watched the place change. Al-azhar's food all of a sudden got better and better and became THE place to be at the stretch. Al-Ameen's stalls kept changing hands and their food just dropped. Today, Al-Azhar still serves reasonably good food, but it has become so popular that my kakis and i no longer find it a good place to sit down and slack. so hard to find table, some more so noisy. i miss when it was quieter. and al-ameen's food is so mediocre i realli think its busy only coz either newcomers mistake it for its lost reputation, or its the people who cant find seats at al-azhar. or die-hard fans from ten years ago who go out of habit rather than anything else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iridrium 1st Gear August 27, 2009 Share August 27, 2009 I was there a few years back, like what everyone said. - Oily chicken - Plain bee hoon with a few strand of veg - Over price - Bad service = Not worth the effort to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear August 28, 2009 Share August 28, 2009 (edited) I am a very happy go lucky person, but wah these 2 places i go cannot tahan their services. 1. secret garden - it was a fren's birthday and i brought a cake along with me. I asked for them to keep it in the fridge for me and they obliged willingly. When the bill came there was a extra $30 charge and i was like wtf haha. I didnt make a big fuss out of it but i asked them why wasnt i informed. They simply said it was a traditional practice zzz. Keep a cake in the fridge is more ex than a pasta. The food there was not bad thou. A bit pricey tts all. 2. Pongol Nasi lemak. I swear i wont go back there again. Queued up for 20 minutes only to be greeted with a black face. Choose long bean blachan, egg and fish patty. Was thinking of ordering something else then the farking auntie say ' Eh can hurry up or not dont waste our time ' Wah i hot liao i say never mind like tt will do. Then it was my gf's turn to order and when she indicated she wanted rice, the auntie say 'wah lau 2 of u ordering dont know how to say earlier ah' LAGI HOT. In the end paid $11 plus for my rice with 3 side dishes and my gf's rice with 3 side dishes. I was like wtf the whole night long. Food tasted like s--t, maybe affected by my mood at tt point of time. Most imptly, expensive like hell. Had to share table with 2 FTs who wore dirty boots ( i didnt mind that la just ranting ) I cant remember the exact location but its by the road side, after kovan i think. Wah go there really vomit blood Oh ya i forgot to add haha i still remember there was this old man who still had his name tag on him, (choo boon something) Obviously he was also not happy halfway thru the meal, he talk loudly to his wife in hokkien ' nothing great what.... whats the big deal about this place' wah me and my gf remember until today Edited August 28, 2009 by Limxiaoming Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear August 28, 2009 Share August 28, 2009 I have heard of the infamous punggol nasi lemak and would nvr thought of trying overpriced nasi lemak, go changi village better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear August 28, 2009 Share August 28, 2009 No no bro i suggest that u go and give this pongol nasi lemak a try. U really won't believe how bad and stuck up someone can be. Just go for experience la haha. Then come back and feedback Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear August 28, 2009 Share August 28, 2009 No no bro i suggest that u go and give this pongol nasi lemak a try. U really won't believe how bad and stuck up someone can be. Just go for experience la haha. Then come back and feedback dun want.. but i heard parking is a nightmare at that area ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...