Transitions lens

Donut

essilor is the "original" (at least in my impression) but dun think $180 is the cheapest. try lee meng. the rate i said is not some "special rate" for regular customers [;)]

in any case, queensway has many other opticians for u to shop ard. but if u like brand name opticians then i guess u gotta pay more

but $240 with frame, might be ok still. my overall cost came up to ard there cos i usually choose some funky frames [laugh]

There are no original or non original brand for photochromatic lenses. They will only turn dark upon reacting with uv ray that activate the ion inside the lens. Basically mean that the ions are inside the lens matrix and not a film on the lens surface. Even if u accidentally scatched the surface, the damage wil only be at the surface with as visible lines. There will still be a slight tint, maybe be about 5% visible. Just place the spec against a white surface and u can tell when u compare with a clear lens.When u are inside the car, the lenses will not turn dark cos there are no UV ray available as most if not all the cars are equipted with uv protected windscreen even thought u may not have solar firm on ur windscreen surface. Transistion is a brand just like Civic is to Honda. Essilor is just another company distributing the lenses in the market. In fact there are many distributors around. eg. Hoya, plasticplus, Carl Zeiss vision just to know a few. Prices varies with shops. Some will sell it expensive, other cheaper. Essilor and zeiss will be slightly more premiem than others. Just like Honda is more expensive than toyota, nissan etc. Thats the way they position their products. Niche market. Hope that can clear all the doubts.

cool info [thumbsup]

one suggestion for those thinking of transitions. u may want to consider a cheap (below $20) polarising clip on as sunglasses. as optom has said, transitions do not darken in the car.

I never did need to wear specs till now... [:|]

Just did mine last week. Transitions lens itself cost ~ $180. Then progressive added on costs another $$200 more. Then + frame = $500. [:/]

Now not wearing it as it makes everything so magnified (makes me dizzy). Even the top portion where its supposed to be 0 degress. [thumbsdown]

Its not cheap to grow old. [mad]

mine does not turn dark in the car, but then again my car film quite dark, dunno that is the reason or not. Even super sunny it does not turn dark at all!

I sort of regret doing transition lens as it will never go back to total clear. Its always slightly dark even in darkness no light at all, so look a bit HEOW IMHO !

Transition lens utilize UV to change colour and since most cars (newer one anyway) come with UV glasses the lens will not change colour inside the car.

The darkest of the tint will depend on the strength of the UV rays. Most optician has a box (UV) to show you the colour change. [:)]

aiyah...never ever walk into spec shop and query transition lenses.........sure kena chop cause transition is one of the brand.............instead ask about photochromic lenses (this is the actual word to use)...they have many brand.......yes some brand will not clear up, it will still have slight tint even at night (that is the cheapo type) so the shops that say this probably trying to sell you cheapo type but with the impression from transition brand.

i've been using photochromic lenses since 1990.my 1st photochromic lenses are made into rayban sunglasses when the glasses crack. so i replace it with photochromic...it was cool that time it cost me only $50 (glasses) at that time.

lenses made of glasses are far cheaper than plastic.

the price range for plastic lenses are from $100-$500 depending on your degree....the higher it is the more expensive it will be.

you cant use it inside a car as photochromic needs UV to change its properties. alternative is buy a clip on polarised to clip on the specs when driving. make sure the clip on is cut into the spec shape (some shop do this)

if you want to look stunning, choose either grey or brown colour photochromic as black is too common and does not really look nice.

no need to get oakley or addidas.....u want to look cool.......choose your spec like half jacket as rimless spec is out of fashion these days.

Whoa specialist leh.

Why is it that the salesperson told me the optimum tint(darkness) the lens can achieve is only 75% here in SG and 90% in places like the U.S?

Is it bcos of our climate and humidity levels??

Because photochromic compounds fade back to their clear state by a thermal process, the higher the temperature, the less dark photochromic lenses will be. This thermal effect is called "temperature dependency" and prevents these devices from achieving true sunglass darkness in very hot weather. Conversely, photochromic lenses will get very dark in cold weather conditions, which makes them more suitable for snow skiers than beachgoers while outside. Once inside, away from the triggering UV light, the cold lenses take longer to regain their clear color than warm lenses.

I never did need to wear specs till now... [:|]

Just did mine last week. Transitions lens itself cost ~ $180. Then progressive added on costs another $$200 more. Then + frame = $500. [:/]

Now not wearing it as it makes everything so magnified (makes me dizzy). Even the top portion where its supposed to be 0 degress. [thumbsdown]

Its not cheap to grow old. [mad]

progressive???

you revealed your age

didnt know your are there

kekekeke

ok... those shops that i went to ask for prices.

They are selling the transitions lens made by Essilor.

nowadays if you walk past some optical shops, they have this banner displayed about transitions lens. that's the one.

Most shops quoted me $180 for Essilor transitions lens.

The Essilor transitions lens comes with Varilux. The shops say that this is the new type of transitions lens, claimed to be better than older types....

Capitol Optical now got some promotion. they offering $240 with frame.

The frame must be less than $100. If you choose a frame that is more than $100, then you top up the difference.

i not sure whether Essilor is good or not....... any one can comment?

I recently bought a Oakley shades , 'Whisker' model. Lens is Brown, brand "Transitions".

I find it exceptionly useful under the Sun, darken. In car, not dark lens, personally i think its good. Unfortunately, it doesnt fit me may big face I intend to sell it.

Since this topic brought up , I will the MCF first. Anyone keen, pls PM me. Sorry this may not be appropriate, should be in classified.. mod pls close if deem unappropriate.