MDIS students protest strict dress code

Snowbell

I don't know what constitutes the look of "being a student", care to enlighten me?

Along the same vein of reasoning, students should also be speaking and writing appropriately - perhaps we should have security guards checking the speech and writing of every student to ensure that they meet the standards of speaking and writing "like a student". Oh, how about enforcing the ideal that students should be active participants in political society and volunteerism as well - let's make it compulsory for students to attend and participate in Parliamentary sittings and political debates if they wish to graduate without censure.

My point is that certain attributes or traits, although desirable or even noble, should be left down to personal choice, because that's part of cause and consequences, of one's individuality, or if you're an existentialist, even the shaping of your life purpose as well.

It's a lame duck argument that dressing "appropriately" for classes will teach students how to dress appropriately for work or other professional events. Does anybody even buy this line of reasoning?

The whole rationale behind this silly dress code debacle is the desire of some moral puritans and intolerant prudes to impose their sense of moral reasoning and decorum upon a population segment which they feel they have some sense of power over.

A student wearing school uniform reflects upon the school. If he/she wears the uniform shabbily, immediately fingers will be pointing at the school.

But there is not such thing as uniform in a tertiary institute, so the moment the student leaves the school compound, he/she can be any tom/dick/harry.

I agree with you that 'whole rationale behind this silly dress code debacle is the desire of some moral puritans and intolerant prudes to impose their sense of moral reasoning and decorum upon a population segment which they feel they have some sense of power over.'

if the school wants students to 'learn' the correct way to dress..why dont have a module to teach all these things?

also, tertiary institution is no more like those of the days gone by where the only purpose of going there is to study. Tertiary institution is all about studying and having fun. It's also the last place for students to enjoy the carefree lifestyle before joining the hectic working world. Why the need to accelerate the process by forcing students to wear 'office wear'?

my time(2yrs ago) is quite relax leh..i rem wearing 3/4 shorts and sandals to lecture..only during lab i need to wear long pants and covered shoes.

Are you from NP also??

One of my polymates wore jean and shirt, but with sandals also tio warning..

2nd time, he run, warden really chase after him.. Then he hid inside his car and quickly drove off.. laugh.gif

ya man..only NP alot funny stuffs...the wardens really si bei eng man...

i went in lecture hall tot safe liao..wah..he came in asked me to go out..bo pian surrendered to him [laugh]

those unnatural colour dyed hair one also kana caught... [:|]

If we're talking about children in school uniform that's pretty much a different story like you've said, but I personally don't find school uniforms that much of a big deal because face it, we're talking about CHILDREN, who are notorious for being what? [laugh]

The only fields where uniforms are and should remain sacred are the military, the police force, uniformed groups such as the Scouts and the Cadet Corps, etc, where members are expected to know better and uphold the integrity of their organizations.

Maybe we should also enforce the use of condoms among students and expel those who don't practice safe sex [laugh][laugh]

What dresscode....I not smart enough to go poly or Uni ah....

however heard friends that there are dresscode...but it depend on which poly u go....

anyway go school lah....so should dress appropriately lah....

"being a student" means not wearing bermuda, shorts and slippers for lectures, which is so common nowadays.

Maybe you believe that it is the right of the student to decide as it is a personal choice, since the student pay to go to school.

well, I guess I am just old fashion. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Are you from NP also??

One of my polymates wore jean and shirt, but with sandals also tio warning..

2nd time, he run, warden really chase after him.. Then he hid inside his car and quickly drove off.. laugh.gif

Wah, really? Nowadays, the guards bo-chap, so what - expect lecturers to do the chasing? [laugh] Anyway, now the management are more scared of parents complaining; worse still, get letter from MP - no end of trouble...

Dress code not so important nowadays, anyway, as someone pointed out, it's up to the student and he or she has to suffer the consequences. The only time I'd ever insist on dress code is for lab where safety is an issue.

I think guards and wardens are different appointment..

Unless for medicated reason like sprained ankle or bandage leg, i felt wearing bermuda and slippers to lesson is a bit disrespectful to the lecturer.. Although i would not mind the girls wearing as little as possible..