'ERP' to be scrapped....

Devilmaycry

Mon, Dec 01, 2008

Reuters

London's 'ERP' extension to go

LONDON: The western extension to London's congestion charge zone, similar to Singapore's ERP, is to be scrapped after two-thirds of Londoners and businesses said they wanted it removed, Mayor Boris Johnson has said.

A consultation on the future of the extension, brought in by former mayor Ken Livingstone in February last year, found that 67 per cent of individuals and 86 per cent of businesses favoured scrapping the scheme.

With a few exceptions, such as taxi drivers and motorcyclists, all motorists have to pay a weekday charge of

They must listen to their paymaster. If not they can bring u up there, they can also pull u down. That dun apply in SG. We pay them to screw us and we are enjoying it yrs after yrs [laugh][laugh][laugh]

In August, a TfL report found that while traffic levels had fallen significantly since the congestion charge was first introduced in 2003, London's roads were as clogged up as before it was brought in.

At least they realised it early, this ERP doesn't work.

KUDOS

For london, the next to go will probably the be bendy-buses and use the double decker instead (hopefully a new version of the route master). The bendy-bus doesn't suit london high traffic, narrow street environment. Cause more congestion than helping to clear it.

They must listen to their paymaster. If not they can bring u up there, they can also pull u down. That dun apply in SG. We pay them to screw us and we are enjoying it yrs after yrs [laugh][laugh][laugh]

come 2011..shall we turn the table? [rolleyes]

I wonder if this news will be reported in the local media. The gahmen was so haolian a few years ago when the brits wanted to implement the ERP - machiam make SG the guru of the road congestion control. Now brit give up, dunno if our side will diam, diam about the issue.

their govt listen to their people..

ours don't even bother..eh..oh ya..they do..chinatown ERP reduce 50%.. [lipsrsealed]

Who say they don't listen. They do. It's one of the fundamental steps in policy-making.

Step 1: Someone "important" mentions in papers about Policy A

Step 2: Policy A gets talked about more in the media

Step 3: People start complaining.

Step 4: They listen, encouraging more views.

Step 5: They explain why what you said won't change anything, but encourage you to carry on.

Step 6: Policy A is implemented in its original form.

See, they listened. It's in step four. Who say they don't listen. Don't anyhow say okaaay.

Edited by Spas

their govt listen to their people..

ours don't even bother..eh..oh ya..they do..chinatown ERP reduce 50%.. [lipsrsealed]

bro, its only for temp... they will increase it back when the economy recover a bit... [:|][:|][:|]

Wow..bro...you got their protocol spot on!!! They always like that one...listen and listen and then implement....

But hor in London....I heard the ERP only implement on the main roads to their CBD area...however due to the infra of London has lots of small roads...that why motorist still can 'escape' the charges...that's why their ERP don't work... But hor, if they implement like we do...tell you sure got strike one...That's democratic