Job prospects for ex-SAF Officer

Ahtong

not exactly sama sama but I hate flying with Ex Air Force Pilots. They are used to doing things alone (1 man show) but in commercial airlines, its about c0ckpit resource management and somehow I find them not very good team players. There are always 2 pilots in c0ckpit but they think its only one. Of course the system will prevent them from acting alone but still, the mentality is such as they are used to flying alone for more than a decade

probably u flying with the fighters [laugh]. heli and transport are better [:p] cant really blame, coz they really need to fly; need time to overcome and change to system management [:p]

I hate flying with Ex Air Force Pilots

Found these ppl are more arrogant... in or out of the force... (there may be some exception though)

its the culture. you have to learn to adapt to that when u in there or be outcast and get out...

teaches to be the best and 'bxxxxxd' in order not to hesitate pulling the trigger and to outdo your rival/enemy...something good in term of in a war but then.........

Not really true. If I had take it, I won't need to do anything.

After leaving, first 10 years, half of last drawn pay plus CPF

After 10 years, full of last drawn pay plus CPF.

My WO then, everytime I see him, he will F me upside down, and say,

"Knn, last time ask you take pension, dowan, now see me LL, I eng, eng,

some more can change new car as and when I want"

Quite true, 3rd car already. Only thing is, cannot hold a job outside.

BTW, he's in his 60s now.

I won't drive a taxi for sure. Not looking down on the job, but I just can't take sitting down for such long hours.

Edited by Mazdaowner

Mayb that's because Navy vessels don't go far enough to use Inmarsat C?But I know where u are coming from. I got a pilot COL. from RSAF who has heard of VOR or Mode S(SSR interogator ) Long range Nav but since he says fighters don;t fly long haul,he cant be bothered to find out. tsk.tsk..tsk

I reckon, Most important to most of them is $$$ paycheck. (no offence..ex military officers)but most has compartmentalized mentality,as in most big corps!

oh btw, CONNEDgrats on your promotion!

Yup, have an ex naval officer of capt rank here who took over my job when I was promoted. He was a communications officer and navigating officer in the navy.

But when comes to real work relating to Inmarsat C and other marine communicating devices, he know nuts abt them. I asked him wat he learn in the navy as they also had similar equipments. He told me in actual fact, he knew very little and just sign the papers presented to him only. [dead]

I was a naval specialist only and I know more things than him!!! And now he is working as a junior in my company. [laugh]

Still, they must have done somethings right (whether we like it or not) in order to get there lor. Life is not about fairness mah.

Ya lor ! They licked the right boots, kissed the right asses, carry the right balls and suck the right c*ck.. [rolleyes]

Edited by Darth_mel

i know of someone who is on pension scheme. Basically after ROD in his 40s, have not been working seriously after that. Mostly work for leisure rather than livelihood

got vacancy at saint james power station door bitch and security [laugh][laugh][laugh]

or opening of casino..can wear suit and watch other gamble..wayang wayang and shout i charge you ,,,i charge you for insorbordination i got stripe not strip

I had 14 days when I hit one during my active days. idiot caused one man from another unit

to die in a river crossing, when I said it wasn't safe, from experience. And after the incident,

he tried to push the blame onto me, he forgot, got witnesses who heard every word I said about

the danger. I 14 days also shoik, broke 4 front teeth, and I hope he remembers it for the rest of his

half fark life, he took a man's life away with his stupid "executive decision" when we all had

years more experience then his 3 bars. Shouted at me some more to shut the fark up and accept

the blame, some more, he wasn't from my unit. Confirm kana. Lucky he not form my unit, if

not, every week, sure kana called out into the circle one, and give terok, terok.

I had no regrets. Not all bad, mostly it's a "monkey see, monkey also do" thing.

other do like that and get away with murder, they will also follow.

Am an ex-RSAF senior officer. I hate to say this but it is true, it is tough when I first started it out, many do not respect your experience nor ability. However, you must be humble to accept and work yourself up. As an officer, you believe you can do everything, but in the commercial world, it is what you have done commercially. Build yourself in terms of knowledge while serving time in the SAF, planned what you want to do outside.