Terras14 December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi just want you guys to be aware of tis chinese money changer in one of the shophouses row near toa payoh hub. There are 2 side by side but i am toking abt the one on the right. What happen was i went there to have lunch and needed to change some NT$. As it was abt 1.50pm in the afternoon on a friday, many abnn money changer all went for prayer so i stumble into this one. As there were 2 side by side, i went to the one on the right first and ask the rate for NT$. He say 21. i say ok and went next dorr. Before i can ask the rate, a customer infront happen to change 200 sing of NT$ and i hear hin quote 20.85. So i thot if thats the case, i just go back to the first one. So when i was back in 1 min, i said i want to change 1.5k of NT$ and the money changer say its 20.5. I replied him that he quoted me 21 one min ago. So the MC say 21 is if he buy NT$ from me. i thot what the %@#%, how many customer will ask the rate to sell NT$ / buy sing. Moreover, i am a local.SO he said nevermind, how much beside shop quote he will give me better. So i said its 20.85. Then he say cannot be so high and after calculation, he say give me 20.87 so i say ok. So we exchange cash but before i leave, i just check the receipt and the rate given to me was 20.855. So i was pissed off by his dishonesty and trying to cheat customer again and again and this is the first time i encountered something like this. i confront him and he try to act blur then gave me the correct amt and quickly want to serve next cm. Its not a matter of the few dollar but more of i cannot stand this kind of dishonest money changer so fellow MCF memebr please beware. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi just want you guys to be aware of tis chinese money changer in one of the shophouses row near toa payoh hub. There are 2 side by side but i am toking abt the one on the right. What happen was i went there to have lunch and needed to change some NT$. As it was abt 1.50pm in the afternoon on a friday, many abnn money changer all went for prayer so i stumble into this one. As there were 2 side by side, i went to the one on the right first and ask the rate for NT$. He say 21. i say ok and went next dorr. Before i can ask the rate, a customer infront happen to change 200 sing of NT$ and i hear hin quote 20.85. So i thot if thats the case, i just go back to the first one. So when i was back in 1 min, i said i want to change 1.5k of NT$ and the money changer say its 20.5. I replied him that he quoted me 21 one min ago. So the MC say 21 is if he buy NT$ from me. i thot what the %@#%, how many customer will ask the rate to sell NT$ / buy sing. Moreover, i am a local.SO he said nevermind, how much beside shop quote he will give me better. So i said its 20.85. Then he say cannot be so high and after calculation, he say give me 20.87 so i say ok. So we exchange cash but before i leave, i just check the receipt and the rate given to me was 20.855. So i was pissed off by his dishonesty and trying to cheat customer again and again and this is the first time i encountered something like this. i confront him and he try to act blur then gave me the correct amt and quickly want to serve next cm. Its not a matter of the few dollar but more of i cannot stand this kind of dishonest money changer so fellow MCF memebr please beware. u are referring to the 2 shops that are very near to Courts, right? i always find the left one more favorable. The left shop is the one that the counter is facing sideways to the shop wall. The right one is the counter facing the front, right? Tat right one is no good..... i dun like them. There are some other money changers ard the central. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terras14 December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 u are referring to the 2 shops that are very near to Courts, right? i always find the left one more favorable. The left shop is the one that the counter is facing sideways to the shop wall. The right one is the counter facing the front, right? Tat right one is no good..... i dun like them. There are some other money changers ard the central. yes thats right.right one facing the front and left one facing wall. Next time i change money may drop by again to test the uncle on the right haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 yes thats right.right one facing the front and left one facing wall. Next time i change money may drop by again to test the uncle on the right haha i changed with the right shop only once and never went back to them... i just dun like them... find their rates not good i always patronize the left shop, and the other shop inside Buzz shop (selling mags and sweets), next to Ya Kun Bread. The Buzz shop is good for Ringgit dollars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 hmmm...gd info for me...going to change ringgit soon...will go buzz shop to see their rates... but hor, I dun really like to patronize money changer in tpy...they r dishonest n rates r lousy....wld rather go bugis or outram...i feel more comfy cos they dun cheat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 hmmm...gd info for me...going to change ringgit soon...will go buzz shop to see their rates... but hor, I dun really like to patronize money changer in tpy...they r dishonest n rates r lousy....wld rather go bugis or outram...i feel more comfy cos they dun cheat... its not dishonest lah.... they tell u the rate, if u like it, then change. if u stay in tpy, then its easier to change in tpy, its better than travel to other areas to change.... not worth yr transport and time. unless u are changing in thousands, then its worth to travel anyway, talking abt money changers in other areas. The best money changer is in change alley. i forgot the name now. its at hitachi tower, i think. 2nd level. the shop is at the window where u can see the sea. The very best ones are those money changers who deal in corporate clients. This one, u need to know someone as a lobang for u to change with them. they give the best rates.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 (edited) there is another shop on ther other side.. walk across the car park/courts.... a single uncle wan... i.e. the back of the 2 shops back face the back of the single uncle shop... normally i go 3 shops before changing... usually the uncle gives the best rates... Edited December 30, 2008 by Zcold Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Califonia Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 The shop facing the walkway is well known for their dishonesty. I worked in TPY and have many friends with bad experience there. I think its operated by family members. Sometime, you can hear the old lady shouting insults to customer after enquiring. Always change with the shop beside it (counter facing the wall). But if you are changing big sums, it is good to do some ground works and make some comparison around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 i changed from the one on the left before. SGD to RM at 2.396 i tot it was a very very good rate. that was 2weeks ago.. prior to this changer i normally use the one in suntec, once i changed RM at 2.410! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 its not dishonest lah.... they tell u the rate, if u like it, then change. if u stay in tpy, then its easier to change in tpy, its better than travel to other areas to change.... not worth yr transport and time. unless u are changing in thousands, then its worth to travel anyway, talking abt money changers in other areas. The best money changer is in change alley. i forgot the name now. its at hitachi tower, i think. 2nd level. the shop is at the window where u can see the sea. The very best ones are those money changers who deal in corporate clients. This one, u need to know someone as a lobang for u to change with them. they give the best rates.... oh... i know the one in change alley! too bad i dont work in the CBD, if not i would change from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enrique Neutral Newbie January 1, 2009 Share January 1, 2009 ya me also prefer goin to the left shop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terras14 January 1, 2009 Author Share January 1, 2009 The shop facing the walkway is well known for their dishonesty. I worked in TPY and have many friends with bad experience there. I think its operated by family members. Sometime, you can hear the old lady shouting insults to customer after enquiring. Always change with the shop beside it (counter facing the wall). But if you are changing big sums, it is good to do some ground works and make some comparison around. So that old lady is family memebr? She seems and act like a customer keep saying the rate is good and want to change there...a load of bull#$%#. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...