Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 ahhh.. those ding donging strips.. seen pp put that.. hmm but quite not so nice lookin to hang that.. yah, can be ugly looking. Dun work all the time if the strip dun touch the ground. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jubo Neutral Newbie January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 It's not related to any grounding problem and it's not just you but some of your friends as well. Static buildup when there is friction between 2 materials. It could be your seat cover or your carmat that is high in this static discharges. Try to isolate and you might be able to find the fault. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 Hi guys, this is common issue, this topic has been discussed before. Its due to individual body static volume i guess. I driving Lancer now, previously Suzuki ignis also got static even car got grounding done. Slim person tends to have higher chance of this happening maybe. Cos I ask my fren (chubby fella) - he dun have this static on his Lancer hahahaha. So I usually open door, right hand touch leather seat push out, person get out then close door by touching door visor top portion. No problem at all haha! Try this method. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astro 1st Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 My friend used to have this problem with his Hyundai Accent many years back. He even sent the vehicle back to the AD and they even fly in their expert from Korea but still could not resolve the problem. The problem is finally resolved when his vehicle was sold Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 28, 2009 Author Share January 28, 2009 It's not related to any grounding problem and it's not just you but some of your friends as well. Static buildup when there is friction between 2 materials. It could be your seat cover or your carmat that is high in this static discharges. Try to isolate and you might be able to find the fault. hmmm perhaps is the caramat.. will try isolate it n see how.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 28, 2009 Author Share January 28, 2009 Hi guys, this is common issue, this topic has been discussed before. Its due to individual body static volume i guess. I driving Lancer now, previously Suzuki ignis also got static even car got grounding done. Slim person tends to have higher chance of this happening maybe. Cos I ask my fren (chubby fella) - he dun have this static on his Lancer hahahaha. So I usually open door, right hand touch leather seat push out, person get out then close door by touching door visor top portion. No problem at all haha! Try this method. dis is wat i have been doing.. push out the door panel.. get out of the car.. close via pushing visor or the centre pillar.. sometimes accidentally touch the edge of the window frame.. zapp! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 dis is wat i have been doing.. push out the door panel.. get out of the car.. close via pushing visor or the centre pillar.. sometimes accidentally touch the edge of the window frame.. zapp! like everytime closing the door, muz take a "Bet". haha does your passengers face the same thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 So far no "shock" by my car. But got zapped numerous times by the supermarket trolley. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 hehe, u have sweaty palms? this is really electrostatic.... Maybe for TS and you, can get some feathery cloth to discharge first before touching the metallic part Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 28, 2009 Author Share January 28, 2009 like everytime closing the door, muz take a "Bet". haha does your passengers face the same thing? Yeah all the time taking the bet so far only two passengers felt so... so i think shud suffice to confirm i m not the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 28, 2009 Author Share January 28, 2009 So far no "shock" by my car. But got zapped numerous times by the supermarket trolley. i hv encountered with supermart trolleys too.. i was ignorant to think i m one of few who's highly charged with static.. now dat i read more i see many are experiencing it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 hehe, u have sweaty palms? this is really electrostatic.... Maybe for TS and you, can get some feathery cloth to discharge first before touching the metallic part Your advice would cause more static. Contrary sweaty palm is wet. If body is wet, it's more difficult to built up static. And your feathery comment, rubbing your dry hand on feathery cloth would built up static even faster.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 i hv encountered with supermart trolleys too.. i was ignorant to think i m one of few who's highly charged with static.. now dat i read more i see many are experiencing it.. Sup trolley neber kena but airport trolley I kena, till give up and hand carry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enduro25 Clutched January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 perhaps installed grounding wire will help?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 28, 2009 Share January 28, 2009 Install ioniser..-ve ioniser reduces the environment static if it's already +ve charged.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enduro25 Clutched January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 wear the racing suit when driving..they got anti static effect on it..hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 29, 2009 Share January 29, 2009 hehe, u have sweaty palms? this is really electrostatic.... Maybe for TS and you, can get some feathery cloth to discharge first before touching the metallic part No sweaty palms leh. I only get zapped by the trolley whenever I touch the metal cage of the trolley. But for cars, so far never experience static shocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kkyi Neutral Newbie January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 Hi Green, Its can simply solved by touching the body of car eg door with your hand firmely to discharged any static electric from the car body via your body. You will not get the zap and its that simple. Kkyi ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...