RadX Moderator March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Rejected becos asking pay too much or expeirence no good enough? I think now is a good reality checktime for ppl asking the world. Sadly, inflation has caused ppl to think they need that amt of salaries, but in reality, sorry man.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I think now is a good reality checktime for ppl asking the world. Sadly, inflation has caused ppl to think they need that amt of salaries, but in reality, sorry man.... No wonder the poor will become poorer and the rich become richer. There very little chance a lowly paid peasant can break out of this cycle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 not yet la...dun anyhow say....wait lightning strike u instead of merlion...hahahahaha I'm still alive...that means i din anyhow say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I'm still alive...that means i din anyhow say hahahaha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 No wonder the poor will become poorer and the rich become richer. There very little chance a lowly paid peasant can break out of this cycle That I agree...but the rich would capitalise on this and thus get richer..... the strange part abt life...haiz..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 i have a candidate w part time overseas master degree...with only 1 yr working experience in 2 coy dated 2-3 yrs ago....asking for 3.2k! rejected anyway. I would reject the candidate too. Too little experience. masters degree means nothing without experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I would reject the candidate too. Too little experience. masters degree means nothing without experience. Wise statement...in those days, a MAsters entry required work experience of at least 5 years as Masters requires thinking at the corporation and the higher level where you see the bigger picture with the integral focus....and that IMO requires some experience within the co or the workign world Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I have a friend who has graduated from local U engineering degree. He has lower honours and asking around 2.8k. Is that reasonable? 3.7k for 1st cls. 3.2k for 2nd upper. 2nd lower, no data as none of the engineers that i know are 2nd lower...e.g. quoted are ppl in the govt. board like DSO, A*STAR, DSTA etc... good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 3.7k for 1st cls. 3.2k for 2nd upper. 2nd lower, no data as none of the engineers that i know are 2nd lower...e.g. quoted are ppl in the govt. board like DSO, A*STAR, DSTA etc... good luck! wah!!! goverment pay fresh grads so high?? I know NEA,LTA pay is about 2.4-2.6k few years ago when times are good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Hi I suggest you tell your fren to grab any job even if its below 2K. Work 1st & hunt for better ones as time goes by. I just posted an engineer post last Sat in Sin, but to stop our HR by Monday - 250 applicants received by Sunday, just 1 day for 1 post! I just came back from China - the fresh grads there (1st classes) are offerring no pay for 6 months trial before employers' decision on confirmation. Some even dun mind for a payless job for a year as long as transport & meal allowances are granted. The job market will be worsened in no time. I'm sorry to paint you such miserable picture, but reality bites! Many had resorted to ring the civil servants' bell..... (stepboard). Of cos, every roads lead to Rome - take care. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 there are some things that u cannot learn in schools & books. I know cases where engineer with PHD, little experience, lose agruement with a engineer with dip, many years experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 3.7k for 1st cls. 3.2k for 2nd upper. 2nd lower, no data as none of the engineers that i know are 2nd lower...e.g. quoted are ppl in the govt. board like DSO, A*STAR, DSTA etc... good luck! Two years ago, 2nd class lower at DSTA starting salary is 2.8k. Not sure if this still holds today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I have a friend who has graduated from local U engineering degree. He has lower honours and asking around 2.8k. Is that reasonable? No...it is not reasonable....for most new U grad... it should be around 2.2K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crusader75 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 (edited) wah!!! goverment pay fresh grads so high?? I know NEA,LTA pay is about 2.4-2.6k few years ago when times are good. Yah lor... think I better switch to govt linked jobs liao... lotsa tea breaks... knock off on time, preferential loan rates for house, car etc... Edited March 19, 2009 by Crusader75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strife Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 (edited) reasonable if it was 2007 and 2008. fresh grad with 3K is like the norm just last year before Lehman incident? No idea whats it like for the current job market. Edited March 19, 2009 by Strife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 to the TS, if i am your friend going for that interview, i will leave the "expected salary" blank. Companies that are hiring will most likely have a budget in mind. Putting too low a salary will be a diservice to yourself, putting too high will price yourself out. Try to get the interview first and listen what the job entails, not just care about what it pays. in some places, initial may be low, but if you can perform, the jump can be substantial. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 (edited) Nowadays , every tom, dick , harry is either engineer, banker or manager.... becos of blatant misuse, there is little value in titles . true blue professional engineers get paid easily 5 figure per mth loh... Fresh grad, dont be fussy , got job , just do, gain experience and real skills first. Edited March 19, 2009 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Nowadays , every tom, dick , harry is either engineer, banker or manager.... true blue professional engineers get paid easily 5 figure per mth loh... yah lor...me funeral sweeper...lowlypaid one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...