Best_ctzn Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Lately there have been a group of zealous people who go around listurbing other TS, giving bo liao comments and doing alot of ass out of u and me that it will become what they want to achieve, and in the end make it happen without the TS. Their stand is that the mod team in MCF has given their old friends the assurance that this is 'Lite & EZ', and they will not touch it. I have seen enough, and so have most of the people here. Could the mod team clarify whether they have indeed condone their boliao behaviour? Is it alrite to go to every posting that you are buay song and go and correct their grammar, spacing, do off-topic insiuation, etc, etc? Please make it clear so that we can have some peace here and do constructive posting. I do not want more people to repeat the sillyness, join in the fray, and ruin this forum in the process! The forum rules as below certainly do not address that: Dear all, Please be reminded of our forum guidelines. In particular, we would like to draw your attention to: Postings Slanderous, defamatory, obscene, violent, abusive, threatening and harassing comments will not be allowed. Respect the viewpoints of others, even if you may not agree with them. Agree to disagree. No profanity or obscenities of any kind. No personal attacks on other users. No political or racial comments will be allowed. No impersonation of other participants or public figures. No FULL CAPS postings. In internet, CAPS equates to shouting. Refrain from posting information which is not publicly available. No posting of number plates, unless it is your own. Respect others' privacy. No copyrighted material is allowed. Please use links instead. Please declare vested interest (if any) on the topic you are discussing No multiple postings Thank you and happy posting in MCF. Kindly make your stand clear. I do not want to flout the rules here, but the rules must be above all else, and not haphazardly applied. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 actually chill la. just don't get too involved or emotional. let people do wat they want and say what they want. seriously look at my chocolate bar, i'm given a warning for reasons i donno (i seek mod's clarification but got no reply). heck, its not going to result in me paying more taxes, or losing an arm or leg. so just relax! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 5, 2009 Author Share April 5, 2009 actually chill la. just don't get too involved or emotional. let people do wat they want and say what they want. seriously look at my chocolate bar, i'm given a warning for reasons i donno (i seek mod's clarification but got no reply). heck, its not going to result in me paying more taxes, or losing an arm or leg. so just relax! I only want to mods to declare their stand on the action of these people. Is it proper to go around behaving boorishly citing the backing of the mod team? They always behave like the TS is a public enemy, bombarding his threads with alot of rubbish, in the name of patriotism. But even the government has a yellow ribbon project to give second chance. But they are only keen to make an ass out of you and me, and having exceptionally strong memory. Want to be patriotic, go the full-monty, not the half-bake no standard pick-as-suit-me showmanship. I wont be surprise these people are actually the mods. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boi2uncle 2nd Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 (edited) actually chill la. just don't get too involved or emotional. let people do wat they want and say what they want. seriously look at my chocolate bar, i'm given a warning for reasons i donno (i seek mod's clarification but got no reply). heck, its not going to result in me paying more taxes, or losing an arm or leg. so just relax! i agree. just treat this forum as a source for information, entertainment and friendship. get wat u want out of it. dat's most important. Edited April 5, 2009 by Boi2uncle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Yup, no big deal actually. Forum is just a place to shout out loud on the internet, so to speak. If there are bo-liao posters out there who want to correct my grammar, etc. (though, admittedly, they would have little chance to do so on MY postings... ahem!), or make off-topic remarks, why bother? Even when debating a particular issue, most of the time, we'd agree to disagree and disengage. Winning a debate on the internet forum doesn't earn anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Yup, no big deal actually. Forum is just a place to shout out loud on the internet, so to speak. If there are bo-liao posters out there who want to correct my grammar, etc. (though, admittedly, they would have little chance to do so on MY postings... ahem!), or make off-topic remarks, why bother? Even when debating a particular issue, most of the time, we'd agree to disagree and disengage. Winning a debate on the internet forum doesn't earn anything. if every single person agree/disagree with a point of view..then there's no point in having a discussion liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 seriously look at my chocolate bar, i'm given a warning for reasons i donno (i seek mod's clarification but got no reply). heck, its not going to result in me paying more taxes, or losing an arm or leg. so just relax! I think it's cos of your avatar, the girl without the titties is actually quite ugly! So just relax! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 I think it's cos of your avatar, the girl without the titties is actually quite ugly! So just relax! LOL okok coming soon ya? many have requested for the titties to be exposed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laserjet Neutral Newbie April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 The forum guidelines applies throughout the forum, and the Lite & EZ section is not excluded. The purpose of the Lite & EZ section is for off-topic discussions, and so drifting is more prevalent here. Drifting is allowed in the lite & EZ posts. For TS who do not want drifting in his/her topic, it is his/her responsibility to remind posters not to do so. For enforcement of the forum rules, we must all realise that it is not so simple. While some rules are clear-cut, some are pretty grey. Like what consitutes a "personal attack", "Slanderous, defamatory remark", " threatening and harassing comments"? These are all highly debatable issues that the mods and admins can only do their best to judge. Also, the accusation that those forumers bombarding the TS are actually the mods in disguise is untrue, and I hope you do not repeat that again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 5, 2009 Author Share April 5, 2009 The forum guidelines applies throughout the forum, and the Lite & EZ section is not excluded. The purpose of the Lite & EZ section is for off-topic discussions, and so drifting is more prevalent here. Drifting is allowed in the lite & EZ posts. For TS who do not want drifting in his/her topic, it is his/her responsibility to remind posters not to do so. For enforcement of the forum rules, we must all realise that it is not so simple. While some rules are clear-cut, some are pretty grey. Like what consitutes a "personal attack", "Slanderous, defamatory remark", " threatening and harassing comments"? These are all highly debatable issues that the mods and admins can only do their best to judge. Also, the accusation that those forumers bombarding the TS are actually the mods in disguise is untrue, and I hope you do not repeat that again. Thank you for shedding some light on the forum and making the stand. I understand and agree enforcement is difficult. But do you agree that it is alright to make mockery of postings by highlighting grammatical errors and spacing acting machiam a teacher? In light of the overwheming attacks, many bordering on intellectual and personal insults, do you think the TS would be in the frame of mind to ask the culprits to stop the attack? Most probably it will invite replies in the vein of ' cannot take the heat do not come here lah'. So the threads become ruined and full of rubbish. To me, it might be good for mods to read through the forums every day and dish out warning to those that persistently give out boliao and drifting postings in this section. This should not take up too much time with the number of mods involved. Occasional drifting should be acceptable, but not deliberated and concerted attacks on the condemned as witnessed. Also I withdrew my comment about the attackers as mods. My apologies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Bro, just treat this section like HWZ's EDMW. Don't get serious. Just read and forget. Remember only those replies which are beneficial to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haurus85 Neutral Newbie April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Bro, just treat this section like HWZ's EDMW. Don't get serious. Just read and forget. Remember only those replies which are beneficial to you. EDMW got pcc thread leh..lidat can we start some here? HAHA.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Leepart satu korner. Chill it like me. Stick and stone may break my bones, but words are just that. Furthermore it's in a forum, why so bothered. Not like the Argument or Difference will help me to cut down on my road tax or COE if I win. Be like a woman like me, treat it like gossip and enjoy the forum as it is. There are better things to argue about, like the color of my next hair dye or the next LV bag that I am getting or where shall my BF bring me for dinner. Be true and treat yourself and the real friends well. Internet friends are just that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 (edited) But do you agree that it is alright to make mockery of postings by highlighting grammatical errors and spacing acting machiam a teacher? In light of the overwheming attacks, many bordering on intellectual and personal insults, do you think the TS would be in the frame of mind to ask the culprits to stop the attack? Most probably it will invite replies in the vein of ' cannot take the heat do not come here lah'. So the threads become ruined and full of rubbish. I like this part. Well said . To me mockery and acting like a teacher apply to the discussion topic as well. Why going around belittling others to show that one is a more superior being here. Facts and figures speak. For me, I don't waste time with them, they are only out there trying to create troubles and problems for us. I think there are enough noises lately here and many are thinking alike about the abuse. That is what I've got to say here. Regards, Edited April 5, 2009 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 5, 2009 Share April 5, 2009 Dear Admin, I've a question here. For TS who do not want drifting in his/her topic, it is his/her responsibility to remind posters not to do so. Something new to me. So a TS has the responsibility (responsibility comes with power) to remind posters to stick to the "rules" once he/she started a new thread. If a poster doesn't buy the reminder, what can a TS do? Report to you? You will be very busy then. Also, the accusation that those forumers bombarding the TS are actually the mods in disguise is untrue, and I hope you do not repeat that again. My point of view is, because the few have been going around bombarding forumers without being "told" hence the rest here naturally felt that they have been given "super power" to make a mockery of others like nobody business.i.e. just like a mod. Just my 2 cents worth. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laserjet Neutral Newbie April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Rest assured that the mods and admins are doing their best to make MCF a nice place to hang around. As been said, we will try our best to enforce the forum rules and guidelines. For enforcement of "no-drifting" in threads, it is the responsibility of the TS. No power comes along with it. However, in cases of dispute over this matter, I will side with the TS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 In my opinion, the mods have done a very admirable job in keeping the forum going. They are not paid to do this and are not beholden to you (or anybody else) in patrolling this forum regularly. The forum is managed with an end in mind...for people who enjoy being here to have a place to hang out....The concern is always, if someone posts irresponsibly, will it cause the end of the forum? I think you were not here before but this forum has survived its fair share of survival crisis...I remember when a forummer had to publicly post an apology to an insurer, or risk having the consequences of dragging the forum down with him. (Getting sued).... Honestly, the kind of comments posted here are the run-of-the mill kind you'll see anywhere...The main issue you are unhappy with, is the "access", some forummers have to the mods, hence making it seems unfair to you. Please, this forum started with a handful of passionate car enthusiasts wanting to expand their knowledge on car-related materials...Some here go way back 7-8 yrs! If they've formed friendships, can you deny them that? I stand by my belief. If I've been known to rag anybody unfairly, point out my error, report me to the mods, give me a bar which I shall wear without shame. My postings and actions are there for all to see so its easy to lift them and pull out any fault therein. Similarly, I have good reasons to go after postings which I believe are detrimental and threatens the forum. I shall continue doing this without any reservations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Sorry...Have to add a bit more...Just came from the thread "How Bad can it get?" You went after some forummers in there, without provocation... That cannot be justified, and if ther were any "personal attacks" it began with you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...