WIRELESS ISSUES

Gizmo

Just got myself an Acer Aspire one netbook. I'm trying to configure to com with my wireless router 2wire 2700HG-D but to no avail. The netbook can detect SSID but no com.

Dun think is mac filter,tried "OPEN" diable WPA-PSK but still no com.

Any help?

I tot is use the com to detect wireless network then key the password?

I tried,after key in passw,cannot go in. I diabled my usual WPA-pSK passw to OPEN still cannot go in

Ur description so messy.. Dunno how to help u man...

This is the best of my knowledge,what info do you need ?

Thanks

after ur netbook detected the ssid which is ur wireless router's name u gave it (hopefully u get tis rite), did u try to connect it and key in ur WEP/WPA or anyting u set on ur router? after u key in and connected, u only see tat it is connected locally rite??

u r running on vista rite? if so, i tink it's the settings on ur netbook...

after ur netbook detected the ssid which is ur wireless router's name u gave it (hopefully u get tis rite), did u try to connect it and key in ur WEP/WPA or anyting u set on ur router? after u key in and connected, u only see tat it is connected locally rite??

u r running on vista rite? if so, i tink it's the settings on ur netbook...

Yes, SSID is a name which i set,the netbook can detect SSID,but when i key in my WPA passw,cannot go in.

Its running on Win Xp . What setting in the netbook should i take note? Driver of the modem is latest.

ask u, can u see the rest of ur network ? or is it u just cant surf the www ?

if u can see the SSID and but not access, try these:

first, wat is ur security protocol ? WEP WPA, etc etc... make sure u use the correct one as ur router. then make sure ur key is exactly the same, same in as the number of bit, and pwd. CONNECT ?

second, did u enable MAC filtering in ur router ? allow access to ur netbook. CONNECT ?

third, for just a short span of time. disable your firewall in your modem/wireless router, and also the firewall in ur netbook. then try to connect, if it works, then its the firewall rule setting.

mice

ask u, can u see the rest of ur network ? or is it u just cant surf the www ?

Yes,can see other SSID

if u can see the SSID and but not access, try these:

first, wat is ur security protocol ? WEP WPA, etc etc... make sure u use the correct one as ur router. then make sure ur key is exactly the same, same in as the number of bit, and pwd. CONNECT ?

WPA....i tried open (no passw) also cannot

second, did u enable MAC filtering in ur router ? allow access to ur netbook. CONNECT ?

Yes mac filtering is on the allow list.

third, for just a short span of time. disable your firewall in your modem/wireless router, and also the firewall in ur netbook. then try to connect, if it works, then its the firewall rule setting.

How to off router firewall? it came by default.

did your router/modem assign any IP address to your lappy?

It only assign when i plug in ethernet wire port. Wireless nothing [shakehead]

I think ur lappy modem spoil. Go service centre have it change

That is what i suspect,its from day 1 i got it. Damn frustrating [furious]

But i want to gather feedback from the rest before wasting my time going there

Try to configure your router to broadcast SSID with no encryption/password/mac filter. Then connect your device to the wireless. If its work, that means the wireless is working. Only then you play with the encryption stuff to find where the fault lies. Hope this helps.

Just got myself an Acer Aspire one netbook. I'm trying to configure to com with my wireless router 2wire 2700HG-D but to no avail. The netbook can detect SSID but no com.

Dun think is mac filter,tried "OPEN" diable WPA-PSK but still no com.

Any help?

I am also not very good but what password did you key in ? You got to key in the numbers found on your 2Wire. The number is obtain from the side printed on a piece of sticker. There you can also find the serial number. The numbers needed is sandwiched between the bar codes. I tried using my singnet password cannot but after keying the numbers obtained from the side of the 2Wire, it works.

[sweatdrop]

Edited by Renegade777

to clarify first, you notebook is capable of connecting to other wireless networks right? Cos many times this kind of situation, users forgot to toggle physical wireless switch. [laugh]

if like tis, most prob ur DHCP table of ip add is limited.... try to go into ur DHCP and do some settings for ur router and see whether it assigns any ip add to ur lappy... most of the case is using internal ip add which is meant for internal usage only, i.e 192.168.xxx.xxx

shld be settings for router if u r running on win xp... cos win xp is very straightforward...

It only assign when i plug in ethernet wire port. Wireless nothing [shakehead]

Does your modem support wireless B and/or G only? and check your lappy wireless adapter whether it has been configured to connect to both or either one of those (B/G) only..normally, wireless G is backwards compatible to B, but no harm trying..Next, go and update the driver for your wireless adapter..

If all else fails, then get another laptop to connect to your wireless modem..if that lappy also cannot get an IP, then your modem might kaput liao..

i kena before, one fine day, my old linksys router refuse to assign IP for all wireless device at home..but i have no prob with wired connection..