Sugar Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 (edited) As above. I just want to see what the general public feel. Just indicate your preference, after considering everything like price, performance, handling, looks, ease to modify, FWD, RWD, fuel consumption. Basically, your preference at the end of the day. Edited April 29, 2009 by Sugar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholasl Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 IMO, Which one is better Price - RX8, PI models are going at below 90k now right? Performance - Type R. Never drove an rx8 before, but the type R feels fast. And on papers if i'm not wrong is faster too. Handling - Both are good handling cars, but again, I'll give it to the type R. Looks - RX8. The sexy coupe still looks great after so many years. Ease of modification - Type R of course. There's tones of honda parts in the market. And some of the type R parts can be shared with the Integra type R. So aftermarket parts have alot of them. Workshop wise there's plenty too. Whereby Rx8 have only a few workshops to go to and price are not that "affordable" FWD/RWD - Go wiki it. FC - Type R wins hands down. With stock 18" rim, the car can go more than 500km on fulltank or tt's ard 11-12km/L. Whereby RX8 I'm not very sure but I heard the FC is ard 8km/L. But DO bear in mind that the next version of the RX8 will be out in 2010 or sometime soon. But the next car could be a new RX7 or a RX8 we're not sure yet. But its gonna be a 1.6L rotary model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 (edited) As above. I just want to see what the general public feel. Just indicate your preference, after considering everything like price, performance, handling, looks, ease to modify, FWD, RWD, fuel consumption. Basically, your preference at the end of the day. typeR la. dun waste time with rx8 unless you like to visit workshop often. I say this because i have been there and done it. RX8 is not that reliable. good to drive but not good to own. Price- about the same... performance - civic type R anytime. Handling- RX8 anytime. Looks - RX8. unusual looks. civic is still a normal sedan. and tons of other civics the road. Ease of Mod - civic type R, you can still gain a little from the K20(but why you wanna to mod a almost perfectly tuned engine). but for the rotary its more tricky. the more you stress it the faster it breaks. Drive Train - RX8. the RWD feel is very nice. FC- Type R, RX8 no matter how smooth you drive the best FC is 8-9km/L. with civic type R maybe even 11-12km/l is possible if you drive super carefully. Edited April 29, 2009 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 My fren driving RX8 say 300km,must quickly find petrol stn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 JDM FD2R cos got V-tek inside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblues Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 I picked RX8 as I'm driving a FD2 now so would want to try something different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renesis76 Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 I picked RX8 as I'm driving a FD2 now so would want to try something different. i have never tried FD2 so no comments. But have to warn potential RX8 owners. RX8's maintainence cost is damn high, got alot of small problems like: spoilt coolant sensor - need to change whole tank light bulb blown Engine check light Ignition coil spoilt - need to change all 4 engine mount spoilt steering mount problem all the repairs come in high hundreds of dollars....some issue can pop up within 2 yrs. Make sure got 3 yr warranty. be prepared to spend more for this car plus more exp rotary syn oil every 5000km. sian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iforu Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 for handling, unless u are a very good driver, u will always finish a bend faster with a ff than a fr. looks of cos rx8 the rest type R will win. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rawjak Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 voted liao. civic typeR wil be my choice. with all the technical mumbo jumbo above i just dont fancy rotary engine. (have my own reason) other than that; my family can fit comfortably in the rear. i could still whack the car when i drive alone (of course lah still can even if u have passengers ) not much of a blind spot (A pillar) got generous trunk space. lots of kits n mods commonly available. petrol consumption ok (depends on driving habit) end of the day its a honda [drivingcar] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 fd2r..more macho. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 voted liao. civic typeR wil be my choice. with all the technical mumbo jumbo above i just dont fancy rotary engine. (have my own reason) other than that; my family can fit comfortably in the rear. i could still whack the car when i drive alone (of course lah still can even if u have passengers ) not much of a blind spot (A pillar) got generous trunk space. lots of kits n mods commonly available. petrol consumption ok (depends on driving habit) end of the day its a honda I voted for the civic, although it looks common on the road, it provides more comfort and less problems compared to a rotary engine... A pillar is seriously very important in terms of driving safety... OT abit, the other day while i was at the slip road just outside my house, as there is a pedestrian crossing, have to check if there is any human walking about, about 2 seconds before i reach i made sure no people walking, and didnt check again when i reach the crossing about a second later... Luckily i was not driving fast, because a cyclist, who was at high speed, came over and swerved and fall to the ground just to avoid being banged... stopped and went down to help, but this A pillar had totally blocked my view of him and probably he was too fast for me to see him from afar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Just out of curiosity, u getting either one or asking for fun only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 I voted for the civic, although it looks common on the road, it provides more comfort and less problems compared to a rotary engine... err... i think the RX8 is more comfortable than the Type-R... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugar Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Author Share April 29, 2009 Just out of curiosity, u getting either one or asking for fun only? asking for fun only. wanted to see which is more desired. i drive a RX8. i love my car. But the looks of a CTR is growing on me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 asking for fun only. wanted to see which is more desired. i drive a RX8. i love my car. But the looks of a CTR is growing on me. Thanks. Me own neither of them. Fully agree that the look of type R is really tantalizing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heelntoe 1st Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 CTR smoke rx8 hands down man.rwf/fwd all same la. how many ppl can really tell the diff? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 FD2R, unless you like the looks of RX-8. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Civic Type R man! Its a no brainer! K20A potensi~ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...