A hefty 40% increase !!!

Seaweed

actually i think its across the board be it a 3rd party workshop or the authorised agent.. my gf's car, kena bang from the rear with dented bumper, went back to CnC and total damage total abt 3k plus.

My 1st year was $935, 2nd year renew was $1,200, 3rd year they wanted $1400.

I changed company and paid $835!

Lucky they charged me more, if not I would have renewed at $1,200!

Can you please share what company you switched too ?

I'm paying about $1300. Don't mind saving a few $100 as well.

Due to renew this month

From my limited experience, it's always good to shop ard every year.. coz the renewal always quote higher.. guess they dont' bother much about retention

Yup... even CASE also say so.. [laugh]

Mine 3 yrs ago $1050;

2 yrs ago $1100;

1 yrs ago $1500.

With longer stay which include higher loyalty discount and NCD discount, the price still kept on increasing

Finally change new insurance agent which quoted $1174 instead.

with this how can i ever afford to upkeep the dream EVO or STI? short of earning 10k per month , unless i register it under my 78 year old dad with 60 years driving experience ? ;P...

think the lady and her husband never encounter any accident before... they will learned their lesson when they find out that their premiums increase by 3 fold...

just for everyone info... during my 1st accident, i called up auntie lucy to ask how much the other party claims againts my insurance.... they told me its confidential info. Cannot give... knn, i screwed the officer upside down and ask her to give me a black and white on the confidential part she mentioned so that I could post such ridiculars rules on every forum i could! they lan lan and in the end, give me the details of claims... from there i know, more than 80% of the claims goes to so call admin/ legal/ car rental/ loss of use, even photocopy a piece of doc also charge me $7/ page, only around 10% + goes to car repair (spray paint on bumper)

unless i register it under my 78 year old dad with 60 years driving experience ? ;P...

lagi worst....the curve goes shooting up after you cross age of 60.....

they will tell u old man, cant see well, react slower etc and more prone to accident....

My insurance premium last year was around SGD700...Quoted this year renewal premium of around SGD980...Luckily my chair was steady enough to hold me...Else I would have to make a claim from my personal accident insurance for falling off my chair!!!

A hefty 40% increase...Wasn't it protrayed as a 10% -20% increase on the newspaper??? How come mine was 40% when I have not scored a single demerit point and make a single claim over the past 15 years of driving???

The "market value" of my car is dropping every year yet my premium is increasing every year...When I am driving at those days when a 1.6 saloon cost more than 100k...My insurance premium was only around SGD600...What is going on here??? Did the overhead really increase that much??? Is there really alot of people making a claim using fake injuries??? Is it a situation like the chinese saying "yang mou chu zhai yang shen shang"(the goat fur will be from the goat)...The insurance people just happily passed on the cost to consumers???

So will it in evolve to a stage when a person decided not to own any car anymore in his lifetime...He will just lightly crashed his car against a pillar and claim injury???

Eversince they know that there is no governing board controlling them or protecting the motorists interest, so this the best time for them to "ka Chai Tow" or "kuto" car drivers leow.

[thumbsdown]

think the lady and her husband never encounter any accident before... they will learned their lesson when they find out that their premiums increase by 3 fold...

just for everyone info... during my 1st accident, i called up auntie lucy to ask how much the other party claims againts my insurance.... they told me its confidential info. Cannot give... knn, i screwed the officer upside down and ask her to give me a black and white on the confidential part she mentioned so that I could post such ridiculars rules on every forum i could! they lan lan and in the end, give me the details of claims... from there i know, more than 80% of the claims goes to so call admin/ legal/ car rental/ loss of use, even photocopy a piece of doc also charge me $7/ page, only around 10% + goes to car repair (spray paint on bumper)

You have every right to know down to last detail.. aunty lucy is just being difficult.

When we requested details for the party claiming against us from SHC, we didn't encounter this problem.

wah...bumper dent...they spray whole car...i wonder if my car beyong repair...will they give me a ""roast loys"" in return !!! I think they going a bit too extreme in your case...!!!

think maybe it is time i try to approach them to undertake the photostat work...I take SGD 1..the rest SGD 6...I give back for them to SHARE !!!

On the contrary...... I paying 50% less under AIG.

For EVO X, they quoted me 1400 niah... with 50% NCD. I am 36.

NTUC raised my premium by 40% too.

AIA/AIG overcharging la.....boycott them totally.....they qoute me $1400 with 50%ncd

got from another insurance at $885.....

Edited by Achtung

then gone CASE already [laugh]

Just received the renewal notice from my insurer.

Last year 30% - $800++

This year 40% - $866. <_<

Mine 3 yrs ago $1050;

2 yrs ago $1100;

1 yrs ago $1500.

With longer stay which include higher loyalty discount and NCD discount, the price still kept on increasing

Finally change new insurance agent which quoted $1174 instead.

mine remains at the same price but ncb was 30%, coming one is 40%......

recently received a renewal notice from lucy, from 1400 last year increase to 2100 this year, nevermind, then I see the NCD from 40% dropped to 10% this year, shocked, go down on a saturday to bra pasah to clarify, i ask the staff how come NCD dropped???, to my horror, she asked me "did u make a claim during the year?", I think wat the f u talking about, whether i make a claim or not u dunno meh? then she say she go check, go inside I wait for almost half hour she come out, she said she unable to check becos their "claim dept" worked only 5 days week [furious] ???? then she said nevermind will give me 50% NCD but subject to double confirmation on next monday. Then I ask how come NCD dropped for no reason, then she go in and check again, 10 min later come out with a manager, the mgr said becos I have a claim for my old car (not my fault one) in 2007, then 2008 I changed car, the system is showing this as outstanding that's why NCD never bring over properly, then I tell her no logic leh..... how come I can get 40% NCD in 2008 since the accident is already one year ago in 2007, then 2009 cannot get??? [shocked] she said she will checked and let me know on monday, until now no news from them [thumbsdown]