Is Ford Mondeo the best buy in Singapore?

Axela72

Which large family sedan will you choose?  

116 members have voted

1. 1. Pls select which is your preference

• Ford Mondeo
    • Still Japanese Large Sedan
    • Other Conti Large Sedan with same price range

Ford Mondeo has been the best buy in UK. see link:

http://www.whatcar.com/car-reviews-by-type.aspx?RG=3

What is your comments if compare that with Singapore typical Japanese large family sedan like Accord, Camry, Teana, Mark X etc?

Yestersay saw a new Mondeo at my MSCP. Look chio and fresh as compare with the typical Japanese large sedans on the road.

Edited by Axela72

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...=Add+to+Compare

Buy comparing the cars above, it really seem performance is on the low side.

Hopefully ford will bring in their Eco Boost technology into this car, it may give Accord. mark X a strong contender. Imagine 4 cylinder giving a 6 cylinder performance while 6 cylinder a 8 cylinder performance with 20% reduction in FC

See link:

http://www.fordoflondonderry.com/ford-eco-boost.aspx

Furthermore, this car is having the largest wheelbase (2850mm) amongest the rest of its segment.

Edited by Axela72

Anyone know what are the changes on the facelifted Mondeo recently?

It's not a facelift, but a new batch of Mondeos at RM. Too early for a facelift as the model is around in the market for about 1+ year only.

From my understanding, the new batch of Mondeos are lower spec-ed such as no sunroof, 16" rims, and manual front passenger seat.

As they say... Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder...

The word "Best" and "Value" means many different things to different people... End of the day, what're yours?

Is it about how the ADs market and price their vehicles? Who are their target buyers for the different models? Are they interested to take on the perennial favourites? Look at what other brands Vantage Automative carry...

Sorry, only questions, no answers... :D

Buying?

Still Hesitating which large sedan to choose. This car has ever drop till the price of 79k early part of this year. Only if it come with the Eco boost technology and if 2L cc, might go for it if best buy.

Legacy GT? Accord Euro R?

Accord Euro R is same price range? If more, can forget about it because in mandrain "1 cent money, 1 cent good."

Even the smallest cc Accord can cost more than Mondeo. So let us take the smallest cc of Accord to compare.

As for Legacy, that car engine is very old model. Even the new model coming out soon look not much different. A bit small as compare to the rest of the other comparing large family sedan.

Edited by Axela72

AFAIK, the sub-80k price was for clearance of '07 stock... and all cleared liao... Further, COE was at it's lowest levels early part of the year... Probably the lower spec-ed models, they will price it lower... if they are willing to... [rolleyes]

From the models in the price range, there are a few factors to consider e.g. annual depreciation, specs, features, fuel consumption, drive-feel, maintenance, image, etc. Maybe that can help you narrow down your contenders?

Actually, 2nd-hand market for large sedans do represent good value in terms of pricing and depreciation... Considered?

They take out all good things. so sad. <_<

i asked Regent motor abt the sport kit for mondeo (like james bond one) few months back. they said cant help.

if there r such option, i think there will be more Mondeo on s'pore's road today.

Do hope can get the Titanium X here someday.

Accord Euro R is same price range? If more, can forget about it because in mandrain "1 cent money, 1 cent good."

Even the smallest cc Accord can cost more than Mondeo. So let us take the smallest cc of Accord to compare.

As for Legacy, that car engine is very old model. Even the new model coming out soon look not much different. A bit small as compare to the rest of the other comparing large family sedan.

Just my 2 cents, I used to drive an accord but moved on with a mondy. I felt that the accord lacked in so many aspects as compared to the mondy, besides the fuel efficient i-vtec engine. But typical Sinkies would just dive in for the perennial favourites, hence the sales figures. But, do note that sales figures do not portray an accurate picture of how good a car is.

They take out all good things. so sad. <_<

i asked Regent motor abt the sport kit for mondeo (like james bond one) few months back. they said cant help.

if there r such option, i think there will be more Mondeo on s'pore's road today.

Do hope can get the Titanium X here someday.

I was there for an accident repair recently. Accident I/C told me that there would be mondys with full bodykit rolling into the showrooms soon. [gossip]

As for sport kits for mondys, I don't think it will make a huge difference to sales figures. That will in fact inflate costs and might even result in less takers for the car. Just take a look at Focus MKII which had a full bodykit option when first launched. IIRC it was going for a premium of 8k for that option with 17" rims. Many initial models were not bodykitted until about mid to late 2006 when they had to clear many of the full bodykit stocks which I proudly drive around at times.

Edited by Jetabout777

Really? Great news for me! thanks for sharing bro.

Gonna change my 4 years old Vectra and looking for a conti family car.

Viewed C5,159, passat and mondy recently.

guess this kit'ed mondy will make up my mind.