HUD Speedometer

Macross1

great bro!

if we buy from taiwan, we can probably bargain down to about 150 then plus 70 for installation, it'll be abt 220. But if got defect pieces then troublesome. plus the whole hassle of arranging overseas delivery.

I agree with you 280 is a bit ex. If we can get to 250, it'll be ideal. Although lower still will be even better :)

bro Noelleon69, thanks a lot for ur effort. seriously, when we all go fix together, I buy u Kopi ok. ha. kam sia

I can't be sure can bargain how much from the Taiwanese seller though. When mentioned about MO price he just reply maybe NT$3500-3800 ($155-170) which he was kind to offer to send a set at NT$3850 including shipping for me to try even though the listing in Yahoo is at NT$4000. So probably won't get much lesser than $155, don't forget there is still shipping to consider, maybe even GST. Sure... I don't really drink coffee but yeh you can get me ice milo [:)]

1 more thing to note. Upon reading carefully, I realised that there are 3 models:

1) standard (lighting color is green)

2) fashionable (lighting color is white)

3) professional (lighting color is white, can display water temp n voltage)

Which model is the local shop giving us? Personally I just need number 2. Coz green lighting a bit obiang, ha. Of course it's best if we can have 3

http://tw.page.bid.yahoo.com/tw/auction/d37896701

Yep the model I'm referring to here is the pro model. My friend and I only interested in the pro model though, cos if not then no point getting cos you can get a simple HUD with just the speed function for $150? Might as well pay a little more to get the additional functions, that's what I think lah.

hi, I am interested in the standard

Hi, as above the discussion are all on the pro model. I would suggest if you would just want the standard model perhaps you would like to consider other brands, you can go Mcwell and get a simple one showing just speed for $150 with installation [:)]

The price listed in the auction is about SGD180... mayb plus shipping is about SGD30 more..

your source too ex liao.

if is about SGD 150 i am interested too.

hi muz be a bit realistic.

if u win auction plus shipping, it's $210. Plus local installation at $70. Total is $280. Plus no warranty against product defect.

Yeh that is right, say $180 + $30 shipping = $210 then add in $70 installation bringing you to $280 which is the same as getting from the local workshop. Don't forget, there are still bank charges because the Taiwan seller doesn't have paypal which means I've to TT money to his Taiwanese Bank account. [:)]

bro,

the price of 280 is with installation? also one of the bro here mention that they are three models so which model are they selling?

Yes $280 is with installation. As mentioned above it is the pro model [:)]

Edited by Noelleon69

bro can show a pic of a sample?

get a few pics of it in action then it'll be good

I don't have any sample picture, but you can check out the pictures here: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...t&p=2776037

I think those should be fine as reference, cos it shows how it looks like when in operation and not just the device with no light [:)]

By the way I should be starting a MO from the local workshop soon, to see how the response. The MO should be at SHC, easier for me to consolidate orders etc so those interested do go there to order. I will post the link here when I start the MO [:)]

I got some pms that some of you aren't members of SHC and prefer not to register there so I'll just quote my post in SHC for you guys. If you interested just pm me the details accordingly and I will add you to the list there. Cheers!

I have posted about this device in a few car forums before as I was seeking help in sourcing this device locally. I first found out about this in HOTSTUFF magazine, it was in one of the featured cars. Seeing that there are quite a number of interest and calls from people for me to organise a MO, decided to organise one here as most are driving Honda cars (so am I :D).

hud1.jpg

hud2o.jpg

hud3.jpg

Functions (Pro model)

Project information tapped from ECU onto the windscreen such as:

- Speed with warning indicator (Display will turn from white to red when speed hits the speed limit. You can choose your own speed limit to set, up to you.)

- RPM with warning for high RPM

- Water Temperature with warning for high temperature (Requires water adapter which will be provided at no extra cost)

- Battery Voltage with warning for low voltage

- Head light on indicator

- Adjustable display brightness

Just about almost all after market add on HUDs, they only show the speed. This model is unique and shows the RPM (tachometer style not in numbers) as well as additional functions like water temp and voltage. The graphics are cool and probably the nicest around which was what caught my eye in the first place. You probably can't find any other HUD that is this nice, I've done my research online. You can also get some of these functions from sport gauges (like Defi) but those are more expensive, need multiple gauges and don't project onto the windscreen.

This is mostly cosmetic but it does have a valid safety point. With the information projected on the windscreen, your eyes do not have to focus down as much compared to looking at your dashboard speedometer when you want to check your current speed. You can now look forward onto the road and concentrate more on the road with the projection just slightly below your line of sight. The below illustration should explain what I mean.

hud4.jpg

2nd part... that's all!

From lengthy searches online, I can only find a source overseas in Taiwan. The Taiwanese seller currently no stock, but he is willing to send me a set to try out (to see if I can get it to work) for about $180. The thing is it might not be easy to find a workshop that can install this as it requires connection to ECU, so there's always a risk that once I bring in I can't use it. But I like this so I'm willing to try it first, no point organising a mass order if nobody can get it to work.

Then last week I managed to find a local workshop in Ubi who does sell the HUD with installation (there were others but they only do C&C). The set retails for $380 with installation and water adapter. I talked to the boss after negotiation he was willing to go down to about $280 after I told him to give better price if I can get about 20 cars and that I could get the set alone from Taiwan at about $200 give and take. He did say he's open to reducing further depending on the demand so I hope we can get 20 cars first then I try to negotiate better pricing hopefully at about $250. I don't mind paying a little more to save the hassle from shipping from overseas (not to mention avoiding GST for bulk sets order). Plus if do everything from the workshop if anything wrong just go back and troubleshoot.

The thing is since it is quite a big reduction from retail price, he says he don't earn much already. Therefore this MO will be one off, he won't offer this discount again, just do it for me only. For comparison purposes, those simple HUD in the market just displaying speed is about $150 (from Mcwell). Then there are some models which determines speed via GPS and you should know that there's always going to be a margin of error via GPS and the fact that if you are in the tunnel for example, the GPS wouldn't work. Here you are paying a little more for more functions, better accuracy and better graphics. :D

So here goes... target 20 cars, current MO price is $280 but hopefully can reduce further with good response. As per SHC rules, this MO will run for a month, expires on 7 August but I hope it doesn't take that long to hit target with the interest I already got from other forums. If you have friends who are interested but not a member here is ok, just order in your name (but do put your friend's car model if different).

If you think $280 is a bit steep, just put your name down (you can state provided lower than $280) as we all need the numbers to get better pricing/bargaining power. Once hit 20 cars I will check with the workshop again. Don't worry, putting your name in the list now doesn't mean you are committed to the MO. I will contact and confirm again with everyone when target reached about the pricing. Remember this is a one off MO at this special price.

MO LIST

No. Nick / Name / Car Model / Contact

Edited by Noelleon69

Hi guys, after doing research the topic. I find that it is easier to get the GPS kind if hud speedo. It less flashy then some of the ones you see above but it suits my purpose. Plus I live in Australia at the moment so I was thinking of buying it in Singapore and fixing it back home. Not sure if I can find a reliable garage down under.

An example is the Globaltop HUD Speedo. http://www.digitalreviews.net/reviews/navi...00-unboxed.html

Can get from Amazon.

Anyone know where to get GPS HUD in Singapore?

Again all a matter of preference and requirements :)

Yep easy to get GPS kind, it just shows the speed and think maybe there is also a speed warning. But GPS always has it limitations, I don't know how long it takes to fix the position and signal. There's always a chance there might be some inaccuracies but I don't know by how much. The HUD that I just installed yesterday, the speed is the same as my dashboard meters so they both show the same thing.

You can get from Mcwell in Ubi for $150 with installation, I don't know if they are willing to sell you cheaper for C&C.

The link above isn't working, here's the right link: http://www.digitalreviews.net/reviews/navi...date-par-2.html

Just posting some updates after my installation, for those who can't access SHC. Sorry that's the reason why I asked everyone to go there so I won't miss anyone out as that's the place I will post updates since that's where the MO is held, I can't be going around posting stuff on MO that is conducted elsewhere. So for those who didn't register at SHC, I'll share over here. I would love to pm but there's quite a no of you and MCF only allows 1 pm per 2 mins or something which is ridiculous excuse me for saying so [rolleyes] I have joined countless forums over the years and I've never get such a long time limit in between pm sending. By the way the MO is closed already so don't pm me any more asking to join the MO :D

Ok back to topic...

Ok right now stocks have been depleted. There were only a few sets left when I was there, 2 taken by the 2 cars who weren't part of the MO and ordered from the shop last month, I think 2 bros came down pay and so another 2 sets reserved, 1 set for me and another for my CR-V buddy. So have to wait for new stock to arrive.

They have placed an order from the supplier, who will only be able to inform them on Monday on the ETA of new stocks. So if the supplier is able to supply 50 sets or most of the numbers at 1 time, then once it arrives you guys can start making your own installation appointments. So for now you guys just wait for the update on when will the stocks arrive ok? Please don't ask me when will stocks come before I update here cos if I know I will surely post it yeh? 8)

Just to share, I spend the WHOLE day there so I can really tell you guys it is not an easy job to install this and at $250 it is really very worth it man. Can you imagine they have to spend hours on each car just to earn maybe $50. Very glad that they were able to give us this price.

Each car installation will easily take like 3-4 hours. So 1 day they can only install about 4 cars max on estimate. Be prepared to waste half a day there if you want to stay, or else leave your car there and you go back to work. Why mine took so long was because they first time doing for CR-V and my car has a lot of electronics stuff making it complicated. SO generally I was told car with lots electronics or continental cars like MERC they will take longer cos need to figure out the tapping part. And those car models they have yet to do before also will take a bit longer. For cars they have done before or cars not so complicated with electronics still ok.

to be continued...

continued from previous post...

The most complicated part of the installation is for the water temp sensor. They will have to drain the coolant and insert the sensor and then fill up the coolant again. So for this part I must say, you guys decide for yourself whether you want this function or not as most car users don't really need to monitor water temp if you are just doing normal driving and and mostly in SG. I mean even if you do travel up north also not so easy get over heated unless your car is really old. So this function I feel is nice to have but not really that important so it is up to you. If you don't install this then I think the job is simpler for them and will complete installation faster.

Also car dashboards vary obviously, for my CR-V the design a bit funny so not so easy to find the right spot to place the HUD to have the right projection position and level that I want. If you car dashboard is mostly simple and flat then very easy, unlike mine. SO a tip for you guys is, get the mechanic to leave some slack wire so you can play around where to position your HUD. Also get the mechanic to let you experiment where to place the HUD once they installed till the stage where the HUD can power on. For my case the mechanic didn't inform me and chose the spot himself, so now my wire into the dashboard is kind of short and I can't adjust much the position.

They will calibrate the HUD for you so you don't have to do anything other than to set your own warning speed level which you can do it yourself anytime by pressing the button. You will be taught how to use so not to worry, not difficult. Due to solar film, the projection is double image so not to worry also it is like that. That's why they give a transparent and lightly tinted reflective film. Once you have settled on the position of the HUD, at your own time just stick the reflective film over the spot where the projection is and you will not get the double image already.

I was monitoring the HUD on my way home and the information shown are accurate to what my meters are showing. Of course ideally placing the projection higher is better such that you don't need to tilt your eyeball down much and you can see the information but you have to decide for yourself whether you can live with the reflective film for the HUD that high up on your windscreen in front of you if not then adjust it lower.

I will SMS those of you the details of the workshop tomorrow so when stock does arrive, just call them to make installation appointments accordingly on your own. Estimated arrival of stocks about 2 weeks, shipping from overseas.

hi , can anyone tell me where to install that??? cant really login to the shc forum :(

so its $250 isit ?

Wha bro you very lag leh lol... you asked me to pm you more than a month ago and I replied you here: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...81437&st=25

More than a month later than you reply here haha... that price is special one off MO price and the MO already ended sorry. [blush]

No problem with SHC...if it is something to do with activation then check your email junk/spam folder.

HUD speedometer with additional device that clutters the dashboard??

Un cool...

Should wait till those that are trully HUD; thin film LCD with Micro-LED embedded screen which is basically just like solar film, and uses thin flex film connectors. Capable of also displaying other information such as compass, graphical output from GPS, external or internal temperatures, video output from reverse parking cam, etc.

Edited by Cjgoh

huh , lol i din know .

so how ???? u mean i cant get it liao ???? or i can jus go down n order myself ???

Not at that price... retail price think is $380 [:)] No stocks now also, waiting for stocks to arrive. Don't forget to enable your pm less you miss out on something again :D

HUD speedometer with additional device that clutters the dashboard??

Un cool...

Should wait till those that are trully HUD; thin film LCD with Micro-LED embedded screen which is basically just like solar film, and uses thin flex film connectors. Capable of also displaying other information such as compass, graphical output from GPS, external or internal temperatures, video output from reverse parking cam, etc.

Well it is up to personal preference... you want you can wait... maybe 10 years later if have then you buy lor and cost a bomb :D This is the closest one can get at the moment, maybe you also like to wait for handphones in the size of ear pieces then you buy HP? Or don't buy a car with tires until the airless tires become available to mass market? :D Must be realistic, you want ultimate stuff you can wait forever or you settle with the next best thing now and enjoy first [:)]

Actually the device isn't big. quite slim also. [;)]

Edited by Noelleon69