OPC mindset

Picanto

i would like to find out what triggers OPC drivers to take the risk to beat the system. the punishment is heavy yet they still dare to do it. any comments?

You should just PM LeePee and ask directly (then let us know the reply) [laugh] He-she is quite vocal about being a cheat.

[sweatdrop] Zero enforcement on the roads...

And also, if you post in forums to say that OPC cheats are wrong, you'll get innundated by howls of fury from OPC Cheat supporters who scream that "you have nothing better to do?"

Ah yes...this one famous...go arnd posting that "Cannot catch u if u cheat one...just quickly tear the coupon when u kenna stop and can dispute!"

Cheapskate.

[sweatdrop] Zero enforcement on the roads...

And also, if you post in forums to say that OPC cheats are wrong, you'll get innundated by howls of fury from OPC Cheat supporters who scream that "you have nothing better to do?"

no lah.........i dun want to coment on right or wrong. just interested to know why OPC drivers willing to take a BIG risk to cheat the govt. what is their mindset like?

You should just PM LeePee and ask directly (then let us know the reply) [laugh] He-she is quite vocal about being a cheat.

of course it would be interesting to hear from a uni-sex driver. [rolleyes]

OPC cheats are [thumbsdown] They give normal car owners more excuses to look down on OPC owners as a whole. But it is their life and they can do whatever they want, not my problem as long as I do not cheat. <_<

Same mentality as those who buy Toto/4D, but opposite in a sense.

Instead of "I will be e lucky one!", it has become "I wun be so lucky to tio one lar"

I always advise my customers not to mess wif it, e penalty is just not worth e risk...

Edited by Iziz

There are really two general groups of OPC owners.

Group 1:

Owners who already own multiple cars in the household and they buy an OPC sports car, or cabriolet, just for weekend use. That's a wise move, as why need to pay full tax when they can/will only use this niche car for weekend drives to the club only? I don't think this group will try to cheat the system, and even if there are a few recalcitrants, they ought to only form the minority.

Group 2:

Barely can afford a normal car, so go the el-cheapo route of an OPC (and hopefully to "double" it up as a normal 'day car'). Can save $17,000 in up-front payment and as low as $50/year on road tax (if its a small-cc car) ... so bery good what!!? But how to use it to ferry children to school, wife to work and then yourself to work? Start early everyday and then increase driving speed as it gets near 7am, then drive like a madman. If still cannot beat that, then re-use OPC coupon lor! Can save another $20/day some more! Family's/own life not so important lah, but need to save face and be seen to own car - that's more important what .... hor?

Everybody has different risk threshold... to those who cheat on OPC, their appetite is bigger or they've done their sums and concluded that its waaaaaay cheaper to cheat on OPC than to pay for a coupon, or buy a normal plate car.

its illogica but they are helped by a system which is just too simple to beat...its like downloading music from the internet....have free mp3, why pay to get the real one....

but in the end, sme one always pays.....although I must admit, mostly its not the OPC cheaters, its those who are morally upright and pay in using the coupons.

Same mentality as those who buy Toto/4D, but opposite in a sense.

Instead of "I will be e lucky one!", it has become "I wun be so lucky to tio one lar"

I always advise my customers not to mess wif it, e penalty is just not worth e risk...

buy toto=hope to strike

cheat on opc= hope TP/LTA never strikes

Everybody has different risk threshold... to those who cheat on OPC, their appetite is bigger or they've done their sums and concluded that its waaaaaay cheaper to cheat on OPC than to pay for a coupon, or buy a normal plate car.

its illogica but they are helped by a system which is just too simple to beat...its like downloading music from the internet....have free mp3, why pay to get the real one....

but in the end, sme one always pays.....although I must admit, mostly its not the OPC cheaters, its those who are morally upright and pay in using the coupons.

for every opc that cheats, lta loses $20. in the end its the govt that loses $$. for normal car drivers, i believe we dun lose any $$. we just carry on with life as usual.

of course it would be interesting to hear from a uni-sex driver. [rolleyes]

More like multi-sex [:p] I'm waiting to see what that one say because right now none of the OPC cheats have commented and we're all just guessing.

how much is the fine? if it is too little like 100, then people will am more willing to cheat as takes 5 cheats only to win back the money.

Bro, you think OPC owners are poor and cannot afford normal car is it? You better change your mindset, boy.

Group 3

People who only need to use car on weekends and are unlikely to screw the OPC system and cheat.

not worth the risk lor.just pay $20,can use the whole day like nobody's business.

to those who cheat,sometimes,it doesn't necessarily are those who can't afford to pay..it's just in their system to cheat.everyday at jln jurong kechil can see a Touran rushing home after 7.30am. [lipsrsealed]