Scoots 3rd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 i would like to find out what triggers OPC drivers to take the risk to beat the system. the punishment is heavy yet they still dare to do it. any comments? I think the more correct ternm to use is 'OPC cheats'... NOt all OPC drivers cheat... just as not all drivers speed ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes. Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned. For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends. Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system. Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system. No longer OPC required. After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit. Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa. Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...). I think I can be a better MP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes. Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned. For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends. Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system. Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system. No longer OPC required. After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit. Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa. Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...). I think I can be a better MP. That's what they are already planning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 (edited) OPC cheat topic aside, how often do they run a fxxking deficit? (not saying they don't but how often?) They (the collective "authorities" as a whole) collect so much money until they do not fxxking know what to do with it until they lose it in western banks/ minibonds/ etc, start thinking of how to increase minister's pay further. So much money until town council think they are mini-tamadesick. When talk abt increase public assistance to 3000 families, they increase by $50/ mth from $250 to $300 initially, they come up with CCB so many reasons (like eroding work ethic etc). Increasing the minister's pay by more than 50,000 won't erode work ethic? Ok. Back to OPC cheats. If u put one nekkid SYT in front of some guys, their brain functions shut down and the other HEAD goes full throttle, then later kenna STDs etc or wreck family ties, come forum cry father cry mother. Cannot resist temptation. Well said my friend !! Edited July 22, 2009 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinnn Neutral Newbie July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 if we happen to spot 1 on the road, or rather spot 1 everyday.. can we report? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 In your own words then, OPC cheats are smart..those who willingly pay for use of the coupon are stupid... The system is flawed because its based on the premise - that Singaporeans will not cheat. haha...As we can all see, its flawed... I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes. Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned. For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends. Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system. Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system. No longer OPC required. After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit. Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa. Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...). I think I can be a better MP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Hmm..yes, then the whole point of your argument is that its human nature to give in to temptation... Follow up question then...is it right or wrong to cheat then? In the end, the need to justify one's action in cheating says a lot about a person's moral values...Note, I'm not referring to those who genuinely forgot, but rather those who are so proud of the act of cheating at OPC that they brag about it... If u put one nekkid SYT in front of some guys, their brain functions shut down and the other HEAD goes full throttle, then later kenna STDs etc or wreck family ties, come forum cry father cry mother. Cannot resist temptation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 (edited) no lah.........i dun want to coment on right or wrong. just interested to know why OPC drivers willing to take a BIG risk to cheat the govt. what is their mindset like? Simple lor... They think they can get away with it... Just like any person who indulges in casual sex... they think that it will be be 'someone else' who will get aids Just like a smoker who continues with chain smoking... they think that it will be 'someone else' who will get lung cancer They'll only regret when it's too late Edited July 22, 2009 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Can...but expect to be flamed by OPC cheats now who insist that you have nothing better to do... if we happen to spot 1 on the road, or rather spot 1 everyday.. can we report? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes. Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned. For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends. Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system. Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system. No longer OPC required. After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit. Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa. Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...). I think I can be a better MP. Next election you contest against Lemon... I vote for you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Hmm..yes, then the whole point of your argument is that its human nature to give in to temptation... Follow up question then...is it right or wrong to cheat then? In the end, the need to justify one's action in cheating says a lot about a person's moral values...Note, I'm not referring to those who genuinely forgot, but rather those who are so proud of the act of cheating at OPC that they brag about it... It's human to be tempted. To GIVE IN to temptation is a choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Exactly...so is it justifiable for a person to cheat, and then say that "its only cheating the gahmen's money, I'm not hurting anyone." In the end, cheating is cheating...actually no need to come up with any excuses... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Exactly...so is it justifiable for a person to cheat, and then say that "its only cheating the gahmen's money, I'm not hurting anyone." In the end, cheating is cheating...actually no need to come up with any excuses... Their choice... they enjoy the kick, they bear the consequences, their quality of character. If their integrity is worth $20, then.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Cheating is human nature. Especially Singaporeans, who always want to 'one up' the Govt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes. Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned. For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends. Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system. Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system. No longer OPC required. After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit. Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa. Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...). I think I can be a better MP. If you can tell the rest of the Singaporeans Mee Rebus Mai Hum I think you can make a better PM too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 22, 2009 Author Share July 22, 2009 If you can tell the rest of the Singaporeans Mee Rebus Mai Hum I think you can make a better PM too that mai hum guy . what does a man born with a golden spoon in his mouth know about the plight of the lower income? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 another way of Pay as You Drive is to tax heavily for petrol. Afterall, the more you drive, the more petrol you consume and thus the more you pay. In this way, one can do away with the COE and thus high car price. Take for example, the $$ I spent on my 1.5CC I can purchase a teana in HKG but I have to pay about 3 times the price of petrol than in Singapore. I can also forsee should this ever happen, either many malaysian living in Johor but working in singapore will buy car in singapore or more singaporeans will live in johor, perhaps. I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes. Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned. For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends. Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system. Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system. No longer OPC required. After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit. Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa. Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...). I think I can be a better MP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 There are really two general groups of OPC owners. Group 1: Owners who already own multiple cars in the household and they buy an OPC sports car, or cabriolet, just for weekend use. That's a wise move, as why need to pay full tax when they can/will only use this niche car for weekend drives to the club only? I don't think this group will try to cheat the system, and even if there are a few recalcitrants, they ought to only form the minority. Group 2: Barely can afford a normal car, so go the el-cheapo route of an OPC (and hopefully to "double" it up as a normal 'day car'). Can save $17,000 in up-front payment and as low as $50/year on road tax (if its a small-cc car) ... so bery good what!!? But how to use it to ferry children to school, wife to work and then yourself to work? Start early everyday and then increase driving speed as it gets near 7am, then drive like a madman. If still cannot beat that, then re-use OPC coupon lor! Can save another $20/day some more! Family's/own life not so important lah, but need to save face and be seen to own car - that's more important what .... hor? Think there's a Group 3: No need to drive during weekdays or peak hours. Only drive during weekends for function or evenings. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...