OPC mindset

Picanto

You made Group 2 sound so pitiful. I don't like even though I'm an OPC basher! And I hate road hoggers as well!

Edited by Urns

I think OPC system is relatively good but ultimately human will tend to spot the loopholes.

Cannot blame the smart OPC drivers, just that the system is not fine tuned.

For example, an owner got a sedan car for normal usage and another OPC sporty car for weekends.

Instead of the idea of OPC system, the govt should consider "Pay-As-You-Drive" (PAYD) system.

Either set satelite to trace the drive or revert all cars to PAYD system.

No longer OPC required.

After PAYD is in place, road tax can be omit.

Higher usage = higher roadtax and vice versa.

Rather than using CC to gauge road tax payment (hmmmmm...).

I think I can be a better MP. ^_^

Thats actually what they're moving towards to. Do a search for the term OPC on the LTA website, and dig a bit. You'll find the article that says exactly what you're proposing.

another way of Pay as You Drive is to tax heavily for petrol. Afterall, the more you drive, the more petrol you consume and thus the more you pay.

In this way, one can do away with the COE and thus high car price.

Take for example, the $$ I spent on my 1.5CC I can purchase a teana in HKG but I have to pay about 3 times the price of petrol than in Singapore.

I can also forsee should this ever happen, either many malaysian living in Johor but working in singapore will buy car in singapore or more singaporeans will live in johor, perhaps.

Just you wait. They'll have the electronic PAYD system, and they'll have additional tax on fuel as some sort of environmental tax, plus there'll be some sort of minimal road tax to "cover roads that are not covered by the electronic PAYD system"

Edited by Elfenstar

I totally agreed with you. I rather pay $20 for ease of mind than to try to break the rules. May bypass the system once but not always so lucky one. So we should not brand all OPC as the same. Well, we are dealing with people issue here.

Yup, I agree with Simon. I rather pay for the peace of mind. I drive an OPC and whenever I tear the coupon, I'll try to clock at least 100km within the restricted time, to utilize the coupon fully. [:p]

I always have the tendency to see those OPC if there is a day coupon displayed and if it doesn't, it really amazes me the kinda guts they have. [shocked]

Same principle for car park coupon. Put a 50c at least and if expire, prob kena $6-10 depending on expired time length. No coupon, straight away $30, no need talk at all. Lagi worse right??

Yes, it's human nature to beat the sys but jus one time, one time when Lady luck is not home.... that'll set you back $1K as a 1st offender. If you are an elderly folk, then maybe got abit of discount.

Imagine the no. of day coupons one can buy with that fine... [:p]

we got many comments and no flame wars. thats good. but do you think charging them $20 is a bit expensive? or should it be cheaper?

Yup, I agree with Simon. I rather pay for the peace of mind. I drive an OPC and whenever I tear the coupon, I'll try to clock at least 100km within the restricted time, to utilize the coupon fully. [:p]

I always have the tendency to see those OPC if there is a day coupon displayed and if it doesn't, it really amazes me the kinda guts they have. [shocked]

Same principle for car park coupon. Put a 50c at least and if expire, prob kena $6-10 depending on expired time length. No coupon, straight away $30, no need talk at all. Lagi worse right??

Yes, it's human nature to beat the sys but jus one time, one time when Lady luck is not home.... that'll set you back $1K as a 1st offender. If you are an elderly folk, then maybe got abit of discount.

Imagine the no. of day coupons one can buy with that fine... [:p]

Fine only 1k meh? i tot at least a 10k...? [gossip]

[sweatdrop] Think if caught "Cheating" then 10k. never put can just be because forgot but if tamper with the coupon, bye bye....

we got many comments and no flame wars. thats good. but do you think charging them $20 is a bit expensive? or should it be cheaper?

$20 expensive??? No...

Money is money i guess but 20 bucks is not tat much really sadly getting the coupon is pain.

Edited by Kman08

Money is money i guess but 20 bucks is not tat much really sadly getting the coupon is pain.

Agreed, but its not as if we didn't know before we bought our OPC's.

Every morning without fail will see those subaru impreza,fake suzuki swift sport,red plate chiong on expressway.Seriously,no money buy coupons then take bus,why risk other ppl life by chionging on expressway when raining?cut ppl lane just to reach before 7am.How fast can they go when I'm already 90 in the tunnel and in front of me is a taxi.End up what those ppl got,7.05 at the exit of the expressway.Does it make them a cheat?Well,I think they are.Seriously,with those cheats coming up.I would soon write to TP to get them to station on CTE,in between two tunnels to catch those cheats.they are just too much.Just my 2 cents worth.

u mean only those OPC drivers chiong on expressway n risk other ppl life on the road... u mean COE drivers are all safety n patience drivers?

sorry.. i guess we must be fair in our judgement on others..

of course we have OPC cheats but we have also parking coupon cheaters from many owners... be it both OPC or COE owners. but its individual thinking n individual behaviour.. not because of OPC or COE plate owners.

Hate the coupon cheaters, hate the reckless drivers, hate the OPC scheme even, but please do not hate or discriminate OPCs or their owners. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Anyone disagree on my above statement?

that mai hum guy [thumbsdown] . what does a man born with a golden spoon in his mouth know about the plight of the lower income?

Through his father, SM Goh, 2 deputy prime ministers, 2 ministers for prime ministers office and his wife? [laugh]

So many people to help him and cover his backside. What to do, it has happen. Lets move on [laugh]

I agree totally.. as an OPC driver myself, gettin the coupon is really a pain in the ass! Only singpost outlets sells it and gotta queue like siao. Many times, they r out of OPC coupons also! [thumbsdown]

Think there's a Group 3:

No need to drive during weekdays or peak hours. Only drive during weekends for function or evenings.

These are the real OPC drivers. Just implement that as it is. Why need to allow OPC drivers to use the car on weekdays via coupon and then have to get man power to monitor their proper usage? Just dont allow them to use on weekdays peak period and thats it.

again...we are passing judgment on others again...

if like tis, honest opc drivers can also say tis... not sure if u agree thou...

'Why need to allow COE drivers to cheat on parking coupon everytime and then have to get man power to monitor their proper usage? Just fine them double hard when they are being caught since they got $ to buy COE cars and thats it' ..

we cun say tis rite? afterall, how many dare to say they NEVER cheat on coupons..be it OPC or COE owners or neva go against traffic rules...

who cheat, pay for it... so simple.. dun care wat status of these drivers....

to be fair to the opc, i think we should not be [furious]

think about if u r parking using coupon, do u ...??? [lipsrsealed]

u cheat, be prepared to face the charges if caught.

mayb garment shld invest in system similar to carpark erp for opc cars. once car moves during off opc hrs, charge accordingly loh..

btw, i am not an opc..

Edited by Tleslie

again...we are passing judgment on others again...

if like tis, honest opc drivers can also say tis... not sure if u agree thou...

'Why need to allow COE drivers to cheat on parking coupon everytime and then have to get man power to monitor their proper usage? Just fine them double hard when they are being caught since they got $ to buy COE cars and thats it' ..

we cun say tis rite? afterall, how many dare to say they NEVER cheat on coupons..be it OPC or COE owners or neva go against traffic rules...

who cheat, pay for it... so simple.. dun care wat status of these drivers....

To tell you frankly, I am also against parking coupon too, especially at areas where they can implement gantry, like for example the carpark beside Lavender MRT. I remember I park there to collect my renewed passport and due to some hicups mine was delayed and I have to go down to add coupons again. There are obvious reasons why they dont implement gantry there.

Just save all the trouble and time and implement something which is efficient and easy for everyone.