HubStation

Caaa

My 3 years old DVR giving problem....the image cannot appear properly on TV, was using RCA cable, so bought S-video cable to try still don't work....not sure how much to repair but tempting to get a new one...hehe [:p]

Check around - cheapest DVR (LG - W/O HDD) is around SGD199, (LG -160G HDD) is abt SGD388..... [rolleyes]

Am also considering starhub HubStation (160G HDD) with recording function and cost me additional SGD4+/mth since I am already paying SGD4+ for my digital set-up box....however not too sure about the function, any MCFer using it and can share with me the following:

1. Can hubstation records free-to-air channel?

2. Must we turn on the hubstation before recording? or it will auto turn on when recording time is reach?

3. SH calimed the hubstation can view one program and record another, does this mean we need to have two sets of cable and two channels (of TV) ? if so, while recording, can we switch program (using SH remote control) to check recording program and revert back to our cureent watching program?

4. Any other unique good and bad points about hubstation as comapre to a stand alone DVR?

Thanks in advance for sharing the information. [thumbsup]

mi using 1 so i may noe a thing or 2......

1.y (recorded LFC vs Thailand but ve not watch)

2.once recording is set, box can shut it off but don unplug [laugh] . It will auto record even in OFF mode.

3.onli 1 cable

4.1 gd pt....if spoilt, no need repair, juz go n chge another one as its lease n not bought. Unless of course u bought it from SH. Btw, HD got 80hrs of recording n if u miss earlier prt of a show, can always rewind back to view it.

5. Remote control sucks thou [smash]

Yes, plus all the other cable channels

2. Must we turn on the hubstation before recording? or it will auto turn on when recording time is reach?

Yes to program, No to record. to program is real easy. just go to the program guide, press Rec (the blue button showing on the TV) and you can choose the record the entire series or just that particular episode. Because it's based on Starhub timing, you don't need to worry about whether your DVR time is correct or not, or if you set it to the correct channel. If you are kiasu, you can even set the recording to start earlier by a minute or 2

3. SH calimed the hubstation can view one program and record another, does this mean we need to have two sets of cable and two channels (of TV) ?

if so, while recording, can we switch program (using SH remote control) to check recording program and revert back to our cureent watching program?

Haven't really try this out, but i think it's true. you don't need 2 sets of cable and channel (someone correct me if i am wrong here)

4. Any other unique good and bad points about hubstation as comapre to a stand alone DVR?

there were some complaints earlier that the network card in the recorder gives problem. Mine so far so good. then again, only been about 2 months using it. In anycase, it shouldn't matter now as you are renting the set from SH. It seems they stop selling the set. I signed up mine that combines the HS, a separate cable modem and free digital voice, all these and it's still cheaper than my old cable modem plan. If you have a existing cable modem, they will give you 3000 points instead.

p.s.....i don't work for that green company hor

Edited by Scenic98

agree. the new one, i.e. the one without a qwerty keyboard, is too sensitive. and your finger need to travel all over the control to perform a simple function like programming.

Was originally using the 1 set top box that cannot record. Ever since I change to the hubstation, seems to give me problems avg once a week.. Always need to call the provider to reset for me... The server for demand tv, no idea y sometimes will down de...

Maybe i got a lemon !

2.once recording is set, box can shut it off but don unplug [laugh] . It will auto record even in OFF mode.

3.onli 1 cable

4.1 gd pt....if spoilt, no need repair, juz go n chge another one as its lease n not bought. Unless of course u bought it from SH. Btw, HD got 80hrs of recording n if u miss earlier prt of a show, can always rewind back to view it.

Agree with you, me using the Hubstation too. And can also view the recorded programs while the hubstation is busy with the recording.

Only complain is the remote control, and the hubstation can be quite slow when navigating the menu.

Yes

Yes, the unit need to be switch ON.

3. SH calimed the hubstation can view one program and record another, does this mean we need to have two sets of cable and two channels (of TV) ? if so, while recording, can we switch program (using SH remote control) to check recording program and revert back to our cureent watching program?

Unless you need to record 2 free-to-air channels at the same time, else most of the SH channels will repeat at other time, thus you can schedule to record the channel later.

Hubstation is useful if you like to watch free-to-air and SH channels. Schedule to record your favourite channels is very easy. You cannot play external avi movies. Hubstation comes with 1 M free Internet, if you are very lite Internet surfer, it is good enough. However not sure SH will extend the free 1 M Internet at end of this year.

Hubstation is good, i have been using one for more than 1 year. I bought mine for about $200 from Starhub. However, I notice it is slow in response lately and no more warranty liao. The new one is HD right?

Beside the plus points mentioned by other MCFers, i would said one more plus point is the free broadband. At least it serves my basic internet usage needs and save me another $20 a month.

The remote control I have is really too big.

not so bro, box need not to be turn on for recording preset programm

3.onli 1 cable

Huh remote control suck? care to share why? Thanks!

Was originally using the 1 set top box that cannot record. Ever since I change to the hubstation, seems to give me problems avg once a week.. Always need to call the provider to reset for me... The server for demand tv, no idea y sometimes will down de...

Maybe i got a lemon !

ops.....which part of island r u putting up? I heard some complain even on normal digital setup box too but usually its those landed.... [:p]

Agree with you, me using the Hubstation too. And can also view the recorded programs while the hubstation is busy with the recording.

Only complain is the remote control, and the hubstation can be quite slow when navigating the menu.

thanks for sharing...noted on remote control again...seems its no so user-friendly.....

Yes

Unless you need to record 2 free-to-air channels at the same time, else most of the SH channels will repeat at other time, thus you can schedule to record the channel later.

Hubstation is useful if you like to watch free-to-air and SH channels. Schedule to record your favourite channels is very easy. You cannot play external avi movies. Hubstation comes with 1 M free Internet, if you are very lite Internet surfer, it is good enough. However not sure SH will extend the free 1 M Internet at end of this year.

Thanks for sharing......by the way, this Hubstation cannot record on DVD disc right? I am now with STBB so the 1M interenet is not important..... [laugh]

Hubstation is good, i have been using one for more than 1 year. I bought mine for about $200 from Starhub. However, I notice it is slow in response lately and no more warranty liao. The new one is HD right?

Beside the plus points mentioned by other MCFers, i would said one more plus point is the free broadband. At least it serves my basic internet usage needs and save me another $20 a month.

The remote control I have is really too big.

Thanks for reply.....seems the remote control (again) is the only common minus point. Why would u need to buy than rent? tot renting is better cos is spoil just change...unlike my current set, have to consider whether to repair or buy new ( or rent from SH).....nowaday electronic repair may not be worth as labour is high but new gadget is cheap.... [rolleyes]

u increase volume n it skip channels.....tryin to b too clever. mayb lousy membrane design [thumbsdown]

oic.....but me old man so think I am slower than the respond of the remote control so shd be a bearerable issue.... [laugh]

I am ok with my current remote control (of the standard digital setup box) so how is it compare with the Hubstation remote control? and do the hubstation come with clock...think I saw it on some pictures.... [:)]

Cause there was a period of time when Starhub was selling the Hubstation instead of renting.....

But I got mine free when i re-contract during a promotion.... Jus hope that it don't spoil or else it will become a big paper weight.... [sweatdrop]

I still have to pay the monthly fee of $8 though..... [:(]

Overall, I would say that the Hubstation is not bad even though it has a slower start-up than normal digital box.....