Havoline Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 (edited) I tink the new system would be similar to those car co-op thing. The car would be fitted with a GSM +GPS device. Whenever the owner wana use his OPC car, he just SMS to a specific number and the ignition is automatically unlocked. When the car is inside a building/underground, it still can be tracked by the GSM device. This can be implemented to normal plate cars too. It will be pay as u use. But frankly, I think such system will destroy one's freedom in SG. Whenever u go, bug bro will be watching. On the other end, no need to afraid to lost of vehicle. Pls stop putting these ideas into the their head, its bad enuff for us already, u making it worst. What different is this from public transport, pay per use!!! Private ownership is when u pay for the car, and all the taxes that goes with it, privilege of use as and when u like. Thats the scheme of COE in the first place, if car population is really taxing on the roads, than make COE $1million lah, see if it would reduce veh population anot. Its legislation's desire for more money thats why twisted such additional extra system for money. Sad. Very soon, we dont own anything in Sg anymore, its a leasehold country. Edited August 20, 2009 by Havoline ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 Who is this "us" you are talking about? OPC owners? Or generally car owners? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 (edited) our government is spending billions upgrading the directory maps & GPS system they are exploring either the Taiwan, Japan, or even the Germany & Sweden systems. basically, not only all vehicles (categorized) are tracked by their movements, cars populations in town areas, buildings or even HDB carparks can be updated & monitored. Its also shared across all in a country functional sectors - security, defences, infrastructurals etc. of cos, no free lunch - government will make us pay for the services rendered to us. The question is whether it is transparent, mandotary, compulsary or at default statuses - i.e. in the form of subscriptions, road tax, insurance, car ownerships etc. Example - we dunno how much we have paid for that plastic MRT card used . . . . we could have used the chip nowadays which is <1 cts with all these above, OPC cars will not be spared. Example: credit cards are able to pay for ERP nowadays. so if the OPC weekday coupon...... so it will be charged if the car moves with the time/dates recorded. that will go for normal cars too on ERP........... nothing can escape.......sillypore, the FINE city. Cheers Edited August 20, 2009 by A_korusawa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 This reminds me of those LOGAN FREE LOADERS and LYCHEE FREE LOADERS I had seen at the Giant Supermarket everytime... until the staff had to come and stopped them... then they still yaya say... TESTING MAH !!!! So Singaporeans are all freeloaders??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 our government is spending billions upgrading the directory maps & GPS system they are exploring either the Taiwan, Japan, or even the Germany & Sweden systems. basically, not only all vehicles (categorized) are tracked by their movements, cars populations in town areas, buildings or even HDB carparks can be updated & monitored. Its also shared across all in a country functional sectors - security, defences, infrastructurals etc. of cos, no free lunch - government will make us pay for the services rendered to us. The question is whether it is transparent, mandotary, compulsary or at default statuses - i.e. in the form of subscriptions, road tax, insurance, car ownerships etc. Example - we dunno how much we have paid for that plastic MRT card used . . . . we could have used the chip nowadays which is <1 cts With all these above, OPC cars will not be spared. Example: credit cards are able to pay for ERP nowadays. So if the OPC weekday coupon...... so it will be charged if the car moves with the time/dates recorded. Nothing can escape.......sillypore, the FINE city. Cheers fact is that technologies to track/monitor vehicles already exists long ago. it is technically feasible. Question is only whether gov wants to do or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 1000 X $10000 fine = $10,000,000 Good revenue leh, if i were LTA, I won't bother make it cheat proof, I'll rather hire more people to catch and fine these buggers and make even more $. Wow, cheaters are actually contributing to our society. wei u think how many will pay the 10-15k fine? i know of people who earn 2k/month kana catch, rather go in sit 1 month & can save the 10k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 Its human nature...to take advantage of the situation...doesn't make it acceptable... what I cannot stand, is if someone enters into a contract willingly, take advantage of the deal by breaking it, then justify it by saying "its all right. I'm only cheating the gahmen's money"...it really shouldn't matter whose money is it right? Means take from rich can? What kind of morals is this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenium Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 (edited) The more high tech & convenient the new system will be, it will create the more problem. People will make the use of OPC cars more often, the it will eventually defeat the system. So to solve this, the peak hour usage charges should be very high. Very high that should make owners feel not worth it to drive. If current rate is $20, change it to $50 or $100. Edited August 20, 2009 by Scenium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 Seriously this is the problem with the people over here. There is 2 side to a coin. Yes I do agree some normal plate people over here do marginalised the OPC owners. However, OPC owners after enjoying the 17K rebate which means acknowleding the conditions tied to it... after some time... then they started going.. WE WANT MORE!!! WE WANT MORE!!! This reminds me of those LOGAN FREE LOADERS and LYCHEE FREE LOADERS I had seen at the Giant Supermarket everytime... until the staff had to come and stopped them... then they still yaya say... TESTING MAH !!!! When your company hired you, the employment contract already have an agreed salary, and you accepted. So do you work year after year with the same salary? Or u hope to get pay increments? After all you join the company that time u already agree to that salary liao mah, so u should not expect any increments ever right? So do you reject the increments that your company want to give you? And when your company do well, they want to pay you bonus. Do you reject the bonus? Do you say "My contract says I should be paid $x, and I have already received $x, so please do not give me any bonus because it is not in contract." Do you reject bonuses? Do you reject increments? So anything wrong with people hoping to get more benefits for OPC? Is it unlawful? Is it unethical? Is it sinful? Or is it normal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 When your company hired you, the employment contract already have an agreed salary, and you accepted. So do you work year after year with the same salary? Or u hope to get pay increments? After all you join the company that time u already agree to that salary liao mah, so u should not expect any increments ever right? So do you reject the increments that your company want to give you? And when your company do well, they want to pay you bonus. Do you reject the bonus? Do you say "My contract says I should be paid $x, and I have already received $x, so please do not give me any bonus because it is not in contract." Do you reject bonuses? Do you reject increments? So anything wrong with people hoping to get more benefits for OPC? Is it unlawful? Is it unethical? Is it sinful? Or is it normal? The analogy does not even make sense. When you work at a company long enough, you gain experience and you CONTRIBUTE to the company, resulting in them wanting to give you your bonuses and increments. If you were always late for work, MIA or screw up your projects, would you still get said increments or bonuses? Likewise, OPC does not contribute in anyway to the roads nor do you improve anything, why should you expect more benefits? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 The more high tech & convenient the new system will be, it will create the more problem. People will make the use of OPC cars more often, the it will eventually defeat the system. So to solve this, the peak hour usage charges should be very high. Very high that should make owners feel not worth it to drive. If current rate is $20, change it to $50 or $100. I absolutely agree. And because now the traffic everyday is still like s--t, I also suggest to solve this problem, more ERP be set up and per entry to ERP be up to $50 per gantry for all cars. Otherwise it will defeat the purpose of ERP if still so many cars can affordto drive through. I absolutely like your idea of solving traffic problems and support you. U shold be the PM and I the transport minister. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 (edited) The analogy does not even make sense. When you work at a company long enough, you gain experience and you CONTRIBUTE to the company, resulting in them wanting to give you your bonuses and increments. If you were always late for work, MIA or screw up your projects, would you still get said increments or bonuses? Likewise, OPC does not contribute in anyway to the roads nor do you improve anything, why should you expect more benefits? But according to the article, OPCs do contribute to solving traffic jams, and more cars should be encouraged to convert to OPCs. Therefore, more benefits to encourage more OPCs. So seems like my analogy do have some sense to it, hmmm. Aiya, f**k it lah, I'll just convert my OPC to normal and start driving to work tomorrow, contributing to the jams. If you can't beat them, join them. All 45000 OPCs, join me to convert? If we all convert and make traffic come to standstill, maybe they'll beg us to convert back to OPC, lol Edited August 20, 2009 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 its just a bad analogy...no offense... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 its just a bad analogy...no offense... Sure. I am not much of an analogy person anyway, hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 According to the report in below, looks like the OPC scheme revamp is going to have many changes (eg. No more ugly red plates ) and not just focusing on the saturday issue. http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Motorworld...818-161813.html that's just the viewpoint of christopher tan. it does not mean the govt will follow what he says. anyway, that guy always review cars for the straits times and motoring magazines. for biased views, his is the review to read. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2009 Author Share August 20, 2009 The analogy does not even make sense. When you work at a company long enough, you gain experience and you CONTRIBUTE to the company, resulting in them wanting to give you your bonuses and increments. If you were always late for work, MIA or screw up your projects, would you still get said increments or bonuses? Likewise, OPC does not contribute in anyway to the roads nor do you improve anything, why should you expect more benefits? OPC contributes by reducing congestion on the roads. Can u imagine now all the 45000 OPC changed into black plates and these cars start to fight for a space with the already congested roads esp durnig peak hrs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 20, 2009 Author Share August 20, 2009 that's just the viewpoint of christopher tan. it does not mean the govt will follow what he says. anyway, that guy always review cars for the straits times and motoring magazines. for biased views, his is the review to read. What he said in the article does makes sense. It is not a review btw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 20, 2009 Share August 20, 2009 But according to the article, OPCs do contribute to solving traffic jams, and more cars should be encouraged to convert to OPCs. Therefore, more benefits to encourage more OPCs. So seems like my analogy do have some sense to it, hmmm. Aiya, f**k it lah, I'll just convert my OPC to normal and start driving to work tomorrow, contributing to the jams. If you can't beat them, join them. All 45000 OPCs, join me to convert? If we all convert and make traffic come to standstill, maybe they'll beg us to convert back to OPC, lol hehehe, thinking of converting mine to normal plate and thereby contributing more to jams since so many people are biased against OPC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...