Prudential and its irritating agents

Leslielai

Wah, thats bad... must be something to do with investment products? [sweatdrop]

no actually...basic prulink and prulife....

the bugger basically got no acumen to call and answer quieries but when asking to buy wah sibei fast to asnwer.....and he was my church fren..ptuiii....told him off, cancelled his relationship with me and wrote to teh co....to hell w him

give them chance.

like you and me, they are also workers in a rat race society, puppet steered by capitalists sitting high atop the ivory towers amidst those blood sucking tubes linked to their bodies.

it's damn irritating I know, but we have to understand that they are also struggling to survive, and cold calls might get them a serious business or two per month - better than nothing.

Just tell them politely that you are not interested, and insist that they put your number on the " DO NOT CALL" list. It helps. I believe there is some law to it.

If they still continue begging for that 5 extra minutes, just say "Goodbye, have a nice day" and press the "end phonecall" button.

Period.

I didnt say its untrue, its just that dont you think doing this is akin to having a bad experience with a BMW on the road then coming here to blast, ALL YOU BMW DRIVERS WAKE UP your IDEAS!!! DRive properly!!!!!

I think the thread would turn into a flame war very soon too. Its not about the contents and rather the way of delivery.

The problem with insurance now is that agents dont explain to clients why are they buying and what are they buying fully. 99% of the cust I see are clueless about what they bought and what is it for. Their agents mostly have either quit or changed companies. I myself cannot promise that I will be in this line forever. Its a lifetime commitment on the customers side but it would be unture and unreasonable for us to promise we will be there for the entire life of the policy.

What I can do is to teach the customer how to fish, rather than giving them a fish. As long as a customer is with me, they get a 6mthly review, after 2-3 reviews, most will know enough about insurance and how to cover or plan for themselves. They just continue buying with me because of the relationship and not because of what I can offer.

In actual fact, comsumers do bear some responsibility for themselves. Its like buying a second car, you do not research yourself fully or check the car before you buy, do you think you have a case to complain after that if the car was full of problems? Caveat Emptor. So many of them just choose to support their relatives or friends and just sign/pay without ever knowing much. If you are a consumer, whilst its probably silly to insist that the agent work at the same line for life, at least make them explain the mechanics and rationale of the plan and why are you buying a plan and if you should be getting another type of plan in the first place.

Remember, we are just agents/advisors. If you do not make it a point to try to learn or understand what you buy, you will always be on the losing end. Its not just about policies, even PSPs, used cars, renovations, resale HDB(basket just went to view 1 where there was still paint on the gates from loanshark splashing but nv wash away properly. Lucky i spotted !!!). If you dont know what u are buying, you will end up being a carrot eventually. Sadly with policies its a lifetime thing so the impact is so much greater due to 1 wrong choice.

If this thread is going to turn into a flaming thread, it is because of the way u reply. Why bring up BMW for no reason as an example? Aren't you looking for trouble??? As a Degree holder and a responsible agent as what you have claimed... i expect your EQ to be a little higher. [lipsrsealed]

I have seen good and top agent before... top agent are slogging out on the street or busy making phone calls now and not defending and claiming themselves as 'Good and responsible' agent in a Car Forum. [lipsrsealed]

If this thread is going to turn into a flaming thread, it is because of the way u reply. Why bring up BMW for no reason as an example? Aren't you looking for trouble??? As a Degree holder and a responsible agent as what you have claimed... i expect your EQ to be a little higher. [lipsrsealed]

I have seen good and top agent before... top agent are slogging out on the street or busy making phone calls now and not defending and claiming themselves as 'Good and responsible' agent in a Car Forum. [lipsrsealed]

[thumbsup][thumbsup] Good one bro

no actually...basic prulink and prulife....

the bugger basically got no acumen to call and answer quieries but when asking to buy wah sibei fast to asnwer.....and he was my church fren..ptuiii....told him off, cancelled his relationship with me and wrote to teh co....to hell w him

Wa that sucks... If my agent is like tis to me, I'll also dun care if he is my fren ornot (Real friends won't treat me this way). I'll juz blast him sky high in my letter to his company [rifle]

Actually you are very right, if one has no kids or dependants one does not need death coverage much at all.

Just ask yourself this question, if you are battling cancer, your medical expenses are paid for, where is the income going to come from.

If you have a low debt ratio and your spouse is already working then its still ok. If your spouse is not working, its better to buy a critical illness plan that covers for 3-5 years of your income.

Endowment plans suck, what I tell all my customers is that. Get your basic coverage up, term if you dont mind not getting anything back, life if you want to get back something. The rest just buy into blue chips once you accumulate 3000-5000 spare savings. Maintain a liquidity of 30% of assets in cash 70% in equities when your are 30+ then scale back slowly towards cash as you hit 50. Once you retire can use dividen payouts + fixed income derivatives like bonds to generate passive income, all without touching your capital.

Insurance is only for protection, it is simply too ineffective a tool for savings.

Actually ....I think most of us here agree that insurance is a good thing...no one is disputing that. I think what most of us feel is that, good insurance package aside, we need a good agent that can help us to select the most suitable package. When we do pay for an insurance package, we are not only paying with our money...we are also paying with the time we invested to find out about the packages. SOOOO having the same agent for continuity is very important. And honestly agents who take over packages from other agents who left are not as motivated.

In a nutshell the reality is...while most insurance packages are good for at least some folks....very few agents are actually qualified and dedicated enough to be worth our time. For me...if the agents is not married with kids, I won't even consider spending time for even one review with him/her.

Maybe thats just me...dont flame me :P [bounce1]

Wa that sucks... If my agent is like tis to me, I'll also dun care if he is my fren ornot (Real friends won't treat me this way). I'll juz blast him sky high in my letter to his company [rifle]

when needed him most wheniwas critically ill, he take his own sweet time and still never deliver...that was the last straw...i decided that if i needed anything i do it myself or if i die, ask wifey go to prudential tower and close chapter...knn.....

How many of you guys here receive sales calls on a continual basis from Pudential and its agents? They are damn thick skinned, thick in the skull and just god damned irritating.

I get as many as 3 calls PER DAY and its pissing me off real bad.

If any Prudential agents happen to read this, well bugger off. The world can do without you f--kers giving yourselves a fanciful title of FINANCIAL ADVISOR/CONSULTANT. What makes you think you're qualified? Just because you passed some mickey mouse papers? Stop ruining the name of finance.

Sorry, just wanna vent some anger here. If this isn't appropriate please take it down.

I received such marketing calls everyday without fail.

Free facial, free spa, wine tasting, ABN ambro bank, standard charter, credit card, personal banking etc.

Most of the times I just turn them down politely, few times I just press the red button.

when needed him most wheniwas critically ill, he take his own sweet time and still never deliver...that was the last straw...i decided that if i needed anything i do it myself or if i die, ask wifey go to prudential tower and close chapter...knn.....

Wa serious! Wat happen 2 u again?

How many of you guys here receive sales calls on a continual basis from Pudential and its agents? They are damn thick skinned, thick in the skull and just god damned irritating.

I get as many as 3 calls PER DAY and its pissing me off real bad.

If any Prudential agents happen to read this, well bugger off. The world can do without you f--kers giving yourselves a fanciful title of FINANCIAL ADVISOR/CONSULTANT. What makes you think you're qualified? Just because you passed some mickey mouse papers? Stop ruining the name of finance.

Sorry, just wanna vent some anger here. If this isn't appropriate please take it down.

Cool it bro.

I've received alot of calls not only from Insurance but from banks, wine investment co. and even some sh!t company I don't even know that exist. Some of them are recruitment calls! Asking me if I'm happy with my job!?

Anyway, normally if I receive such call for the 1st time of the day, I'll reject them politely. They are just doing their job looking for sales whenever they can. However, if I get another call from them on the same day, I'll just screw them up. Don't blame them, blame on the person that shared our contact all over.

Just 4 months ago, I was signing up a ins plan with my usual ins agent. He found out that there is a policy which so-called I agreed on over the phone but I've never bought or agree on anything anyone trying to sell mi over the phone. We suspect that someone "decided" on the policy for mi without my acknowledgement. Though its only $20+ but its a breach in trust with the co. My ins agent told me these kinda PA plan does not need to be signed on paper to go through. Its important to check ur bank statement regularly. To see if any unusual deduction made from the account. Hope all bros look out for this.

I didnt say its untrue, its just that dont you think doing this is akin to having a bad experience with a BMW on the road then coming here to blast, ALL YOU BMW DRIVERS WAKE UP your IDEAS!!! DRive properly!!!!!

I think the thread would turn into a flame war very soon too. Its not about the contents and rather the way of delivery.

The problem with insurance now is that agents dont explain to clients why are they buying and what are they buying fully. 99% of the cust I see are clueless about what they bought and what is it for. Their agents mostly have either quit or changed companies. I myself cannot promise that I will be in this line forever. Its a lifetime commitment on the customers side but it would be unture and unreasonable for us to promise we will be there for the entire life of the policy.

What I can do is to teach the customer how to fish, rather than giving them a fish. As long as a customer is with me, they get a 6mthly review, after 2-3 reviews, most will know enough about insurance and how to cover or plan for themselves. They just continue buying with me because of the relationship and not because of what I can offer.

In actual fact, comsumers do bear some responsibility for themselves. Its like buying a second car, you do not research yourself fully or check the car before you buy, do you think you have a case to complain after that if the car was full of problems? Caveat Emptor. So many of them just choose to support their relatives or friends and just sign/pay without ever knowing much. If you are a consumer, whilst its probably silly to insist that the agent work at the same line for life, at least make them explain the mechanics and rationale of the plan and why are you buying a plan and if you should be getting another type of plan in the first place.

Remember, we are just agents/advisors. If you do not make it a point to try to learn or understand what you buy, you will always be on the losing end. Its not just about policies, even PSPs, used cars, renovations, resale HDB(basket just went to view 1 where there was still paint on the gates from loanshark splashing but nv wash away properly. Lucky i spotted !!!). If you dont know what u are buying, you will end up being a carrot eventually. Sadly with policies its a lifetime thing so the impact is so much greater due to 1 wrong choice.

Hi all , i believe you all would have to calm down.

By the way Lammy84 , please calm down and hear a view that i hope you would agree to me. Nothing to do with flaming. I'm not sure how old are you , neither do i know how much experience you have. From the way you are replying , I'm pretty sure you aren't in the business long enough to tell me about teaching a customer to fish , rather than giving them fish.

In certain countries , we aren't even required to have middleman or agents to buy our own insurance and the simple reason why we are paying so high insurance premiums as compared to countries elsewhere is simply due to the fact that a pretty high percentage of this additional premium paid actually goes to the agency. The agency model is a very dated model which has already being phased out for many financial advanced countries. A side note , this model would only work well in 3rd world countries due to the way it is run.

MAS clearly states the responsibility of financial advisory services and for you to compare the service you provide to a normal goods is certainly unprofessional and unethical. One moment , you are telling us about your education background and what courses you are taking just to assure us of your credibility. While on the other hand telling us that we are just buying a normal good which ones need to know what they are buying. The agent needs to take no ultimate responsibility as they are just "plainly" selling a certain goods just like a psp.

To balance things up , I'm pretty sure the reason why your clients buy insurance from you simply because that client trust whatever the agent presents to him/her be it truthful or not and recognize that you are professional in the way the service is provided . Or else we won't be buying from the agent. If you want us to treat you like a professional , you are required to show us that you are professional enough to gain our respect.

Probably a lot of us here has encountered unprofessional agents thus leading to our views and what you are doing isn't addressing our concerns but rather adding to them.

Edited by CH_CO

Actually ....I think most of us here agree that insurance is a good thing...no one is disputing that. I think what most of us feel is that, good insurance package aside, we need a good agent that can help us to select the most suitable package. When we do pay for an insurance package, we are not only paying with our money...we are also paying with the time we invested to find out about the packages. SOOOO having the same agent for continuity is very important. And honestly agents who take over packages from other agents who left are not as motivated.

In a nutshell the reality is...while most insurance packages are good for at least some folks....very few agents are actually qualified and dedicated enough to be worth our time. For me...if the agents is not married with kids, I won't even consider spending time for even one review with him/her.

Maybe thats just me...dont flame me :P [bounce1]

i think u r not wrong ...having your own basis for "evaluation" ; though not fool proof is fine. No one can fault you for your personal preferences...I have mine too when it comes to insurance agents...NO FAMILY NO FRIENDS. The disappointment is much easier to handle

Edited by Lex250

actually for insurance, at least there are something that u can do about it

i been getting some calls from this fitness centre

bloody hell..

TURE Yoga

knn....

having been calling me for every week in a row...saying what won lucky draw..

won promotional packages

or having promotional packages

then ask u go down...something like that

hard selling

one reason u can use..

u be overseas during that period of time

another time i been approached by timeshare staff...

a young gal

asked me to pick a card or dont know what damn thing

i did and was told i won the grand prize (should be what dont; know biggest discount of a draw)

then was asked to go for something like a talk

i did told the gal that before i was about to draw..i dont have time for such things as i going overseas the next day...so i intend to shop for my items

she says 5 mins only, which is why i decided to draw...

who knows..i kena such things

then the boss took over and tried to convince me to go for the one hour talk

that time was around 8pm..if go for the talk, it will be 9pm

then i decided it's fishy...cos no free lunch in this world lah

so decided not to go...

the boss says..please help this gal.if not she will lose her bonus

i told off the boss straight

i told him..

''look here, before i draw this thing, i told u i be going overseas tomorrow and ur gal says it will only take up 5 mins of my time, now u want me to go for a one hour talk''?

what is this?

pls dont waste my time, the shops are closing soon and i be leaving for Europe tomorrow...

k n n...

they diam diam and let me go

But really, i was waiting for my gf and i got no time for them..they really spoilt my evening that nite

comeon...marketers,agents and pple from insurance and esp from TURE YOGA (its not ''False Yoga'')...

if u are reading this.... please give us a break

if u cannot bother to update ur data base on what we told u...

then dont expect us to entertain u time and again...

Actually, why bother to think of excuses with them?

Normally my conversation with unknown tele-marketeers goes like this....

TM: Hello? Can I speak to Mr. X

Me: Yes speaking.

TM: Mr X, I'm calling from XYZ bank/insurance/club/whatever, can we speak to you for a moment?

Me: Regarding?

TM: It's about our promotion where u can save 20% if you apply for.....

Me: Sorry, I'm not interested.

TM: Oh. But it's a good promo.

Me: I dun need.

TM: Erm, why not give it a thought. You see you can.....

Me: I'm busy

TM: Oh, Can we call you back?

Me: No

TM: Oh, ok. Bye...Line cut off... (Normally, no thank you or anything)

True Yoga and her sister company True Spa called me countless times also.

And i actually went for their free massage at True Spa. 1st time i went, had a good massage and spent some time listening to their sales talk but nothing came out of it.

A few months later, i was surprised that they called me again. So went 2nd time. This time, after the wonderful massage (really good), i walked from the massage room straight to the exit. Heard some ladies shouting "Sir! Sir! Don't go yet! Sir! Haven't finish yet SIR!!!" But I bo chap just continue walking.

Now waiting for them to call me again. hahaha [laugh]

Haha. I receive alot of such calls too and this "True Spa" rings a bell. 6438XXXX? So you actually bothered to go down. [laugh]

Actually, why bother to think of excuses with them?

Normally my conversation with unknown tele-marketeers goes like this....

TM: Hello? Can I speak to Mr. X

Me: Yes speaking.

TM: Mr X, I'm calling from XYZ bank/insurance/club/whatever, can we speak to you for a moment?

TM: It's about our promotion where u can save 20% if you apply for.....

Me: Sorry, I'm not interested.

TM: Oh. But it's a good promo.

Me: I dun need.

TM: Erm, why not give it a thought. You see you can.....

Me: I'm busy

TM: Oh, Can we call you back?

Me: No

TM: Oh, ok. Bye...Line cut off... (Normally, no thank you or anything)

hehe they rushing to make the next call la.. thats why

Another example,

TM: Hello, can I speak to Mr X?

Me: Yes that's me

TM: Mr X, I'm calling from CCC bank

TM: Its about our offer to you as a privileage customer a very special credit card

Me: Is it free for life?

TM: Yes

Me: Really, Free for life. I dun need to pay anything for life?

TM: Actually no. Its free if you can spent $5000 per year on the card

Me: Sounds not too bad, what's the min income to get the card?

TM: It will be $XX,000 per annum to qualify for it

Me: But I'm working freelancing and in good months I earn about $1,000, certain months I got no income

TM: Well, then sorry you do not qualify? Thank you and good bye. (Line cut off)

Me:.....wait.... but I thought I am privileage customer?