Milo Clutched September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 i used to buy abt 5 policies, when i thk it's too many for me, some r even not necessary, i decided to cancel some of them. i just freshly graduated leh, almost dried me up with all the policies. then this guy told me not to cancel 1st, he needed to show gd performance for him to attend the oversea trip, so he suggested to pay for me for the next few mths till he was eligible for the trip. i immediately called his hq to complain. no use one, the bozz talked to me then changed agent tfor me. this agent at first sounded ok but now, another agent care for $$$ only, never even call when i stop paying my policies. terriible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antirobo Neutral Newbie September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 Most of them are just trying to make an honest living by selling insurance. If you are not interested just tell them so, and do it nicely. Remember, what goes around comes around. Now they need you, one day you need somebody else. The somebody else may just be the one who will pay you back for being nasty to people. So what is your point....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 another agent care for $$$ only, never even call when i stop paying my policies. terriible. Of cos. Agent are $$ driven. Loofing job with own sweet time and good return. Once they want you are milk dry, they will ignore you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 Well, incoming calls are free right? What i usually do is just let them talk while i just leave the phone there lor...eventually they will put down and never call back :) But Credit Card is easiest la..just say you don't qualify and they won't bother you again... even if you dont qualify, as long as you send in an application, the marketeer will make some commission liao. think is about $30 for each application. And nowadays $20k icome per year can qualify liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 Remember, we are just agents/advisors. If you do not make it a point to try to learn or understand what you buy, you will always be on the losing end. Its not just about policies, even PSPs, used cars, renovations, resale HDB(basket just went to view 1 where there was still paint on the gates from loanshark splashing but nv wash away properly. Lucky i spotted !!!). If you dont know what u are buying, you will end up being a carrot eventually. Sadly with policies its a lifetime thing so the impact is so much greater due to 1 wrong choice. i don't know if u are super zai or super lousy but whatever the case, i fully agree with this. having said that, i better meet my agent to sort out what the hell is going on with my policies. i bought them when i was a clueless NSF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 How many of you guys here receive sales calls on a continual basis from Pudential and its agents? They are damn thick skinned, thick in the skull and just god damned irritating. I get as many as 3 calls PER DAY and its pissing me off real bad. If any Prudential agents happen to read this, well bugger off. The world can do without you f--kers giving yourselves a fanciful title of FINANCIAL ADVISOR/CONSULTANT. What makes you think you're qualified? Just because you passed some mickey mouse papers? Stop ruining the name of finance. Sorry, just wanna vent some anger here. If this isn't appropriate please take it down. You are lucky, I got 7 policies with Pru, wanted to get another two for my kids, sms agent and she said will call back, that was 6 months ago. Now seriously looking at Great Eastern via OCBC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milo Clutched September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 Of cos. Agent are $$ driven. Loofing job with own sweet time and good return. Once they want you are milk dry, they will ignore you. before the crisis, i heard my agent ordered a bmw, dont knw coupe or convertibler, down 2k only. i was so shocked.....2k only leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear September 13, 2009 Share September 13, 2009 'financial advisors' are b-------t. stop wasting everyones precious time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milo Clutched September 14, 2009 Share September 14, 2009 ask u guys, is personal insurance necessary? if yes, wat kind of policies r necessary? which policy u bought is worthy? i want to change my agent. currently from aia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 14, 2009 Share September 14, 2009 (edited) i find insurance to be a waste of money, altho myself i have 4 policies with ntuc. it's return is poor and takes a long time to break even. And there is very low liquidity. i would rather save the money or invest in shares and property had i known earlier. Edited September 14, 2009 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear September 14, 2009 Author Share September 14, 2009 ask u guys, is personal insurance necessary? if yes, wat kind of policies r necessary? which policy u bought is worthy? i want to change my agent. currently from aia. To me, so long critical illnesses, permanent disability and hospitalisation are covered its good enough. Go speak to another AIA agent, I have done some claims and it was speedy. Mine has served my family very well for the past 20 odd years. He literally watched me grow up. Try to approach those who've been in the line for at least a decade. They are the real professionals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 14, 2009 Share September 14, 2009 (edited) To me, so long critical illnesses, permanent disability and hospitalisation are covered its good enough. Go speak to another AIA agent, I have done some claims and it was speedy. Mine has served my family very well for the past 20 odd years. He literally watched me grow up. Try to approach those who've been in the line for at least a decade. They are the real professionals. Agreed. The longer they last , the more they show that they are professional. What is the point of telling others of their "paper qualifications" and professionalism when they can't show us that they can keep a job for 10 years. Ok a quick test to Lammy84 if he is reading to check his capablity. Assuming if i have 3million SGD in the bank , have no liability and have self running properties collecting inflation adjusted rentals currently at 12k per month do i need insurance other than for those properties? You as a financial adviser what will you recommend me? Edited September 14, 2009 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinleesgp Neutral Newbie February 26, 2013 Share February 26, 2013 I found this thread very interesting and could not resist to comment. 1. these nuisance cold calls has been happening for ages and still being used. why? 2. why is the attack only on Prudential agents? does it mean that Great Eastern, AIA and others do not make cold calls? 3. what about banks making cold calls to push credit cards and personal loans? are they also a nuisance? First I must say that I'm an ex-Prudential agent - some 10 years ago. I did cold calls, roadshows, etc....... but very quickly learned that these are not effective. So why are agents still doing cold calls? I think its because there's a lack of training and mentorship from their managers. So what works? Prospecting and networking, asking for referrals, building a positive image and personal branding, do some public speaking like Toastmasters, create your own youtube channel, financial planning blog, etc........ People who resort to cold calling simply not putting much thoughts into their career, or are misguided by their managers. You're welcome to PM me if you want some free advise. Next Point. Prudential agency is not ONE UNIFIED Company. It seems people on this thread thinks that all agents are under the same company. The truth is agents are pretty much on their own. Its a lonely road and the company doesn't give you all that much support. So if 3 Prudential agents called you on the same day, chances are they are from different agencies and do not know each other. Like anybody else, they're just trying to do their job and earn their living. So no need to get angry with them or irritated. Just tell them you got a trusted agent already, or you're an agent yourself! strangely though, I never get any calls from any cold call agents even though my phone number is all over the internet! Finally I'd like to add, no matter how much you dislike agents - insurance is probably the only financial product that provides a good value. As a matter of personal opinion, I would exclude investment-linked insurance and anything else that involves fund managers trying to outperform the market. As statistics and history has proven time and again, fund managers success is as good as a blindfolded monkey throwing a dart. Not to mention the huge amount of charges that lined the pockets of fund managers - not insurance agents/financial planners. Term insurance, medical insurance, etc.......... nothing else quite meet the purpose and its value for money. Don't hate the players, hate the game. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear February 26, 2013 Share February 26, 2013 great first post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinleesgp Neutral Newbie February 26, 2013 Share February 26, 2013 Insurance agents earn commission for 6 straight yrs of your premiums paid .. .thereafter ... no commission from you liao .. and you are just worse than scrap metal. With the current commission structure, that is what the industry is nurturing - agents who squeeze clients dry and who are left with no incentives to service clients when the commission period is over Fund managers make money from your investments/premiums for as long as your policy is in-force. Say 25 years - 30 years............. regardless whether they make a good return for you. and they don't even have to send you a birthday card. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinleesgp Neutral Newbie February 26, 2013 Share February 26, 2013 I have invested with AIA, worst still agent don't bother to advice whether investment make money or not and for 10 years 0% profit gain till I met this Prudential Financial Consultant who help me to reinvest (terminated all AIA investment) and make 20K in 2 years. I have terminated all AIA invesment except those AIA insurance which I cannot do much. I used to sell Prulink Investment like I had any clue. We were all told we had superior fund managers who could outperform the market. The reality is fund managers are about as good as wild guess. I came to this realization over 10 years ago and I couldn't look my clients in the eye and tell them to invest in these managed funds. The only thing I would recommend is index funds and term insurance products. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 26, 2013 Share February 26, 2013 I used to sell Prulink Investment like I had any clue. We were all told we had superior fund managers who could outperform the market. The reality is fund managers are about as good as wild guess. I came to this realization over 10 years ago and I couldn't look my clients in the eye and tell them to invest in these managed funds. The only thing I would recommend is index funds and term insurance products. i am beginning to like you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 26, 2013 Share February 26, 2013 i am beginning to like you you so 随便, 3rd post only you already like him [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...