Difference between replica and original bodykits?

Icyfreakass

no matter replica or orignal,i think sin road are not very bodykit proof.1 wrong move,u hit the kerb and than u hear the crack sound [bigcry] .i think its up to individual to choose.

Thats y wanna get replica. CHeapcheap. Piak oso nvm. Cos now front very ugly, lots of rocks scratches as we often drive to msia.

From my experience, most paint jobs done by body kit companies who paint for you and fit for you are very bad.

I got one set of zero sport bumper FRP which I did at a body kit company and it turn out bad fit and wavy pattern.

I re did the same bumper at an independent paint workshop and they did a very good job. Now my bumper is like original and very shiny, no waves.

Hence, if you wanna get replicas, I feel it is ok but just buy it off the shelf and go to an independent trusted paint workshop to do it. Mine, they some more coated with good laquer and 2 K paint. So gim gim...

Total damage for bumper = $300.

Paint job by indedenpendent shop = $180

I will never fix replica bodykit ever again...

Did before and have problem with fitment, uneven surface and worst of all the paint chip off easily leaving the front bumper ugly. Above are the problem i had in my previous car done at a reputable workshop.... Replica bodykit are also not flexible and crack easily... The so call PU fibre is crap. Paint chip off easily and i really doubt the replica bumper can absorb the same kind of impact than an original bumper can withstand.

Now i rather spend more to get original... or i rather stay stock than install replica bodykit.

Above are my experience.

You bought your replica in S***m*n at AMK ?

I will never fix replica bodykit ever again...

Did before and have problem with fitment, uneven surface and worst of all the paint chip off easily leaving the front bumper ugly. Above are the problem i had in my previous car done at a reputable workshop.... Replica bodykit are also not flexible and crack easily... The so call PU fibre is crap. Paint chip off easily and i really doubt the replica bumper can absorb the same kind of impact than an original bumper can withstand.

Now i rather spend more to get original... or i rather stay stock than install replica bodykit.

Above are my experience.

I think they used the cheap enamel paint, that's why the chipping and cracks. For bumpers shld be polyurethane paint, IIRC.

wah bro, where to get $400 bodykit with spray ?

i also want leh,

seen cheapest is $700 for my jazzie

Did my fit BK in JB... ABS material.... light and flexible.... but def cost more than 400 bucks

Replica kits usually come with shoddy workmanship and sometimes the fit is so bad that you have to shave chunks off to fit it in. Better to buy original parts if you can afford it but if you dun mind the bumpers jutting out a little, go for the replicas. =o)

I hate replicas bodykit.

Wrinkle and uneveness.

Poor joints. Even the best replica sux.

Went to the best painter in town also same. Beginning good. Slowly deterioate again.

Original bodykit or stay stock.

hear so many negative comments here...

make me feel uneasy.

recently just replaced an aftermarket bodykit after involving w an accident.

Till now it seem fine. Paintwork is good, the look is what i wanted.

Reason for going aftermarket than stock, is because i hate being overly identical.

of coz there are parts i am not very satisfied.

1) it doesnt have a foglight holder so i sacrificed that

2) the bumper isnt 100% fitting, front n rear alike but i will say 80% fitted not as tight as before.

3) material wise seems to me, stock is more durable n harder.

Edited by Artz

actually there is quite a huge difference between originals and replicas .

like what many others have pointed out , replicas sometimes have very bad wavy surface which requires alot of prep and work before spraying .and

most bodykit shops do not bother with that.

and replicas often have fitment problems.you will see gaps and such here and there which makes the entire car looks slightly out of proportion.

To TS , if you are driving that ride in your avatar , pls for goodness sake do not go for replicas.

many of those who tells you that replicas and originals are pretty much the same , shows they have not tried the quality of originals before.