Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 I need fellow forum members help me make sense of this scenario. I am trying to turn right at a 4 way junction. It is all single traffic on all sides with a solid white line running down the middle. However my side has a yellow box painted. The car immediately to my right (car 1) has stopped to give way to me. I cannot see oncoming traffic on the left so I have to go into the yellow box. The car behind car 1 (car2)proceeded to cross the white line to overtake only to be stopped by me as I am in the junction box waiting for the left to clear before turning right. As the traffic cleared I proceeded to turn right but can only proceed slowly as car 2 is straddling 2 lanes . I made eye contact with driver of car 2. He shook his head to indicate I was being an inconsiderate driver. This has happened a few times and it is an accident waiting to happen. I would just like to ask you folks what you think is proper coz I cannot recall being wrong on any occasion. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 maybe can let us know which junction and in which direction ? so users who have experience can share ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 I need a picture to help me make sense of your scenario. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 maybe can let us know which junction and in which direction ? so users who have experience can share ... True ..It is the junction of Lor N Telok Kurau with Telok Kurau Road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 I need a picture to help me make sense of your scenario. Ok lemme see what I can do abt that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 I fail to visualize with your description. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 so you are on Telok Kurau Road ? heading towards Changi Road or East Coast Road ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 so you are on Telok Kurau Road ? heading towards Changi Road or East Coast Road ? I am on Lor N Telok Kurau turning right into Telok Kurau Road (heading towards Changi Road) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 (edited) the guys on the "big road" have the right of way, and IIRC there is no road divider which can be used for "waiting" so the only "safe" time to emerge is when both sides have no cars. option B, turn left into East Coast Road and then turn right at Still Road and towards Changi Road .. boleh ? Edited October 19, 2009 by Blueray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 Junction.pdf Here's a rough sketch. Car 1 has stopped to give way to me Car 2 could see me going forward to check for oncoming traffic but decided to overtake car 1 for some reason To be fair, the road widens out 2 car lengths later to my left to accomodate vehicles turning right into East Coast Road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 Pleae pardon my lousy sketching sklls. I was nvr artistically inclined Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 (edited) Here's a rough sketch. Car 1 has stopped to give way to me Car 2 could see me going forward to check for oncoming traffic but decided to overtake car 1 for some reason To be fair, the road widens out 2 car lengths later to my left to accomodate vehicles turning right into East Coast Road In this scenario, there should be 1 main road and 1 small road. small road is the one with stop line. if u r from the small road, u should not be waiting inside the yellow box... unless the main road is jammed. Edited October 19, 2009 by Espire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 In this scenario, there should be 1 main road and 1 small road. small road is the one with stop line. if u r from the small road, u should not be waiting inside the yellow box... unless the main road is jammed. Yes , I did stop at the stop line...Only moved out when the traffic all stopped when car 1 yielded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 (edited) Ideally the yellow box is meant for vehicles traveling on opposite direction on telok kurau road turning right into Lor N. So if you are waiting inside the yellow box, you are also obstructing drivers on the other side of Telok Kurau when they are turning in. and they had right of way. Edited October 19, 2009 by Espire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 the guys on the "big road" have the right of way, and IIRC there is no road divider which can be used for "waiting" so the only "safe" time to emerge is when both sides have no cars. option B, turn left into East Coast Road and then turn right at Still Road and towards Changi Road .. boleh ? boleh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 Ideally the yellow box is meant for vehicles traveling on opposite direction on telok kurau road turning right into Lor N. So if you are waiting inside the yellow box, you are also obstructing drivers on the other side of Telok Kurau when they are turning in. and they had right of way. Yeap that is true ...thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 Yeap that is true ...thks having said that... i think it not too friendly of that driver to shake his head afterall. afterall.. singapore is quite a congested area... sometimes abit of give and take does makes everyone day. :) dun be too bother by such people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched October 19, 2009 Author Share October 19, 2009 having said that... i think it not too friendly of that driver to shake his head afterall. afterall.. singapore is quite a congested area... sometimes abit of give and take does makes everyone day. :) dun be too bother by such people. ya I know...thats why I didn;t get inot it with him either yet a shake of the head is not my biggest concern....it is what I witness every mrg that worries me. This junction is very crowded even by 7 am. There has been so many occasions some im[patient bugger had barralled down the road from like 5-6 cars away just to make it to the right turn lane or worse...act blur try and flter back into striaght ahead lane towards Marine Crescent. Anyways..thks for the comments...I've written just to LTA to get them to rectify the situation. See what they can come up with ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...